My journey in learning crochet and the progress I have made

in NeedleWorkMonday2 months ago (edited)

Hello my skilled friend,
This is my first post in this community because I don't have any needlework skill, but right now am interested in crocheting.

I never knew its going to be this hard, @abenad never informed me.

All my life i am not fan of learning any skill at all, am so convinced that as a nurse i don't need other skills for anything, but lately i was proven wrong, currently when i joined this community i started having that feeling that i need to learn a skill, i know it will be difficult but not this difficult.

I always see the beautiful crochet people create and they attracted my attention to learning the skill of crocheting.

Its very difficult for me but like i always said i am a determined creature, if i want to do anything i don't give up till i get it all right.

How i started.

Firstly i went to speak with someone who will help me learn how to crochet, she told me the tools i need to get, then i went to the market to get those tools ASAP.

  • The yarn which we know as wool here.
  • The needle
  • Tape rule
  • Scissors
  • Crochet hooks
  • Blocking mat

I couldn't get all the tools at once because i didn't have money for everything, but at least i got the basics.
There i came to find out that there are different types of yarn with different prices and different colors.


I also came to find out that there are different types of crochet needles with different sizes, i bought size 1 and size 3.5, as a beginner i don't really know the one that will be easier for me.

So i came back to my teacher, she was actually impressed seeing me because she never knew i was serious about it.
So she gave me a manual that will guide me as i learn how ti crochet.

She charged me 100$ to teach me tho I told her I won't pay up to that amount, but she's insisting saying that teaching me is not going to be easy for her


The time duration is scary but i know i will never stay upto that time and i will be very good in crocheting.

Time to start.

At first the most difficult thing for me was how to hold the needle and the yarn, how to position this two things in my hand took me hours.

I was trying to get a slip knot and create a foundation chan, this wasn't easy at all i kept struggling with this for hours, i started crying like a baby but because i had already said am going to learn this so i stayed back, my teacher asked me if i really want to do this , i said yes , she said maybe am too old, we laughed and i continued.

She asked me to keep losing the first one and i kept repeating same step till i become comfortable with it, some where tight and will not be suitable to get a single and double crochet.
She said my foundation will determine how neat the finished work will be.

Funny enough i don't even know what am creating, but at first i thought to create a hair band but my measurements wasn't correct so it can't even be a hair band.




At some point i asked her to hold the other side while i crochet the other side, she was just laughing at ne because it really making me sweat very hard.


It was night already, so i had to go home and do some house chores, i will go back tomorrow to continue my practice, and i have been trying at home too.

Lesson for the day was various ways to hold the needle and the yarn, how to make slip knot and single crochet and the importance of paying attention in the space in the yarn

Please crocheters in the house, do you think i can really get this right, i want this skill but its becoming like something i can not do.

I would be so happy to know that i can crochet something beautiful and useful, so i wont give uo for any reason.

I will update you friends as I improve more.

All images and screenshot are mine.

Sort:  

What a sweet journey. Weldone on your progressive stages

Thank you, I hope to do better

I congratulate you for daring to learn this art, we are here to serve you and help you advance, happy day.

Sending Love and Ecency Vote!

I’ll always be here to guide you if you need any assistance. Congratulations on starting this journey.

You are doing more and will continue to do more amazing things dear

Thank you so much

 2 months ago  

Wow, this is really impressive and coming on really well. We all do need the extra skills for fun pleasure and to unwind sometimes, even if they do not earn us money.

I can see that @abenad is massive wage of impact and touching everyone with her skill, God bless her kindness.

I have loved every crochet work posted on the community and had hoped that someday I will get my hands to do something with crochet too.

Hello @beauty197 Welcome to NeedleWorkMonday community.
Every week needleworkers from around the globe get together to share our work, patterns, tips, ideas and shortcuts as we support one another. Our goal is to inspire the Hive blockchain to give crafting a try.

On Monday’s we use the #needleworkmonday tag and on all other days we use the #needlework tag without the word Monday attached. We share and post our work directly from the Community page.

We encourage our members to share about their needlework life with us. We love hearing stories and what types of things inspired your projects. We challenge you to put some feeling and emotion into your publications and help us get to know the needler behind the fabric.

Feel free to share photos of your work but it’s optional if you choose to share the steps with us (we do require you share the step process in at least one of your posts for validation purposes). If you just want to needle and share about that time we’d love to hear about it. 😊

For more information about what we do and for our posting guidelines please visit our FAQs.

I also invite you to join our Discord channel.
https://discord.gg/zqnNm3ABtQ

Thank you 🧵 🪡 ~

nwm 1.gif

This is a good start. !BBH

@beauty197! @fiberfrau likes your content! so I just sent 1 BBH to your account on behalf of @fiberfrau. (3/20)

(html comment removed: )