Needlework Monday: The Gift Box

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago

Mr. Blue Elephant Gets A Face

Remember Mr. Blue Elephant from last week? He is my very first amigurumi. I was too excited that I could not stop myself from sharing him with everyone despite being "faceless" still. Well, the following day, I finally got the black thread and gave this cutie a face.

It was scary putting this last detail as I think it could really make or break the project.

I promised you that I will share his final look, so here it is...

Tadaaa!

Smile!

If you have seen how Mr. Elephant looked like when he was bare-faced, I'd say that he now looks way cuter and sweeter! It's got a very gentle expression on its eyes. I guess it's the eyebrows, right?

Got Company

As I said, last time, Mr. Elephant would be given as a gift to a newborn baby boy. It felt incomplete to just give the elephant alone so I decided to make a hat. Actually, I wanted to make matching booties too, but later on, decided to drop the idea.

But I still made a hat. It's pretty amazing how "easy" it was. I finished the same night I started it, yey! I'd have to give credit to the many nights I spent making the amigurumi, doing the increases became a lot easier for me. Of course, this is no original pattern by me yet, except that I increased by one round to make it a bit bigger in size. YT has so far been my source and tutor. Here's the tutorial link -- so easy to follow.

Here's the final output. Isn't it cute?!

IMG_20200924_11204301.jpeg

And so there are two...

IMG_20200924_11205401.jpeg

Considering the amount of time I spent crocheting and how many times these cuties have rolled over, it makes sense to wash both of them first before putting them in the gift box. Thanks for the input, @jicrochet!

And here they are, fresh and ready to go!.

IMG_20200925_20301001.jpeg

To personalize the gift more, my kids (actually, it's more of Little Miss) made a card for the baby too. I bought a box with matching blue ribbons to wrap the present.

I really love that I was able to make a personalized gift for this special baby. He's already received way too many gifts, but I hope this one will be his "close companion" in the coming months/years.

divider.png

Many thanks to @bearone for this beautiful Hiveph badge!

Join and subscribe to the HivePh Community : Supporting Filipinos Worldwide

Join us in Discord.

Sort:  

Very beautiful... I love how the elephant looks with all its details. And the hat, the perfect companion. 😍

Thank you! I really enjoyed making them. I got lost in time. ☺️

As soon as I came to your post I said “Awwww” 🤗.

He was already super cute and now with his little face and yes those eyebrows he is even more cute!

I really love that you made a hat to go with the gift. I am sooo excited for you and your enthusiasm about crocheting. Very nice work on this gift.

I LOVE the photo of the elephant looking at the hat!!! 😍 What camera do you use? It takes really nice pictures!

Thanks so much for sharing the final results as you said you would ~ 😉

Ohhh, thank you! ❤️ I'm really loving the craft and it's really this community that inspired me. I tell you, my Home Economics teacher in would be so proud of me. 😁 I wasn't really into anything needlework back then. In fact, I avoided it. I chose drafting over sewing when I was in my junior year. 😅

The photos were just taken thru my phone Huawei Nova 3 then I edited through snapseed.

I am so glad to hear that the community has inspired you. That has always been the goal!

Haha I’m the same way. I wanted nothing to do with crafts until I was older.

Oh wow really! Great phone photography!