Making Waldorf School Supplies

in NeedleWorkMonday24 days ago (edited)

When a friend asked me to make a bag for her son I agreed. I thought to myself how hard could it be and got to work that very afternoon after our meeting.

Initially the project seemed similar enough to the sewing kit bags I often make on a sewing machine. The desired bag was one inteaded to neatly store 12 pieces of chalk which is required at a local waldorf school for the younger students.

In the end this project required work on the sewing machine as well as sections sewn by hand. Making a pocket four twelve different pieces of chalk was actually quite challenging despite having a similar, smaller bag to use as an example.

The example chalk bag is the light canvas bag with a red piece of chalk sitting above it. The original bag was flimsy and had only eight pockets for holding the rainbow of chalk colors plus black, brown, grey and white chalk too.

As someone who usually sticks to very simple sewing projects like patching pants and creatiing draw string bags it was nice to have a little example bag to work from. Even still I pretty much had to create a pattern from scratch and there was a lot of trail and error. The first try resulted in a super tiny chalk bag. The second try was a bit too big and needed to be trimmed up.

I needed to make a much sturdier bag and decided to use the same materials that I make sewing kits with. And as this bag is meant for a nine year old boy, my best friend's son who I have known for years, I picked this fox print I thought he would enjoy.

Once I had created the pockets and structure with a machine came the fun part of hand sewing the decorative cover of the fox fabric over the outside of the case.

And as the boy who will be using this bag is quite clumsy and does everything in a rush, I chose to use an elastic fastener instead of fabric strings that would need to be tied in a bow.

Honestly, I am quite happy with how this turned out! Throughout the process I cursed my willingness to try a more challenging project. Coming up with a functional design broke my brain for a second there, I must admit. Now, with the bag finished and on it's way to it's first day of school, I feel quite accomplished and ready to make rollable cases for other art supplies next.

Sort:  

Congratulations @calendulacraft! Your post has been a top performer on the Hive blockchain and you have been rewarded with this rare badge

Post with the most upvotes of the day.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2024 Winners List
Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!

To begin with I adored the environment you chose for sewing nothing nicer than open and relaxed places, that's how I sewed my doll clothes, this case is beautiful and the fox fabric adorable, I congratulate you for your outstanding project.

It is so nice to be able to sew outside. I think that is why I love to make smaller projects that can be sewn without a machine. Thanks so much ror your super sweet comment!!

Thank you beautiful, you look so sweet, how nice that you love to sew in those nice places, I love would love to be able to do it that way.🌼

Woow it is a beautiful bag... nice work.

!ALIVE

@calendulacraft! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ cryptoyzzy. (9/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want, plus you can win Hive Power (2x 50 HP) and Alive Power (2x 500 AP) delegations (4 weeks), and Ecency Points (4x 50 EP), in our chat every day.

I love them!! I really admire those jobs because you really need patience and talent to offer such a beautiful product!! Congratulations!!

Aww! What a nice thing to say. Thank you!! I think little handmade bags are my favorite project too

The design makes it very original, for this beautiful case, excellent work very well done I congratulate you.

Thank you!! It took a couple of tries but totally worth the time spent.

That's a cute handmade bag, I love how make it like that, like the things inside will be more secured 🤔👏

Exactly! The goal was to keep the various pieces of chalk inside the case even if it is bouncing around a backpack sometimes.

That is soo beautiful, dearest @calendulacraft !! The fabric is gorgeous, and I love your sharing the challenge of the project. I can imagine! Not just because of how small it is, but also it having to be for such a specific commission, as it were... Really great effort and I always adore your photos and your lovely self sitting outside sewing: reminds me to get a snap of myself sewing out on the street as I do!

Blessings on your creative day dear friend!

I really appreciate your positive feedback and am glad that the rounds of mistakes made adds to the story. What I loved about making this little bag (besides being able to sew parts of it outside) is that my friend¿s son will be able to use it at his school where he is a new student and still getting used to the waldorf way of learning which is quite a challenge for him thusfar.
it would be great to see images of your outdoor sewing as well! I am now on my way to check out your recent needlework post!!

This is so nice and the jean interior is beautiful. Nice work

yay, glad you liked the jean. I love using jean for these sorts of things, it is sturdy but also flexible and with time ages beautifully! thanks for the comment

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Calendula!!!
I’m still looking for the any word above creative to address you with
You’re really good at these
You know what blew my mind? The fact that you used elastic because you considered the fact that he might be a clumsy boy who would always be in a hurry .
Well done

Thank you so much! Your kind words & encouragement mean a lot to me. I am glad you noticed that little detail.

You’re welcome ☺️

Paying attention to details is one very important aspect of crafting, and I see you have mastered that act, well done on a good job

Ooh I love that fabric! You did a great job. Years ago I made a needle bag for a friend, similar idea but for her sets of knitting needles. All the little pockets do take time!
!LUV

calendulacraft, phoenixwren sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/1) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Very unique Bag. This is a very special talents and skills you have and it is lucky for you to have it. You're very creative Ma'am. ☺️

Amazing, such a well-thought-out project! The little boy must be overjoyed with his new bag! 💗