Almost rejected fabric was made into a beautiful dress.

in NeedleWorkMonday3 years ago

Hello hiveians

PhotoCollage_1629101577579.png

This is my first post here after awhile and I'm glad to be back online.

IMG_20210811_183005.jpg

It is very important to know that the type of fabric you bought will determine the type of dress or style to be made you except if you will be adding other type of material to add to it to give you a beautiful and unique style.

I was just confused when an elderly woman brought 3 yards of fabric that I should make her an A line long gown with long sleeve with her hip of 45" and full length of 56"

I found out it was not possible which her told her and she told me to do something about it I almost rejected it but I just thought it wise to convince her first.

After few days, I had to go to her house to convince her to make something else which she later agreed to after a long talk with her, she decided that I should made her what I wore to her place, which was a straight gown below the knee length and cold sleeves.

so let's get started with the making

I measured the vertical measurement of the shoulder, bust, waist, empire line and full length.

The horizontal measurement was later marked out adding 1" to the bust and waist circumference, 3" to the hip and 5" to the hip circumference to the full length circumference for easy movement.

IMG_20210811_112558.jpg

It was cut out with its facing for the front and back.

The sleeves was cut in 180° with 3" difference two on each hand

All the pieces were sewn together to make a complete beautiful dress as shown.

IMG_20210812_083212.jpg

Thanks for having me back and for viewing my post.

I'm back with lots of interesting DIY to be shared.

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Knowing how much fabric which design/dress needs is very handy. And the dress you got out the fabric is a clever solution.

Thanks so much...

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Beautiful dress

Thank you.

You're welcome