Hamburg Kleidermarkt vintage skirt to trousers to dress!

Yey! Hi, dearest Sewing Enthusiasts! I have done a lot of sewing this week!

IMG_20230220_143335.jpg

This is the main achievement I managed: a very old skirt, bought in the late 1900s I think! From a huge beautiful secondhand warehouse - Kleidermarkt - in Hamburg. Temporarily turned into a pair of pantaloons that I never wore, because the gusset didn't work out (I was trying not to cut through any of the embroidery!) - and finally, now, succeeding as a beautiful floaty dress (to accomodate my expanding belly!)

IMG_20230220_143344.jpg

The transformation back into dress-form, began with unstitching the pantaloons; the gusset was messy and tangled, but it was fairly easy to cut through the stitching and put it back together in the middle rather than as legs!

IMG_20230216_172643.jpg

I actually tried first to correct the gusset, but realised that I needed a more ample-roomed skirt shape... so continued unstitching:

IMG_20230219_213224.jpg

From there I could see how it the skirt hung, and start to plan the upper part: I'd already found a dress-that-didn't-fit, and though it wasn't PERFECTLY the same colour, I liked how it harmonised with the skirt; sometimes we have to take a leap of faith around combining colours, shapes, techniques, eh!

IMG_20230216_174345.jpg

I had to remove the skirt waistband, which was an elasticated frumpiness of disfunction, which had been part of the pantaloons experiment: I was glad to remove it and did not reincorporate it into the new dress!

IMG_20230216_172542.jpg

Above is the top of the dress that I cut off, to give an under-the-bust skirt-expanding effect on the new dress.

IMG_20230216_172843.jpg

The process of attaching skirt to top was quite straightforward, which I didn't expect; it needed a few pleats, and fitted nicely into the size of the cut top piece.

IMG_20230216_182142.jpg

So the shape of the newly-formed dress was pleasing:

IMG_20230216_204042.jpg

...though I did remember at this point that the small summer dress that I had cut the top off of, was too tight around the bust - this is something that can be adjusted with a dart or triangle of fabric on the sideseam under the arm: I have some material left over for that.

IMG_20230216_190927.jpg

I didn't wait around, and launched straight into how to attach a zip in the back, though the dress was pretty wide, I wanted a complete professional-style look, and began thinking into how a different-coloured zip could sit nicely, if I used pink and then white binding to edge it...

IMG_20230217_124208.jpg

This is the cutting of the seam to add the zip: the bodice of the new dress was double-layered material. It was easy to unpick the seam, and then fiddley-but-very-satisfying to go through the complex process of getting the zip and edging neatly laid into the new dress shape.

IMG_20230216_172658.jpg

Note: I chose the pink and white of zip and edging to enhance/ compliment the embroidery colours, as with the button on the big pocket...

IMG_20230217_135212.jpg

IMG_20230217_192644.jpg

IMG_20230217_222721.jpg

Though putting in a zip is pretty intensive, it's a task that I relish because of the exciting outcome: especially in a project like this one, where the colours and precision are very satisfying.

IMG_20230217_211936.jpg

This makes me think how, early on in my sewing development - like when I made the original skirt into pantaloons - it was very clunky and dissatisfying to attempt any difficult aspects of any project - whereas now I can really appreciate the early struggle and how it was worth the discomfort, to get to this up-levelled skill.

IMG_20230217_221553.jpg

IMG_20230217_232153.jpg

Even with the beautiful zip in place, at this point I decided that the basic dress was too plain, and that it wanted a big visible pocket with a big button on, to bring the bodice and skirt together more harmoniously: this is how the pocket looked at the end;

IMG_20230220_143340.jpg

And these are the snaps of the progress:

IMG_20230219_145805.jpg

The basic pocket, hemmed by hand around the edges and pinned in position. Then the buttonhole: I wanted it to be really right;

IMG_20230219_171631.jpg

My mind does not function linearly, and so though these instructions from my beloved 1980 Reader's Digest Complete Guide To Sewing are fabulous for folks with linear minds, I just skim over the pictures, look at a couple of words, and then apply all that to what I can see and feel and form with my vision, in front of me...

IMG_20230219_173116.jpg

IMG_20230219_185947.jpg

IMG_20230219_211534.jpg

I ended up with this - above - this is where precision and following rigidly of instructions might have had a more prefect outcome! BUT BUT BUT! The button is big, and hides the wonky!

