Preparing to sew a summer shirt / 夏のシャツを縫う準備

in NeedleWorkMonday2 years ago

I found my favorite summer dress started breaking. I made few years ago and I wore it a lot over last summers.

image.png

The broken part is under arm. I could have repaired it with an embroidery or by simply attaching small piece of fabric underneath.

image.png

As the fabric of the skirt part is still in a good condition, I decided to sew a summer shirt. Yes the fabric is linen! I looked up a sewing book about shirts, which I bought as a souvenir when I visited Japan in the end of last year.

image.png

Then there I found an ideal one. I will make it in a shirt length.

image.png

The dress is unstitched and made into pieces. I'm happy that I can reuse the fabric from the dress with a lot of good summer memories.

After I finish my work tomorrow, I will work on my new shirt this week 😊

That's my Needlework Monday. Happy Needlework Monday to all!


数年前に縫って、気に入って毎年夏に来ていたワンピースの布がほつれているのを見つけました。腕の下のところなので刺繍をしたり下から布を当てたりして直してもいいのですが、今年はズボンを履くことが多く、スカート部分を再利用してシャツを縫うことにしました。

去年日本に母のお見舞いで帰国したときにお土産に購入したシャツの本にいい感じのパターンがありました。このワンピースをシャツの長さで作ろうと思います。

夏の思い出がたくさん詰まったワンピースは週末に子どもと遊びながらほどいてまた布になりました。今週仕事が終わったら型紙を作って縫い始めようと思います。

いい針仕事の月曜日&一週間を!

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you for your support, @ecency!

That book looks very interesting!! would love to look at it, definitely the design you choose feels perfect for this linen fabric.. I guess japanese design combined with linen is just amazing:) would love to see your finished work once you have it done!:)

Hi @kesityu.fashion! Yes, it's a nice book. Happy to read your compliment to JP design & linen combi. I like it too. I'll post the finished work to Needlework Monday 😊

nice!! i am looking forward to see it:)

My eyes lit up when they saw that book and the chosen design, successful

😁 I wish I can make something like the one on the book. I try my best!

 2 years ago  

Ohhhh the sleeveless dress you are showing out of the book is lovely. But I am not sure how you will modify it… ? Will you make it more like a shorter dress (with the belt) or will you omit the belt/wrap part completely?

I think I will make it even shorter than a short dress, more like a shirt length as I may not have enough fabric. So no belt ... this time 😁

 2 years ago  

Uhhhhh… I hoped for the belt :-DDD It looked as if its a wrap construction and I love such designs (Bad Simone wanted you to try it out, so that if I ever sew such a design, you could help 🤣)

it's always very disappointing when your favorite clothes made of natural fabric are torn. very interesting to see what you will sew with this

I like natural fabrics but the down side is that they aren't strong comparing to synthetic ones. Ja but good thing is that I can reuse the good condition part still 😉 I look forward to sewing the shirt and sharing it to Needlework Monday 🧵

I totally agree with you. I think that this is the right approach to clothes of this kind. we will wait for the result! 😀