A Failed Project Isn't A Failed Career.

in NeedleWorkMonday20 days ago (edited)

"No man is an island," so my teacher said while I was still in high school, but I keep trying my best to attain perfection in my chosen career which is tailoring.

There have the good days and not-so-good days, but every mistake brings me one step closer to perfectionism.

Have you heard that in fashion, a mistake can be a style? I bet you've not met crazy clients, some clients are so mean that they don't care how much you try to paint your mistake to be another style, all they want is what they want.

1715549182422.jpg

In my fashion journey, I have encountered a lot of clients and reactions and today I would love to share with you a DIY project that went wrong many years ago.

I got a call from a friend that her younger sister wanted to make a peplum top and an a-line skirt and I needed to take her body measurement ASAP.

Truth was, I wasn't close to home so I asked her to visit a nearby tailor to take her measurements and send them to me, oh no!! That was the biggest mistake of my profession.

After a few hours, the measurement was sent to me and the fabric was also received and then I proceeded to work with the measurement I got.

With so much zeal, I began to cut the peplum top using the measurement and also the A-line skirt using the measurement.

One thing I didn't also take seriously at the start of my fashion career was how neat the inside of my outfit should be. I focused more on the outside and that also cost me a lot.

Fast-forward to after making the dress, I was excited at the sight of the outfit but then I had no dummies (mannequin) to fit it on to see my mistake before my client arrived.

She called me to ask if her dress was ready and I was excited to have her come to fit her dress.

As soon as she fitted the dress, her facial expression changed and it was giving, I don't like this dress at all.

She began to complain badly about the skirt how short the peplum was and how the inside of her outfit was.

It dawned on me that the whole shit went wrong, but it was probably too late to begin to cut and readjust as the fabric was finished to start with.

1715549197169.jpg

I apologized a million times, but I figured out that the outcome of the dress was a result of an inaccurate body measurement.

I didn't let that mistake dampen my zeal, so I ensured I did better in my next project, I took the neatness of the inside of my project as a priority and no matter how busy I was, I ensured to take my client's body measurement myself.

I shared this story because most times many people only love to share their own job with the world, but if sometimes we share how many times we've fallen on the way and how we are determined to get back, it will go a long way to remind us that we are all work in progress and that failure is a major part of growth.

If that mistake hadn't occurred I was sure I wouldn't have learned my season by now.

Have you seen my latest A-line designs? Omg!! One of these days I'll share with you how classy they look and whenever I see how happy my clients are rocking an A-line dress or skirt I remember this particular project that went wrong which fields my zeal to be a better designer.

How about you? Ever had an awful DIY project experience? Well, don't give up on yourself, it will get better.


All images used are mine, outfit sewn by me.


𝕭𝖊𝖋𝖔𝖗𝖊 y𝖔𝖚 𝖑𝖔𝖛𝖊 𝖆𝖓y𝖙𝖍𝖎𝖓𝖌 𝖔𝖗 𝖆𝖓y𝖔𝖓𝖊, 𝖑𝖔𝖛𝖊 y𝖔𝖚𝖗𝖘𝖊𝖑𝖋 𝖋𝖎𝖗𝖘𝖙.

A𝖒𝖎𝖊,
ᵀʰᵉ ᵍⁱʳˡ ʷⁱᵗʰ ᵃ ᵇⁱᵍ ʰᵉᵃʳᵗ ❤



This post was inspired by the daily prompt on the #inleo community and this is my response to the #Mayinleo day 7 prompt, wanna get involved too? Check this out.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

At first glance at the finished work, I liked it and couldn't see the problem with the outfit. But after you pointed out the peplum, I then noticed it.

Overall, the outfit looks nice. And I agree with you, there is no success without failure. If you hadn't made the mistake, you wouldn't have realized your flaws and you wouldn't have gotten better.

Amazing work dear, thanks for sharing.

It can always get better, I am. glad I am way better now, thank you for visiting.

Congratulations @amiegeoffrey! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024

Thank you

You're on fire @amiegeoffrey! Your daily posts are keeping Hive lively and exciting.

There's no success without failure - these are stepping stones to our perfection.

It can only get better.

True, it can only get better, thank you so much.

You're welcome.

Persistency is the key.
Weldone dear

Yeah, thanks.

Oh dear I can relate with this totally.For my own case it was my sisters measurements that was sent but I made sure to add extra allowances because I don’t trust measurements taking by people on my behalf.
This is a sad experience but I’m glad you learnt something here.

We learn every day from our mistakes and that makes us a better designer, thank you for coming around.

you welcome dear

This looks lovely notwithstanding the customer's preference. Mine was epic, still on other tailors sending in inaccurate measurements. Even after I corrected them I felt so down at the time.

It's frustrating but we just have to pick ourselves up and stay determined to be better, I'm sure you're better now. Love💖💖💖

Yeah, far better. It's been ages since that incident. Thanks Amie💕💕💕 !luv

amiegeoffrey, whitneyalexx sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/3) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Good work although... i appreciate your hardwork. And i am agree with you that it doesn't mean a fail career for you

Thanks a bunch.

You're welcome