Last Knit Project Before the Summer

49A32015-C575-417F-9C83-A6F8A4EBDDE6.jpeg

Every autumn when the weather starts to get cold, I get the urge to start knitting, and correspondingly come spring, I’m not much into knitting anymore.

There has been a few warmer and sunnier days recently and I’m finishing up the last of my knitting for the season and storing the supplies somewhere in a closer for a few months. Not too far back though, since it can snow during mid summer ans I might just need to knit a bit.

What I have going on here is a baby blankie. Since the bebe is going to be born towards summer, I wanted to choose a lighter yarn so it could still be used during the cooler days but not be too hot. I obviously chose a very luxurious yarn for the project, 70% alpaca 30% silk, because when there is going to be a brand new human in my life, I will for sure teach it to value quality over quantity right from the start. Her mom agrees.

I’m actually starting to run out of time with this project because the baby is due in about a month and I guess technically it could come out any day. I am almost done with the knitting but then there is the dreaded sewing in the ends and blocking the knit so it’s beautyfully finished.

BDEB3769-EDBD-456D-9A0A-12BD31148C8D.jpeg

Sort:  

Omg, it would be amazing see you all together.

great knitting pattern you made. I like it much @eveuncovered

I didn’t come up with the pattern myself though, saw a blankie like this a while back and liked the pearl knit around the simple chess pattern :)

What a beauty what you bring us today, surely the baby will be very warm.

I like the tip you bought regarding the yarn selection according to the season. I hadn't thought of it that way.

Thanks for sharing.

Having four seasons makes you think about what kind of yarn works for each season. I think most would go for cotton for summer but I’m not a huge fan and wanted something more luxe.

A lady of many talents. Also, why I get very little done indoors. lmao ☀️🌴

We home bodies here since the weather sucks so often 😅

 3 years ago  

The yarn is a real treat! It even looks smooth and warm on the photo; it is as if I could feel it. This will be an amazing blanket and as I feel you on the yarn-ends: isn't there a friend you could bribe to sew the hateful little yarn-ends in? I have a friend who is kind of addicted to jam I make and I can trade the jam for yarn-ends or button sewing (the latter is also not my favorite work :-DD)

The yarn was such a pleasure to knit!

Haha I definitely need to get a friend like yours, hook me up! 🤣

 3 years ago  

No problem I will send you her address for a tiny fee :-DDDD
But joking aside, I still think she could make a business out of finishing knitted objects, but right now with the corona crisis still here, there is perhaps no money for such luxuries.

But I think people are knitting now more than perhaps ever before, so there would be a lot of customers for her!