BUCKET HAT WITH SPIRAL GRANNY SQUARES

in NeedleWorkMonday3 years ago (edited)

IMG_20211007_084512.jpg

Greetings to everyone in the needlework community. Today I bring to you another crochet bucket hat! It's been a long time since I made a bucket hat and when I saw this spiral granny squares tutorial by Bella Coco, that was the first thing that came to mind.

Some time ago I made a bucket hat, which I shared in this post. After making that hat my sister took it from me (😑😑 siblings, they take everything that's yours). Her excuse was "you can always make another one".

Well, she's not wrong and so here I am, making a bucket hat she'll probably still take from me. She's the last born so she gets a free pass and frankly I don't mind if I don't give her, who will.

This inspiration for this hat is the tutorial I saw on Bella Coco's YouTube page. Here's a link If you would like to explore with the spiral granny square.

The tutorial was relatively easy to follow, although I would have loved it if she explained the idea behind it. That way I don't have to keep going through the tutorial to make another piece. Aside from that, she did a pretty great job.

IMG_20211005_181348.jpg

For my bucket hat, I decided I would need 5 spiral granny, so I started by making a total of 5 spiral granny squares, then joined the squares into a circle.

IMG_20211005_181404.jpg

Then I made the top of the hat. I started with 12 double crochets in a magic circle and increased it with 12 double crochets in every row till I got the 8th row.

After I was done with making the top of the hat, I joined it with the spiral granny square I initially joined into a circle. Then to proceed I inserted a yarn in any of the stitches and started with 2 double crochet in each stitch till I had successfully gone round.

The next row consisted of 2 double crochet in one stitch followed by 1 double crochet in the next stitch till I closed off the row. The next row was just a regular double crochet and I did this for the next 3 rows making it a total of 5 rows of double crochet and I was done with the hat!

IMG_20211007_084609.jpg

I am happy with the final result and how the colours I used worked well with each other. I think I made the ruffles too much toward the end. So, it seems I'd give this one to my sister and make another one with this design for myself just the way I want it.

IMG_20211007_083546.jpg

IMG_20211007_084436.jpg

Thanks for stopping by ❤️

Sort:  

It is Crochetbulous! The spiral granny made it unique on this bucket hat.

Thank you!

You are giving me fine woman vibes 😏. You are doing well my baby. When will you make my sweater? I deserve good things too...

You are giving me fine woman vibes

Oshey baby ❤️❤️

When will you make my sweater? I deserve good things too...

When you pay me😌

This is good. Beautiful work...

Thank you!

How nice, I was just looking for ideas to knit grannys. Although it seems simple, I'm just starting to knit accessories. Thank you very much and good vibes!.

I'm glad you found the idea you were looking for under this post, I'd love to see what you decide to make. Thanks for stopping by ❤️

So cute, it really looks so cute I must admit @blezyn

Thanks dear

You’re welcome

 3 years ago  

I hope you can enjoy your hat a bit as it looks super cute on you (before your sister snatches it away :-DD). The spiral granny square is a lovely choice and the spirals really pop out on the white background.

Lol, I guess she doesn't have to snatch this one since I'm giving it to her. The white background really made it pop. Thanks for your comment!

I think I'll take this hat before little sis does. It's really beautiful 😍

😂😂 it's available for the taking