Exploring The Digital Era.

We now live in a digital world which makes life quite easy to learn, earn, make friends, and do a lot with just a snap of your finger using your gadget (laptop/smartphone).

1710325904857.jpg

Ever since 2020, I believe most people have seen the importance of technology as that year almost everything we did revolved around technology, attending meetings, learning, Facetime with friends, buying goods online and so on.

If I were to choose between a physical and online education, I would pick the physical class over an online class because you get to see it first hand clearly and get corrected instantly when you are not getting it right, but due to some barriers like distance, transport fare accommodation problems if the centre of learning is quite far from home and the like, online education seems more convenient nowadays than physical classes as one gets to learn anywhere from the comfort of their homes.

Most of the fashion upgrades I've made have all been online classes cause the physical classes are very expensive and good fashion schools are very far from my home, however, these same good schools offer online fashion education.

I've had to learn from YouTube as well as other online platforms just to perfect my skills but they only give half-baked knowledge because they want you to come learn more from them via their online tutorials or physical classes.

I must confess that some online tutors are so talented and patient, but it took me many bad tutors to find the good ones. I had to pay various tutors to find the right fashion tutor for me, and some I regretted paying as I didn't understand anything even though there were so many illustrations and videos, I think teaching is not for everybody haha.

The beautiful part about online education is that you have access to the ebooks, videos and illustrations used for a lifetime, unlike the physical classes where you might forget what has been taught and the hardcopy notes could get lost or spoilt.

I on the other hand, have been able to teach a lot of friends and families who are distant using the online method, I have shared my screen with them, had live video sessions, used pictures, and have had to write in the book and send them to them just to ensure they get the point.

I am excited too that most students I have taught, really learned a lot via the teaching methods I used to drive my point home.

It takes a lot of effort on the part of the teacher and the learner to stay focused via online classes as there are a lot of distractions around, calls, noise and other subtle distractions that can get in the way.

I've had encounters with students who do not even take their assignment seriously because it's an online class, they fail to submit and they take the classes for granted, but it depends on the determination of the learner to stay focused because they know why they hope to gain from it.

I have not withheld my knowledge from anyone as I try my best to always share what I know but physically and online, I have learned that knowledge is power only when it is shared, and that's why I love this needlework community so much as I have learned through the members and I know too that I have also shared what I know to others.

This reminds me that I owe @afrikablr one fashion illustration she requested from few weeks ago on how to achieve this particular sleeve I wrote here.

2dk2RRM2dZ8gKjXsrozapsD83FxL3Xbyyi5LFttAhrXxr16mCe4arfLH5pWq9TKHsGg8HoPoTtsLi77ffazyjVUqzwYmESeERQEGEqgBihZQT2Tbs9Dn4GWCun1nZojhdRjvv6AnX95g3YbAdkGi3cnheqcNjS9hhP6hwYMffc.webp

For the sake of this tutorial, I had to look for leftover pieces to quickly illustrate.

IMG_20240313_094327_005.jpg

The sleeve is a zero flare sleeve but the texture of the fabrics I used for the blue brought out the beauty the most because it was a scuba fabric.

IMG_20240313_094401_422.jpg

I folded the fabrics into two halves and then folded them again, which means I folded them into four.

IMG_20240313_094408_820.jpg

As seen here and I placed the measurement of my round sleeve on it, let's say my sleeve is 12inches in circumference, I will have to divide my round sleeve by four which gives me 3inches and then I will add 0.5 inches for sewing allowance which will be pleated at the top while joining.

IMG_20240313_094424_958.jpg

From the top I measured the length of the sleeve, I used 10 inches here, which is the dot I marked at the hem of my sleeve draft.

IMG_20240313_094705_429.jpg

The top where you see R.S. is to show you where the top is, which is the small line at the top.

IMG_20240313_094731_015.jpg

Then I went ahead to cut it out gently as seen here.

IMG_20240313_094917_554.jpg

After cutting this is what we have, I was trying to open it to show you that, automatically we have cut a zero flare which will go around your round sleeve.

Then you cut exactly another one for the second sleeve, you do not need to divide it open at all, after making your dress, just attach it to the sleeve.

IMG_20240313_095020_520.jpg

If after cutting it out you have this shape, you are on the right track, this is just for one sleeve please take note, so do the same for the second.

IMG_20240313_095039_933.jpg

And I imagined I had joined it which was why I held it this way and you see it gives the same effect as the blue one, all you should do is use a scuba fabric to get this effect.

IMG_20240313_095136_160.jpg

If you do have any questions, please do not hesitate to ask me, I am more than excited to answer them.



All images used are mine, thumbnail was designed with Canva.



This post was inspired by the daily prompt on the #inleo community and this is my response to the #Marchinleo day 13 prompt, wanna get involved too? Check this out.

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

Congratulations @amiegeoffrey! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Thank you🥰

Awesome work @amiegeoffrey! Your daily posts on Hive are making a big impact. Keep it up!

Unrelated but I think you are really a pro to have been able to work on the fabric without ironing it first
I can’t even count the number of times I would have to iron this if it was me

Haha, it's just a leftover fabric for the sake of this tutorial.

This material look so beautiful, the reflection of it looks like mirror face satin, I love the material

Yeah, it's a very gorgeous fabric, thanks for stopping by.

wow, that fascinating. It's so inspiring to see how well you make the best of online resources to learn such interesting skill. There is abundance of information online we just have to utilise it properly. Have a good day ☺️ !PIZZA

Yeah, online education offers a wide range of resources which make the learner and teachers competent. Thanks for stopping by.

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@vikbuddy(3/10) tipped @amiegeoffrey

All I need is cloth and scissors, I think I can make this from this lesson

Haha, first make one for me so that I will believe you.

Ok ok
I’ll do just that

Oh my dear, you are an incredible dressing artist. Keep sharing it.

Thank you so much.🥰

I would pick the physical class over an online class because you get to see it first hand clearly and get corrected instantly when you are not getting it right

Childern are enrolled in a school in tender age, and most of thing they learn through their immediate environment, through peers, and that is the intangible aspects of physical education which can not be disintegrated.

You are so right, thanks for stopping by.

You are welcome.

Your post is very explicit. I believe that everything has its pros and cons, although personally I prefer in-person education.

I prefer the physical too, but when there are barriers to it, I can still make do with online classes, thanks for stopping by.

you did a really great job and truly physical learning does it for me... Well done

Thanks a bunch.

You really nailed the design. Well done sis

Thanks a lot.

Greetings @amiegeoffrey it really is amazing what can be done with a good cut in fabrics, congratulations for your wonderful work.

Thanks for the kind comment.

Nice, with the cuts and measuring of the fabric on photos. Happy Friday!

Thanks a bunch.