You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FOCUS Your Needlework Challenge!

in NeedleWorkMonday11 months ago

Trust me I get it. There’s already a lot of work and effort put into organizing and making our publications. As a blogger, I see it as a full package deal. If I’m going to do the handiwork and make the post, I’m going to also put my all into making sure the items I present look amazing…and through the photos we share this can be accomplished.

If one doesn’t go the full mile to make sure their photos are up to par I feel like they’re cheating themselves. I’ve been here long enough to know that putting effort into everything you showcase (writing style, organization and neatness of your post, creativity etc.) pays off GREATLY in the end. You can be a great writer, and a great crafter of your hands but yet still have a hard time building regulars to come visit your posts. From speaking to many of people about this, it’s because the photos aren’t helping to pull in and intrigue readers (love at first sight type of deal) but instead frustrate them because it’s hard to see clearly what’s being shared. It’s a turnoff when someone has to struggle to make out a photo.

I say these words to encourage you and anyone else who feels the same way that reads this response. I know it’s a lot of work but if you are looking to grow here this is a necessary step to make that happen. You can always reach out if you need any help or advice on how to improve your photo quality. 😉

I hope you’re able to take on this challenge and have fun with it. I hope even more that you’ll be pleased with your efforts ~ 💖💓

P.S. If you have to stick with what you have (your cell phone) you can try some of the editing apps to see if that helps.

Sort:  

Aw, bless you dear @crosheille - I so aèppreciate your firmness on this subject, and much appreciate being pushed a little in the form of encouragement... Yes, I have problems with my phone which mean that I cannot use any more Apps: it crashes with even the minimal Apps that I do have, and this makes communications (and taking convenient photos!) very difficult. I transfer the snaps to my laptop, but they don't improve so much, even with Pix or similar to adjust colour and so on... Plus, yes, a huge amount more work, and I am not too enamoured with using the computer so much to adjust things: I'd rather get a good photo first time. But yes, my phone camera is degrading in quality over time, ultimately, and the edges of the images are getting fuzzier and hazier...

BUT!

Following your post and challenge, I am realising that it is a form of hiding away, which I am guilty of: I do possess a proper camera, and it is also jamming sometimes, which made me stop using it - but I am motivated - and suitably disciplined!! - by your call and the community's engagement (thank you for tagging me in your comment dear @kesityu.fashion !) : together we can really lift each other up - plus, communities online really do require regular tidying up and guidance, to keep them focussed!

I've had a more subdued energy recently too, since having multiple physical and family challenges to get over... Now is a time to start bringing some more methodical energy into planning, building and improving things: perfect timing for your challenge: I took out my proper camera (Nikon D3100) and took some (MUCH-better-than-usual!) images this morning: still have to adjust the settings before taking the photos, but am excited to have this goal to focus on: this is my infamous apron-dress, which I am finally finishing properly - possibly - by adding the right straps which will make the bib sit right...

DSC_0001.JPG

Thanks for your beautiful strong energy dear CroSheille!

Whew! I'm relieved to hear you say you appreciate my firmness because I never want my passion about this to come off as I'm being aggressive ☺️. I truly see so much potential within our community and enjoy helping others develop their skills. I just want to see us all do our best and I know that so many benefits will come from improving our photos.

I’m so glad this call along with the engagement and acceptance of the need for improvement is motivating you. You’re absolutely right, together as a community we grow and get stronger and also get closer to our goals due to determination. So glad you are disciplined and willing to take on this challenge of extra work and effort. Believe me you won’t regret it. 😉

YES!! Oh wow that’s a lovely photo! I love the lighting coming in and that you can see the entire garment. Yes, just play around and practice with the settings and you’ll eventually get a find for your likings. Practice on the zooming and focusing and in no time you’ll have it just as you’re shooting for. I am so excited to see you pulled out your camera. Now, here’s to hoping it doesn’t get jammed and continues to work properly for you!! 😃😉😆😍😘🤗

Always nice talking with you Clare!! ❤️