Needle Work (04) : Simple stitched Quilts for my baby and Quilt culture of bangladesh

Title.jpg

Introduction:

Quilt is a daily casual and widely used product in Bangladesh. From the lower class to the upper-middle class, it will be very difficult to find a house in Bangladesh that does not have quilt in the house. In fact, the widespread use of quilt has a huge impact on the climate and seasons in Bangladesh. In winter and rainy season, quilt is very handy. Besides, most of the women in this country only do housework so they like to do some needle and yarn works in their spare time. Moreover, as many quilts are made from a combination of old cloth and new cloth, the members of the middle-class family use these old cloths by transforming them into aesthetic quilt rather than throwing them away. The price of blankets is high which is not affordable to many and once availability was low in this country. So, quilt is already the first choice of common people in winter prevention.

IMG20200917141340.jpg


The story of quilt and quilt artisans of our country:

If the female member of the family is employed outside in a job, then it is not possible for her to do such needlework, quilt and other household crafts etc. However, since most of the women in Bangladesh are not employed and are not involved in business as well (although this trend is changing day by day now), they make these beautiful aesthetically designed quilts and household items after finishing the housework.

IMG20200917141525.jpg

In this way, leisure time is used properly and gain some income. The rural women of our country have a lot of skills in these designs including household chores which have been cherished from generation to generation. In one of the classes in my study, one of my professors (Mr. Tanvir Ahmed of the Faculty of Business Administration, University of Chittagong) said that the work done by the women of this country in housework, cooking, farming some chickens, cattle and in various cottage activities does not counted often. Their contribution is huge. Many of the women are now earning money by going out to work but the contributions of those women of the village who are making home task, growing crops, cooking, raising children, weaving quilt and saving money is no less than earning in a job. They had to pay if they would made this done with others and weave quilts would not be as much sweetness as they weave for themselves at home. Women in the villages are fighting in the financial solvency just as women working in the garment industry outside home. Salute to the hardworking women of my country.

IMG20200917141543.jpg

It is good to hear that the handicrafts made by the women of our rural society are being exported to various countries including Germany, Italy, France, USA etc. It is a matter of pride and dignity for a small country like ours. Our country is moving forward with needle work.


Why Quilt is my first choice for my daughter:

In our country, especially in rural areas, we have been seeing for almost 20 years that there is no alternative to quilt to take care of a new born baby. My family is no exception. It's only been 6 months since I just became a father. My wife and other family members have made about 20/30 small and big quilts for my daughter. Most of those quilts are small that my daughter need. Since children urinate at an uneven time, quilt is a good solution.

IMG20200917141443.jpg

The quilt can be easily changed and washed. It does not have to leave anything in the environment. Diapers or pampas are environmentally friendly but create a garbage. Where quilt can be used year after year. This also reduces the cost of buying diapers. I think, quilt is comfortable for kids from all sides. And so, I prefer quilt.


Pictures and a little description of my daughter's quilt:

Today I am going to share in this community the pictures with little description of quilt created by our family members for my daughter working with needle & thread. All of these are roughly made in different shapes especially in small sizes so that it is convenient to use for my daughter. When the children are small, small quilt is more needed. So, in today's post I will only share pictures of these quilts and give some general descriptions.

IMG20200917141601.jpg

IMG20200917141607.jpg

IMG20200917141634.jpg

IMG20200917141659.jpg

IMG20200917141714.jpg

IMG20200917141815.jpg

IMG20200917141850.jpg

As you can see in the picture, most of the quilt is made by simple sewing of needle thread. Since a lot of quilt has been stitched here, it has not been designed so much. These quilts are made by straight sewing. (There have also been some designs of quilt which I will publish in another post along with the description of the design later on). You must know the process of making quilt and I have already given a general description of it in one of my previous posts which can be seen from the link below.
https://hive.blog/hive-127911/@engrsayful/needle-work-01-quilt-on-the-planning-of-my-upcoming-baby


Hand Sewing and Machine Sewing for Quilt:

You can see from me that these quilts are made with different stitches in different designs and color fabrics. There are some quilts in which sewing has been done by sewing machine without hand sewing. And this work of sewing on the machine is done by my sister & wife at home and I cooperate with them. The biggest advantage of machine sewing of quilt is that it takes less time and is more durable. There are also some difficulties. The disadvantage is that the quilt has to be thinned and the aesthetics are not like hand sewing. Moreover, like hand-sewn quilt, flexibility, softness, Resiliency and comfortability are not that much. The hand-sewn quilt is aesthetic and compact. That is why the introduction of machines in rural Bengal is in some houses, but everyone likes handicrafts very much. Handicrafts has no alternatives and incomparable in terms of comfort and beauty as well.

IMG20200917141914.jpg


Conclusion:

I am concluding today's post by sharing pictures of different shapes of quilt. You understand how much effort it takes to make so many quilts for a baby. This is our custom and policy here. The people of Bangladesh enjoy doing these things. They never feel annoyed. This needle thread culture has been associated with the culture of our country since time immemorial and we are proud to have such a culture.

IMG20200917141925.jpg

Besides, you know that Bangladesh is the second largest exporter of garments in the World, although the area of our country is only 146 thousand square kilometers. The American and European markets have a lot of demand for Bangladeshi clothes. Bangladesh's position in the current garment industry is a manifestation of the relationship of the people of Bangladesh with the needle and thread. This tradition of earlier rural women has changed in today's machine dependent garment industry, I think.


Thank you so much for reading my post.




Be creative and make some needle works.

4HFqJv9qRjVeVQzX3gvDHytNF793bg88B7fESPieLQ8dxJ4wFsG4h87wPThsAYPWQQG5Mp6ohvcJnAdTCW2XmJpX4hedRgyD8hk1EVH7AskWH6VKLkF95MiWEhst4efBoDyw2HvGpq6sGPhF1KSWtLPqNbBuAkiBfX4.jpg


Thanks for stopping by.



You can check some of my previous post’s into this community on Needle Work

01. Making Quilt for my baby and Procedure of quilt making
02. Hand Fan made with needle and thread by my sister
03. Basics of Knitting : Technical Face and Technical Back


Thanks to @crosheille for initiating such a good community



Who I am:

I am lecturer of Textile Engineering in Bangladesh. I love Textile and its related accessories. Being a lecturer on Fabric Manufacturing, I need to perform knitting and weaving activities regularly. I stay with needle and textile machineries. Recently I have found this amazing needle work community. Hopefully I shall share my needle works which I love to do to this community.
So, in this community I shall show one after one about my needle work. As a Textile Engineer, I need to knit several fabrics with knitting machine by the help of needle. Hopefully I shall show one after one of those knitting, crochet and weaving works from both manual and mechanical.
I want to express my ideas and learnings to this community so that anyone can be benefited from me. I blog in YouTube, DTube and Hive on Textile, Online Money making and Random topics. I love to capture Natural Photography. I am always a learner and wants to go to the moon with this platform.

zxddz4gt63.gif

Upvote, Resteem and Follow me on hive @engrsayful


Find me on social media

Follow me on DTube
Follow me on Youtube
Follow me on ThreeSpeak
Follow me on Facebook
Follow me on Twitter

Sort:  

Hello @engrsayful! Your post was selected by our staff on behalf of the OCD Community Incubation Program and has received an OCD upvote! Congratulations!!! Please keep sharing these quality posts :)

Written by @crosheille for the NeedleWorkMonday Community ~

Excellent what it shares to us of the culture, definitively the thread and the needle exalt any culture.

Beautiful your baby, many blessings for her and your family.

Greetings,

Thank you very much