WIP of my diy wedding dress

in NeedleWorkMonday2 years ago

Hello Needleworkers!

So, I was at the point of giving up when I stumbled on WIP contest here


Black & Yellow Modern Abstract How To Tutorial Youtube Thumbnail.jpg


Recently, about 3 months precisely, have been working on my wedding dress. The first challenge I had was getting the right fabrics and then choosing a style that'll fits well as I wanted a transformational dress with a jumpsuit but after sewing a test fit, it looks so awkward because of my size, that really discouraged me and for like 3 weeks or more I was thinking of what to do


20220801_192125.jpg


After which, I later decided on a ball dress, without further delay, I drafted my pattern with a colleague, sew a test fit and then, I proceeded to cutting and sewing of the white fabric for the upper bodice dress


20220708_155624.jpg

20220708_155658.jpg


Lacing this plain fabric without a dress form is another challenge I'm faced with right now and I just thought within me that I should just give up on sewing and buy. Though I'm not happy with the decision but I feel the stress was too much

As hive is the only platform I know that one can freely pour out your mind without being judge or tag as a failure, I thought of coming here to write something about how unhappy I am with the step I'm about to take concerning my wedding dress but then I got motivated to continue with my sewing 😀

So, #needleworkers and sewmates, here's my WIP for the dress, it is a modest Victorian corset upper bodice


20220801_170647.jpg


20220801_170735.jpg


And here is my pattern


20220801_165531.jpg

20220801_165409.jpg


The back piece is unfinished, yet to apply eyelet ring and also cut the modesty panel piece


20220801_170914.jpg

I hope to come back here again before the week runs out to show you my work progress

Thank you so much for the motivation #needleworkmonday community ❤

Sort:  

A very interesting challenge, we usually buy ready-made wedding dresses, in your case it is to be applauded... nothing simple... I hope to see the result soon...

Greetings and do not despair

Yes, it is interesting, readymade is available here too I just want something different.
Thank you for your kind words

It can be difficult and challenging at first as it is right now but with courage, patient and determination, I know you will achieve a great result. Looking forward to the finished project.

Thank you for your word of encouragement.
I'll definitely share the end result here

Its a good start dear, I wish you success with it.

Thank you love, Amen

I am glad you decided to come here and share your frustrations with us. You’re in the right place for encouragement and motivation. It’s a good thing you came across the challenge.

The bodice is looking beautiful and I love that shiny beautiful white fabric. Keep it up and focus on the purpose of this dress to help you move forward.

Congratulations on your wedding!! Is there a date set yet?! 😃

Thank you for the energy
Oh! Thanks and yeah, a date has been fixed, its next month September 24

You’re welcome!! 😉

Oh how nice!! 🤩

My dear you make and excellent work

Thank you

That's something incredible, since it's not every day we get married, I'm sure it will be an unforgettable dress.

It looks wonderful so far, dear @adeife2 ! Well done! I look forward to seeing it unfold... really like how you've done your double seams... I made my own wedding dress back in 1996, and remember the sewing machine breaking down the night before, when luckily I only had some decorative roses to make - which I could finish by hand :-D Wishing you much harmony and ease in completing this project in all good time!

Wow, 26 years ago! That's interesting to know. Thanks for the compliment and wishes 🙏 I'm motivated. I'm almost done with the upper bodice and will share the progress this week.

Great! 🌻