Fixing a Vintage Sewing Machine

in NeedleWorkMonday29 days ago (edited)

My most recent acquisition is a Sears Kenmore model 148.1560 from the 1970s. The 148 means it was made by Soryu in Japan. The Japanese-made machines from the 70s are some of the best mechanical home sewing machines ever made, in my opinion. Aluminum and steel instead of plastic makes a heavy machine that still sews well in 2024, given some oil and basic maintenance.

I sourced some missing parts from a business called Fred Sanford based in Michigan. The owner was very helpful and we messaged photos back and forth until we were sure we had the right parts.

I still don't have the broken knob fixed, but I can turn it with a wrench just fine. I can sew straight and zigzag, but there are still some squeaks. I oiled it some more and am letting it soak in for a day or two before doing more troubleshooting.

I enjoy doing business with small local companies because they treat you well. This business included some fun freebie bags with my parts order.

Happy Needlework Monday to all.

Sort:  

I am glad that this sewing machine is still current. I just thought about the maintenance and the parts to be repaired, glad you put us in context. I already want to see the machine recovered and be unstoppable, jaja.

There are people like me who learned to sew on these machines back when they were new. We network and share questions and answers about repairs and help each other find parts. We prefer these vintage machines. !BBH

@inici-arte! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fiberfrau. (1/5)

There are people like me who learned to sew on these machines back when they were new. We network and share questions and answers about repairs and help each other find parts. We prefer these vintage machines. !BBH

@inici-arte! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fiberfrau. (2/5)

This so nicely, I hard about this machine that it is a nice one and it will take too long and very hard to spoil, I love it

Thank you. !BBH

@pepefashion! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fiberfrau. (3/5)