IMG_20230219_211510.jpg

IMG_20230219_211415.jpg

Below is the small patch I put in behind the button, to hopefully prevent it from pulling the fabric into distortion: the skirt fabric is pretty delicate.

IMG_20230219_211349.jpg

Lately I've felt a call to take all my most special treasured buttons out of their waiting box, and into the light:

IMG_20230220_143309.jpg

Many old buttons are profoundly meaningful, both in their natural and aesthetically-powerful creation, and in how they came to me - and how long they've been waiting to be used.

IMG_20230217_232453.jpg

I am very pleased with the final dress! Another garment that fits my gestation body!!

IMG_20230217_232440.jpg

I even ironed it ;-D which is a rare activity in my house: I do enjoy the crumpled quality of natural fabrics, but this dress needed to be ironed along seams which had been unpicked, and to flatten down hems and buttonholes.

IMG_20230220_143335.jpg

As predicted, the bust (especially with my growing breasts in gestation!) is slightly too tight, when I move in certain positions: I really prefer my clothing to move with me, and so will add something to fix that, soon. But on the whole, I was out with my dress at the market on Sunday, and really enjoyed it! It's much more feminine and flowery than I often wear, and it feels good to express that aspect of self.

Thank you for following my progress in my sewing mastery! It is a huge pleasure to present my work to you, and to get such beautiful support and feedback - and to inspire others!

Many blessings in your needlework today!

firma.JPG

Clare.jpg

Sort:  

Good morning @clareartista, the transformation into a dress was excellent, I really liked the design.

Thank you dear @eylis !! It's a great pleasure to get your lovely comment here, and I love what you have been making on your profile, too: the shorts are brilliant, so I wanted to mention that here, as your post says not to vote on it! Much love and a good day to you!

As I read through I was just thinking about the buttons in your recent work, and yes there you go mentioning them...:) They do fit really well, a very poetic way of completing the dresses, love it!!
Oh and how you sewed that zip in, you have my admiration!:)
...it is lovely to see you enjoying sewing so much!! (and what comes out of it)

How wonderful to get your fabulous comment here, dearest @kesityu.fashion !! Yey: I am sooo loving putting everything precious in its right place. Especially the buttons, finishing off a garment - it is such a great moment to pop a special button on, with a few simple stitches, and then the dress is magnificent! :-D So appreciating your support 😍

 last year  

Aww, good to read that you are pregnant. What a joy, congratulations! I imagine how exciting it must be to see your body transform to give life to a new being and all the magic of the process. This project will remind you of when you prepared to dress your body while your baby grew in it :)

I liked how the top and skirt turned out, you can't even tell they were part of separate projects. And the buttonhole was also neat, all sewn by hand. Kudos for the patience! I was also excited that you found a good project to use your special buttons in, I have a few of those and it's great when you find the right project.

I loved your work, congratulations and I hope to be able to see photos of your belly soon! :) ❤️

Thank you dearest @lauramica !! I sooo appreciate your lovely words and enthusiastic support!! Yes, it is a very special time and process, as I have waited over 3 decades to be gestating: praying every day that all should unfold well and healthy, for both of us!

And yey - thanks for your buttonhole praise ;-D It was nothing like as neat as it should have been, but in the photos looks alright - and yes, on the dress it is really not noticeable. I'm especially enjoying sewing by hand at this time - doing everything reeeeaaaalllyyyy slowly and finding that the meditation is very calming - and helpful for the precision of the garment :-D

So appreciating your support here - many blessings to you!

 last year  

I hope everything goes well for you both. I think this will be NWM's first baby, at least since I've been here :D

Excellent work on the bound buttonhole! !BEER

Thanks so much for saying so, dear @fiberfrau !! And thanks - I do love Beer!!!


Hey @clareartista, here is a little bit of BEER from @fiberfrau for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Much appreciated, @beerlover !! I love beer, and very much miss Scotland's heavier, darker beers!

I find it very practical to convert a prende instead of discarding it. And the colour combination is great, I think it doesn't look different, almost the same tone, or so I managed to notice in the photos. I'm sure you'll make use of it now. I also really liked the embroidery or decoration. Best wishes 👏

Mixing fabrics and colors is not usually easy.
Am glad that you made something so beautiful as this from old clothes.
Now they will really be functional and you can make good use of them.
Well done dear @clareartista.

I love the dress and the new outcome.