My journey into making clothes for babies

aa6d9d2d_601a_4cb6_b530_c79ea9079459.jpg
My niece is eighteen-months-old, bright, bubbly and gorgeously cute. She’s about to be blessed with a baby brother in January and I’m on a mission to make a wardrobe of clothes for each child.

I make adult wear. I design, make patterns and sew samples for my range of PDF sewing patterns, but making babywear is an entirely new direction for me, and I learnt the hard way that making patterns for babies is not at all the same as pattern drafting for adults.

This resulted in having to go back to basics and buy a very expensive book on pattern drafting for babies. The book is the foundation for almost all professional pattern drafting courses on offer worldwide and although I’m glad I’ve bought it, I’ve found it frustratingly slow to sit down with sets of instructions and make slopers from scratch (a sloper is a basic pattern from which a designer constructs individual designs - for instance a bodice sloper would be used to make a tracksuit top or a hoodie.)

Anyway, making a few garments for the babies has started pulling at my heartstrings - the clothes are so adorable and tiny. The cuteness factor has me wanting to do more than simply make digital PDF patterns for the Internet; I WANT TO MAKE A RANGE OF BABYWEAR!

img_3814.jpg

However, babywear manufacturing demands a steep financial commitment - specialized machinery ( like industrial studding machines to insert poppers), tons of expensive trimmings and, also, 100% cotton fabric (very, very expensive). I have a great contact for fabric, but still this is going to take a good deal of introspective thought.

Basically, I’m going to document my journey into this new direction and, hopefully, receive feedback on people’s thoughts as to which styles look good and which are just nasty.

44c52231_650c_4120_8203_269345aba444.heic

Once all the digital patterns are made, I’ll post links so that interested people can download the sewing patterns and test them out personally.

86b7a550_041a_4ea0_95bf_1354d3c36c12.heic

5458572d_6404_40dc_97da_19d50750631c.heic

img_3816.jpg

Sort:  

Ooooh, they are so adorable!!
I love that last one and the romper :D
I do find sewing these little garments trickier than adult clothing but of course, there are no worries about darts.

I am so excited for you and wish you all the best on your journey :D

That hoodie is so cute! Greeting from the Philippines!

 2 years ago  

Hello @itsostylish designing and making baby clothes is a fascinating world. I had the opportunity to work for a few months in a baby clothing factory and I loved the experience, I was able to know every part of the process from pattern making, cutting the fabrics, organizing and assembling the pieces of the garment, sewing, embroidery, packaging and then distribution and importation. It was a wonderful experience and a wonderful trip that made me fall in love with this field, however, my thing is not sewing but crochet, but I apply what I learned in my projects. I am sure that you too will adapt to this new field and end up falling in love with it. Greetings and success with your mission.

I'm not into sewing but I love that you've taken on a new challenge as someone who is. And, they are so cute!!!! 😁🤗😝

Thank you for reading and for adding to my motivation