Introducing the newest Faerie to join us: Mananan macLir

Mananan and Yuan 2.jpg

Hello needlework friends! I'm back with the newest Faerie to join us here in the Otherworldly Apartment: Mananan macLir, the God of the Oceans! :)

So as usual, I started with embroidering his face (since I started with a pre-made doll body). Then I individually sewed in each strand of his hair. His hair plus eyebrows used up an entire one of those mini skeins of yarn that they sell for amigurumi projects; I could have even used two if I gave him as much hair as some of the other Fae!

Mananan's sweater in progress.jpg

Next I started work on his sweater, using some orange and dark yellow yarn. I made it with my trusty 1970s knitting loom that is older than I am; it's two sided and the big side is perfect for the body of the sweater and the smaller side is perfect for the sleeves. I knit those up separately and then attached the sleeves to the body. Then I crocheted a collar so that it was higher than what you see in this in-progress photo after I had attached the first sleeve.

Yuan loves the Faeries

Then I sewed him some khaki shorts out of some leftover fabric from the jumper that I turned into an apron recently. He's the first of the Fae Fam to have shorts instead of slacks or a skirt or dress. I figured since he's the God of the Oceans, he spends a lot of time at the beach, and shorts seemed appropriate. :)

I French braided the front sides of his hair and pulled it back, and left the rest of it loose underneath. And then he was all done! :)

Fae Fam 9.jpg

So now there are nine Faerie dolls - a magickal number! - and more to come! I found another one of the same doll bodies for sale online (yippee!) and snapped it up, plus I did make Dian Cecht's body myself since he has darker skin in my head, so I could also make more.

I love my Faerie friends (as does Yuan, as you saw) and I enjoy sharing their creation with you. Thanks so much for reading and have a great week!

faeriestories sig.jpg

Sort:  
Thank you for sharing this post on HIVE!

Your content got selected by our fellow curator jasonmunapasee & you just received a little thank you upvote from us for your great work! Your post will be featured in one of our recurring compilations which are aiming to offer you a stage to widen your audience within the DIY scene of Hive. Stay creative & HIVE ON!


Please vote for our hive witness <3

Awesome, thank you so much!! :D

Awesome to see a new Faerie! Looking forward to seeing what adventures await. !CTP

Thank you so much! :)