How to fix a sewing machine when it skips stitches

in NeedleWorkMonday3 years ago

Hallo after a while ... As I am too much into plants this time of the year, I'm a bit lazy for other things 😉I'm happy to write about my sewing ... or a troubleshooting project.

Yesterday I started sewing my daughter's shirt. My sewing machine made strange sound and I noticed something was wrong. Some stitches were skipped especially when I try to make zigzag stitches. It happened few times before.

IMG_4613.png

First of all, always it's good to test sew with a small side part so that fabric is not destroyed by a sewing machine 😁

First thing I did was to check the upper and the bobbin threads go through my sewing machine properly. It was OK. Often I miss two parts marked in the photo below.

IMG_4607.png

Next I cleaned the place where I install a bobbin (how can I call it in English ... ?). After few months of use, often dusts stuck there and they prevent my sewing machine work properly. If you are not used to take out the parts, good to take some photos and remember how they are installed.

IMG_4610.png

You may find a brush to clean your sewing machine. I have one in the tool box 😊

IMG_4611.png

There were some dusts but cleaning didn't improve the situation.

In the end I had doubt on the needle that I exchanged recently. I found it was the cause! After exchanging the needle to a new one, finally my sewing machine worked fine.

When sewing machine functions, it's really quick to finish a shirt, which I sew many for my daughter already. It will be a kids' day gift for my daughter (5th May is a day for kids in Japan).

image.png

Have a happy needlework week!


昨日、子どものシャツを縫い始めたらなんだかミシンの調子が悪い・・・変な音がする上、目を飛ばして縫ってしまうのです。前にもこんなことがあって、手順は定番です。

糸がきちんとかかっているかチェック、下糸の釜を掃除、針を交換。今回は針の交換でようやくきちんと動き出しました。先日針を交換して、どうやらあまり品質のよい針ではなかったようです。他の針何本かもうまく縫えず、メーカーが違うものに変えたら動きました。

ミシンが動けばシャツを縫うのはお茶の子さいさい、午前中で仕上がりました。子どもの日のプレゼントにします😊

Sort:  

You are an artist. All sewers are artists.

Thanks stefen. That's right. A lot of artists in Needleworm Monday on Hive.blog 😁

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you for your suppor ecency!

😮 😮 😮 nice

Thank you.. it is so helpful know about fixing the machine...
Pretty shirt, and the fabric is so cute!
Thank you!

It may not be a helpful tips right away but it's good to keep these in our mind for the time we have trouble on our sewing machines.
Talking about the shirt, I like the pattern too. It's a bit more for winter but never mind 😉

 3 years ago  

My machine skips a few stitches, but I never clean it !! hahaha maybe that's why ...