A Surprise During A Freeze

in Amazing Nature3 years ago

I've posted about Frostweed before!
It is a wonderful plant that grows 6-8 feet tall and has flowers that attract butterflies and bees.


It is a favorite of the Monarch butterflies.
They flock to it when they migrate through Texas south to Mexico every October!


When it freezes for the first time every winter these amazing ice sculptures emerge!


Here are the latest cool photos I took when the temperatures dove down below freezing a week ago!


Frost5.jpg


Frost1.jpg


Frost2.jpg


Frost5 2.jpg


Frost6.jpg


Frost7 2.jpg


Frost8.jpg


Frost12.jpg


Frost14.jpg


Frost15 2.jpg


Frost16.jpg


Frost17.jpg


Frost18.jpg


Frost20.jpg


Frost21.jpg


Frost12 2.jpg


Verbesina virginica, the white crownbeard, or frostweed is a species of flowering plant in the aster family. It is native to the Southeastern United States, where it is found in calcareous soil, often in bottomland thickets and edges of woods. It is a tall biennial species. Source


violetmed150.jpg


Have A Blessed Day!


February 18, 2021
All original photos taken with my iPhone 8+

Sort:  

Those are so cool - truly some amazing nature!
Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for stopping by my blog!

 3 years ago  

The frostweed looks attractive even when the frost hits it.

I hope you are safe and warm in Texas Violet with all the cold weather and power outages on the news.

Thanks for asking @redheadpei; we are fine! We never lost power at my house! I live in a suburb north of Dallas. I did have several family members and friends in the same city and other suburbs of Dallas that had their power cycle on and off for 2 days! A few had their power out for 36 hours straight. Some family in San Antonio lost power and water. Things have settled down and most people have their power and water back on!

 3 years ago  

Most welcome. Good to hear @violetmed that things have settled down.
Blessings!

I remember your previous post. I had no idea something like that even exists. And now you reminded me of it. It looks so amazing!

I knew some of my friends on here had seen my post last year or the year before on Frostweed.

Me me me :D

Looks like the moisture freezing as it comes out of the plant... maybe a protective response... Hi @violetmed

Yes, @manorvillemike that is exactly what is happening to the moisture, and could be a protective response! Frostweed comes back from the roots every spring, so it's a very resilient plant.

What a fascinating plant! Not heard of it or seen photos before. These are so cool!

I only found out about this plant from a native plant sale in 2012. I bought it to attract the bees, butterflies and Monarch in the fall!