A Pretty Two-Piece Dress For A Wedding Guest.

Hello Needleworkers.

20240415_113430_0000.png

Happy New Week to you and I hope we all have a productive week.

Last week was such an amazing week as many good things unfolded for me and the ones around me, especially my friend who told me about her cousin getting married.

She came around on Tuesday and asked if she decided to make a dress, would it be ready by Thursday? Because she had to travel alongside the dress to the location which was in another state.

With so much thought, I had to check around the schedule if I had any urgent outfits to make and realized all my clients would be getting most of it in a fortnight and since I was her only hope I decided to make the dress for her.

IMG_20240409_154544_170.jpg

She came in with black crepe fabrics of about three yards and a floral net fabric of about a yard and she also came in with the style in mind.

IMG_20240409_154534_694.jpg

I would have loved to share the style but I do not have the resources for it so, I'll just explain what I saw.

The dress looked like a tube dress and a net jacket and it could also be sewn together, I think the decision is in the hands of the fashion designer and the client.

"How do you want yours? Together or like a jacket and tube?" I had to confirm with her what she wanted, "Whatever looks good is fine by me." Her response allowed me to make use of my good judgment.

I went to work immediately she felt after taking her measurement.

IMG_20240409_154805_091.jpg

I decided to make the outfit a two-piece outfit, a jacket and a tube dress, so here's the front bodice which I decided to make in the form of a princess dart using her body measurement.

IMG_20240409_160642_275.jpg

IMG_20240409_161450_968.jpg

And here is the back bodice as well after cutting out the marks made on the fabric.

IMG_20240409_161515_494.jpg

Then I went ahead to cut the down bodice, a made a slightly fitted A-line dress as seen in the picture.

IMG_20240409_161400_912.jpg

This outfit doesn't require a lining, so all I did was to join each side together attach the zipper and then turn the neckline using a ribbon to give it a finished look.

IMG_20240411_062400_140.jpg

Now I proceeded to the net.

This is a very fragile fabric that needs to be handled with care.

IMG_20240409_154539_907.jpg

Here, I had already cut out the front and back bodice, the back had no zipper but the front had buttons and pressing studs.

IMG_20240411_072757_424.jpg

I proceeded to join each piece gently, shoulder to shoulder and I also fixed the sleeve.

IMG_20240411_075519_119.jpg


For the dress, it had a flounce around the knee which I quickly finished up using a pleat to give it the flounce effect, since her fabric wasn't enough for the flare flounce.

IMG_20240412_124340_906.jpg

Here's the finished look of the flounce.

1712927531821.jpg

So guys are you ready to see the finished look of this outfit?

The up-close view of the tube front

The full view of the dress

The jacket

Dayumm, this looks good, now the jacket on the dress

Different shades of beautiful

The back view of the dress

I hope you love it as much as my client loved it, she sent in her pictures but they weren't clear enough, so we'll make do with this right here.

Thanks for your time here.



All images used are mine, cut and sewn by me.

𝕭𝖊𝖋𝖔𝖗𝖊 y𝖔𝖚 𝖑𝖔𝖛𝖊 𝖆𝖓y𝖙𝖍𝖎𝖓𝖌 𝖔𝖗 𝖆𝖓y𝖔𝖓𝖊, 𝖑𝖔𝖛𝖊 y𝖔𝖚𝖗𝖘𝖊𝖑𝖋 𝖋𝖎𝖗𝖘𝖙.

A𝖒𝖎𝖊,
ᵀʰᵉ ᵍⁱʳˡ ʷⁱᵗʰ ᵃ ᵇⁱᵍ ʰᵉᵃʳᵗ ❤

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

I’ve just been saying amie amie Amie since I opened this post.
This is beautiful. The petite coat is really really the highlight of it
And the down part of the dress🥰🥰, love it

Oh thanks a lot, I'm glad you love it.

You’re welcome

Very beautiful Amie

Thank you very much.

The dress is looking pretty.

Oh thank you my friend.❤

It's beautiful, I'm sure going to replicate the same style with similar fabric. Well done Amie

I will be looking forward to seeing it, thanks for stopping by.

I loved this model, the jacket gives it elegance, I would wear it.

The print and fabric of the jacket is very nice.



Me encantó este modelo, la chaqueta le da elegancia, yo lo usaría.

El estampado y la tela de la chaqueta está muy linda.

Thank you so much❤

Beautiful. You are a very talented seamstress.