You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spinning, Kool-aid Dyeing, and Weaving Adventures

in NeedleWorkMonday2 years ago

I came here from the cross post and I never knew that you could dye sheep wool with cool-aid. Never in a million years would I have thought it would keep the colour. I really like the mottled effect in the end and think that the kids must have had such a good time with this. I'd love to learn how to spin yarn. Does it take a long time and a lot of practice to get an even consistency?

Sort:  

Hi janiqua-d. Depends. Depends on the tools and the fiber. I will be presenting some tutorials this fall and winter when I have more time. In the meantime, I am sure there are some tutorials available on-line. Do you have a particular fiber in mind? Are you interested in a drop spindle or a spinning wheel? I will be teaching a drop spindle class this fall/winter with a handmade tool, so it can be done by just about anyone. And with anything worthwhile....practice, practice, and more practice will give you the best results. :-)