A Day at the Farm (in Colombia)

in Amazing Nature3 years ago (edited)

img_4965.jpg


I was up before 7, this morning, so we could head out to the farm early — it’s around a 2 hour drive from downtown (including a quick stop at a cafeteria along the way…).

Once we entered the farm, we were lucky to spot this small eagle with food in his mouth (small snake?)


img_4938.jpg


img_4937.jpg


He tried to duck out of my sight as I approached, and I kept a respectful distance as I captured these shots.


img_4943.heic


img_4946.heic


At the farm, I got busy picking mandarins for our morning juice. The tree was heavy with them, as you can see, and because it was in the shade it was good for me and the fruits.


img_4945.heic


Because it’s been raining, hard, all week, there was work indoors to be done: checking for water damage and cleaning up. This was compounded by the fact that we’re rebuilding the roof.

But, I couldn’t resist lingering outdoors a little longer and getting more pictures of the exotic flowers & trees.


img_4947.heic


img_4951.heic


The indoors view, admittedly, is not too shabby, either…


img_4953.jpg


Okay, enough loitering outside, while everyone works. I could not put off helping out any longer.


img_4955.heic


img_4958.heic


On our way out, I hoped to see the eagle, again, by his nest; but, no luck.

Instead, I was rewarded with the sight of this grazing horse and mule.


img_4964.jpg


img_4963.jpg


Here are parting shots from the farm as we head out and back to the city (around 7 hours, later)


img_4961.heic


img_4962.jpg

Sort:  

You have to share the mandarin juices then.

Well, that was a great experience, right? :)

Thank you 🙏🏽 Getting ready to crawl out of bed and juice is the first thing 😊

We appreciate your work and your post has been manually curated by zoology team (oscurity,nelinoeva) on behalf of Amazing Nature Community. Keep up the good work!

That's very encouraging to hear -- thank you, @oscurity and @nelinoeva. It's a privilege to document and share my travels in Colombia. More generally, I believe Nature consoles us all, deeply, and when we are disconnected from it, we suffer. As Dostoevsky ecstatically put it, Beauty will save the world!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.