Thread and needle, from generation to generation. / Hilo y aguja, de generación en generación.

in NeedleWorkMonday3 years ago (edited)

Hello dear friends from this fascinating world of needle and thread. I want to start by telling you that this is an art that my mother taught me and that I have taught my daughters and now they will teach theirs. It is a very beautiful inheritance that they are taught to do as a job or as a hobby.

cojin, bandera, aguja, varios 144.jpg

cojin, bandera, aguja, varios 140.jpg

About this cushion I tell you that I did it for a contest in @hivediy and I had to sew it by hand since the sewing machine is damaged and we do not know what it has. So I sewed it by hand and the truth is that hand sewing is quite strong if you know how to do it.

You must like sewing to understand it, many people do not even know how to glue a button, which is something easy to do among sewing things. But if you do not like the thread and the needle, you will not learn unless you take a very good course and practice it, otherwise, as the information reaches you, you will forget it.

Here is the link on how I made this cute cushion, it is easy to make and there are very few materials you use:

https://hive.blog/hive-130560/@isabelpena/spring-hivediy-contest-how-to-make-a-flower-cushion-primavera-hivediy-concurso-como-elaborar-un-cojin-de-flor

Problems with my sewing machine.

Some time ago my sister gave me my mother's sewing machine since she was not using it, my mother is 82 years old and she no longer sees because she has cataract problems in her eyes. After a while my mom took the machine from me because she doesn't want to get rid of it. So I had to give it back to her

.
cojin, bandera, aguja, varios 135.jpg

I was excited about a pet clothing sewing project, counting on the machine, but now I've had to return it and it's a bit damaged too. A technician says that apparently the motor is breaking down because the pedal is too braked, I say it is a problem to change the pedal cable, but he is the technician and that costs more than 50 dollars to repair. So I won't even be able to ask you to lend me the machine since I don't have the money to repair it.

The crochet hook and the two needles.

cojin, bandera, aguja, varios 156.jpg

cojin, bandera, aguja, varios 158.jpg

I still have a crochet hook. Number 7, this means that its tip is quite thick and is used with thick threads. One of the threads that I like to use is the wick, this is a thread that we use to tie the Hallas in December, this is a typical dish from Venezuela that we traditionally use in the Christmas season. We always have balls of this thread and I end up knitting something.

On one occasion I knitted a sweater with 5 balls of this yarn on two needles, the sweater was very heavy since the yarn is thick, very rustic, but with the stitches I made it looked pretty. In another publication I will teach you to read a crochet fabric from a magazine and also to know how to read the sewing patterns of those models that we like from a magazine.

Thread and needle should never be missing in the house.

cojin, bandera, aguja, varios 147.jpg

cojin, bandera, aguja, varios 152.jpg

I am not a seamstress by profession, nor do I earn a living sewing, I only like to sew, weave, embroider when needed and I am one of those who think that every woman should know how to do it. I keep in my house threads of various colors, needles, tape measure and some implements that I have left from when I had a machine.

It amuses me to be able to take a piece of fabric from time to time and make a cushion to decorate a piece of furniture. Or to be able to repair a garment that falls apart or a button that falls off. That is why I always have a needle and thread at hand and I have taught my 3 children to use it, even men, my ex-husband also knows how to sew very well.

I have never used sewing or weaving as work, but let me tell you that it is a very commendable job and it is earned well by making clothing for both personal and corporate clients. I know women who have sewing workshops in their home and the whole family works in it, sewing, selling, making deliveries or making the necessary purchases for the workshop. They are very pleasant places to work and you do it from your own home earning a good remuneration.

cojin con flor, varios 155.jpg

This is my participation in the contest carried out by the @needleworkmonday community, if you want to participate here I leave you the link so that you can review the rules:

https://hive.blog/hive-127911/@needleworkmonday/needleworkmondays-freeneedling-challenge
The theme for this contest is #freeneedling.

All photography are of my property, taked for this contest.

hive-didver1.gif

Español:

Hola queridos amigos de este fascinante mundo del hilo y la aguja. Quiero comenzar por decirles que este es un arte que me enseñó mi mamá y que le he enseñado a mis hijas y ahora ellas le enseñarán a las de ellas. Es una herencia muy bonita la que se les enseña a hacer como trabajo o como hobby.

Sobre este cojín les cuento que lo hice para un concurso en @hivediy y tuve que coserlo a mano ya que la máquina de coser está dañada y no sabemos lo que tiene. Así que lo cosí a mano y la verdad es que la costura a mano es bastante fuerte si se sabe hacer.

La costura debe gustarte para poderla entender, muchas personas no saben ni pegar un botón, que es algo fácil de hacer entre las cosas de costura. Pero si a ti no te gusta el hilo y la aguja no aprenderás a menos que realices un curso bien bueno y lo practiques, de lo contrario así como te llega la información se te olvidará.

