Fulfilling a Promise, I Made a Shirt Flare Dress for My Younger Sister

in NeedleWorkMonday29 days ago

Hello Hive!

Dear #Needleworkmonday creatives, hope you all are having a fabulous week going, well I have, not been on a vacation or anything extra, I've spent the most of my week beside my sewing machine, even though I will be having exams in a week from now, I just can't stop myself from bringing to reality all the sewing project I have going on in my mind, also due to the fact that I have to fulfill my promise to my sister.
Just so you know, I have three younger sisters, the best three, yea, I'm that lucky to have three awesome companions that made my life fun right from their birth to this very moment.

img_1716472822347_1.jpg

You know how we ladies can't do without looking nice and presentable wherever we are, so as the oldest and the designer in the house, you already know who they run to for clothing problems, and I'm always ready to deliver, growing up, we did most activities together, especially sharing our dresses that my mum sometimes buys the same design each one of for us, there was a period I and my immediate two younger sis wore the same size of cloth,

IMG_20240523_132805_098.jpg

I'm on the smaller size and they grew too fast, now it's just three out of the four that wears almost similar size, while my immediate younger sis has left us behind to be on a bigger size, lol, her loss though, because my dress doesn't size her anymore, so it's just the three of us with almost similar size now, and today, I will be sharing with us the dress I made my younger sister who is the third born girl, the calmest out of us all, you would have to probe her before she declares what she has on her mind.

I recently made our last born sister some outfits that I shared here In this community and she made me feel guilty about ignoring making her new dresses for a while now because she would rather keep to herself than disturb me as my other sisters would, I felt guilty because it has been really a while I made her a new dress, which others keep getting as they demanded so here I am fulfilling that promise when I'm supposed to be buried in my books preparing for my exams ahead, but it's all worth it, for sister's love, also so that she wouldn't feel left out.

IMG_20240523_132753_619.jpg

I've had this fabric since early last year and always promising myself to make something out of it, I guess it also felt ignored by me, now is the time to put it to good use for a sister who felt ignored as well lol

I decided to make a shirt flare dress, which is a design my sister would particularly appreciate.

IMG_20240523_111743_674.jpg

Starting, I drafted and cut out the upper side of the dress using a Kimono shirt pattern, with two pieces for the front, and one piece for the back,

IMG_20240523_111823_057.jpg

Next, I joined the upper side by the shoulders, also sewing and folding in the button placket

IMG_20240523_122021_757.jpg

The shirt collar comes up next, here is how it's pattern looks like, I sewed it round the neckline of the shirt after turning.

IMG_20240523_125451_511.jpg

IMG_20240523_120312_394.jpg

The lower part of the dress was made using a flare pattern, where her waist measurement serves as the radius of the 180° circle

IMG_20240523_125548_532.jpg

I sewed it around the waist, and here is the final look of the dress,

IMG_20240523_132820_347.jpg

IMG_20240523_132734_844.jpg

Simple and elegant, I hope she loves it when she visits thus evening, I've fulfilled my promise, now let me hurry back to catch up with my book reading, wish me luck in my exams 🤗

All images used are mine

Thank you for reading.❤❤

Sort:  

🎉 Upvoted 🎉
👏 Keep Up the good work on Hive ♦️ 👏
❤️ @palomap3 suggested sagarkothari88 to upvote your post ❤️
🙏 Don't forget to Support Back 🙏

How lucky you are to have 2 sisters! I've always wondered what it must be like growing up like that, I have a brother 2 years younger than me and we get along super well, but you know, who do you share the girly stuff with? 🎀

I'm so glad you were able to fulfill your promise, and the dress looks fabulous, the simple and elegant cut makes it super versatile, and it's one of my favorite styles because I live in a very hot city! 😂 🌞 🌴

They are 3 actually😅, it's fun, not without our girly banter though lol

Thank you so much for this comment, I'm sure this style will look God on you as well.

Three sisters?
Can I please have just 3 of them?
You thought I would say one? No please… I want all three… I’m not selfish 🥹🥹

The dress is pretty and she will love it. You have great eyes for fabrics

Such a lovely dress. !BBH

Awwn this is lovely, I love the fabric it's really looking pretty