Broomstick Lace: Working Loops Off the Pin

in NeedleWorkMonday3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Broomstick lace begins with a foundation chain or a foundation row of single crochet or half-double crochet. Loops are then pulled up, similar to Tunisian of Afghan stitch crochet, but the stitches are placed on a large needle (a jack pin) instead of accumulated on a long hook. This video shows the method of working the loops off the pin to complete a row of lace.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

I really miss doing broomstick lace. The scarf I made got ruined when it fell on the floor in the closet. It’s one of the most beautiful stitches I’ve ever encountered. Yours looks so beautiful. What are you making?

It is a stole. I love shawls--they can be doubled as a scarf, worn over the head, used as a lap blanket. I always throw some shawls in my bags when traveling. I am thinking if I want to do macrame fringe or beaded fringe. It will need some weight to hang/drape properly.

My mom has done almost everything that can be done with a crochet hook: afghan stitch, hairpin lace, broomstick lace, filet. She inspires us all still with her creativity.

Wow that’s definitely inspiring!