Aquí te dejo el link de cómo elaboré este lindo cojín, es fácil de hacer y son muy pocos los materiales que usas:

Problemas con mi máquina de coser.

Hace un tiempo mi hermana me regaló la máquina de coser de mi mamá ya que ella no la estaba usando, mi mamá tiene 82 años y ya no ve porque tiene problemas de catarata en sus ojos. Al cabo de un tiempo mi mamá me quitó la máquina porque no quiere desprenderse de ella. Así que tuve que devolvérsela.

Estaba entusiasmada en un proyecto de costura de ropa para mascotas, contando con la máquina, pero ahora he tenido que devolverla y ademas está un poco dañada. Dice un técnico que al parecer el motor se está dañando porque el pedal está muy frenado, yo digo que es problema de cambiar el cable del pedal, pero él es el técnico y eso cuesta más de 50 dólares la reparación. Así que no podré ni pedirle que me preste la máquina ya que no tengo el dinero para repararla.

El ganchillo y las dos agujas.

Todavía conservo una aguja de ganchillo. La número 7, esto significa que su punta es bastante grueso y se usa con hilos gruesos. Uno de los hilos que me gusta usar es el Pabilo, este es un hilo que usamos para amarrar las hallacas en Diciembre, este es un plato típico de Venezuela que tradicionalmente usamos en la época decembrina. Siempre nos quedan ovillos de este hilo y termino tejiendo algo.

En una oportunidad me tejí a dos agujas un suéter con 5 ovillos de este hilo, el sweater quedó muy pesado ya que el hilo es grueso, muy rústico, pero con los puntos que le hice se veía bonito. En otra publicación les enseñaré a leer un tejido de ganchillo de una revista y también a saber leer los patrones de costuras de esos modelos que nos gustan de una revista.

Hilo y aguja, nunca deben faltar en la casa.

No soy costurera de profesión, ni me gano la vida cosiendo, solo me gusta coser, tejer, bordar cuando se necesite y soy de las que pienso que toda mujer debe saber hacerlo. Mantengo en mi casa hilos de varios colores, agujas, cinta métrica y algunos implementos que me quedaron de cuando tuve máquina.

Me entretiene poder tomar un trozo de tela de vez en cuando y hacer un cojín para decorar un mueble. O poder reparar una prenda que se descosa o un botón que se caiga. Por eso siempre tengo hilo y aguja a la mano y le he enseñado a mis 3 hijos a usarlo, hasta al hombre, mi ex esposo también sabe coser muy bien.

Nunca he usado la costura ni el tejido como trabajo, pero déjenme decirles que es una labor muy loable y se gana bien haciendo prendas de vestir tanto a clientes personales como a empresas. Conozco mujeres que tienen talleres de costura en su casa y toda la familia trabaja en ella, cosiendo, vendiendo, haciendo entregas o haciendo las compras necesarias para el taller. Son sitios muy amenos para trabajar y lo haces desde tu propia casa ganando una buena remuneración.

Esta es mi participación al concurso que realiza la comunidad de @needleworkmonday, si deseas participar aquí te dejo el enlace para que revises las reglas:

Todas las fotografías son de mi propiedad, tomadas para este concurso.

WhatsApp Image 2020-07-14 at 5.37.49 PM.jpeg

Sort:  

I really enjoyed reading your entry @isabelpena :)

It’s a beautiful thing to be able to pass down such a skill to our loved ones. It’s true what you say, if you don’t practice you surely will loose it.

I grew up watching my mother sew and years later she starting teaching me since I wasn’t interested back then. For my mother sewing came very naturally and she enjoyed every minute of it. To me it’s a chore and I have to sometimes force myself to get in the mood to do it. However, I do agree that every women should know the basics. I’ve known how to sew on a button and fix a whole since childhood.

That is such a gorgeous cushion you hand sewed! I do hope someday your mother’s sewing machine will get repaired.

Thanks so much for participating in the contest ~

Thanks go to you and everyone who makes up @needleworkmonday, they did a fantastic job with this way of doing the contest. Thanks @crosheille

Thank you so much for your positive feedback. It is greatly appreciated ;)

it's beautiful how your sewing skills is being pass from one generation to another. I hope to someday be able to pass my skills down to my daughter also. Thanks for sharing

Surely that's how she will be a friend @blezyn. Don't lose hope.

@isabelpena you’ve done a wonderful job thanks for sharing

Thank you @smilestitches, is a pleasure to see you reading my post.

You’re welcome ma’am

Am glad to meet you and learn how you pass the hand needle stitching from generation to generation.
And just learning about the sizes of the crotchet hook, maybe thats what makes the knitting thicker.
Good one dear, such beautiful things you make with hands and needles

Thank you friend @monica-ene, is a hobby for me.

Hola gracias por compartir tu historia. En las pautas para concursar debes usar la etiqueta #freeneedling para poder participar.

Oh pensé que la había puesto, voy a rectificar. Gracias por el aviso @xeliram