Crochet Keychain: Monkey D. Luffy Straw Hat

in NeedleWorkMonday3 years ago (edited)

One of the good things about knowing how to crochet is that we crocheters were paid for every project we made. It's like doing something you love as well as getting compensate while you're just comfortably sitting in the corner of your home.

I was accepting orders specially wearables since 2012 and I've been squeezing up my mind through trial and error for every new designs I made. But sometimes doing this customized orders means you are capable of knowing on your own way how to do it.

There are ways on how to do a customize orders: One (1), is you search on videos the whole pattern for your project through youtube. Second (2), you can buy the pattern through etsy or ravelry. Third (3), is you do it on your own.

Well mine is I choose the last one. I do it on my own because I don't want to spend a penny for a pattern, but let my brain and my hands with the help of the hook do the process of discovering. And aside from that, I also want that piece to be unique and not exactly a replica of someones artwork. Plus, I want to prove on my self that I can do it on my own as I believe that if someone knows how to do it, then most likely I can do it also. But if there's a special or complicated stitches to be used on that particular project, I sometimes look for a video that will help me acquire the techniques being used in the particular item.

Today I wanna share to you my latest commissioned project that I'm still doing right now. The 70 pieces mini straw hat of Monkey D. Luffy (a Japanese anime character from One Piece) for a birthday souvenirs. It's my first time to make a souvenirs so I'm excited.
Now let's learn how to make it.

Materials:

  • Mercerized cotton yarns -Golden yellow and red (I used Monaco brand that was bought from an online shop: https://shopee, just search for Monaco thread and you will find lots of seller there.)
  • 1mm steel hook
  • scissor

Procedure:


We will use double pull or double strand of Monaco mercerized cotton yarn to make it more stiff and sturdy.

  1. Magic circle (Golden Yellow yarn)
  2. (1st layer) Chain 1, single crochet(SC) 10, slip stitch (SS)
  3. (2nd layer) Chain 1, SC 1, SC 2, SC 1, SC 2 (follow this pattern - SC 2, SC 1 'till end) then SS.
  4. (3rd layer) Chain 1, SC 1, SC 2, SC 1, SC 1, SC 1, SC 2, SC 1, SC 1, SC 1 (follow this pattern -SC 2, SC 1, SC 1, SC 1 ‘till end), then SS.
    #5,6 and 7. (5th, 6th and 7th layer) - Chain 1, SC 1 in every stitch ‘till end then SS. (You may now cut the golden yellow yarn because we will be using the red yarn in two layers.)
  5. (8th and 9th layer – use red yarn) – Chain 1, SC 1 in every stitch ‘till end then SS. (Cut the red yarn and let’s continue with the golden yellow yarn.)
  6. (10th layer) – Chain 1, SC 1, SC 2, SC 2, SC 1 (follow this pattern 'till end) then SS.
    11th layer - Chain 1, SC 1 in every stitch until end then SS. Cut the yarn and lock.

We can now attach a keyring on the edge of the hat for the final touch, but my client wants to wrap it only in
a clear and thick plastic with ribbon by herself.

You can also make a girl version of these cute mini hat by using feminine colors and decorate it with ribbon or pearls.

So that's it fellas. Hope you enjoy this very easy tutorial and consider it as useful.

Thank you @NeedleworkMonday community for this opportunity that we crafters all over the world be able to share our works here. More power and God bless to all the ladies behind this beautiful community namely: @crosheille the founder, @muscara and @marblely, the administrators and to all the members out there who continuously inspire the others. Have a blessed day ahead everyone.


@jonalyn2020 is a crochet entrepreneur, a mother of two and a fulltime housewife.

A timid person who loves to stay alone in the corner doing her crochet thing. She accepts made-to-order projects of anything related to crochet.
To order, feel free to message her through her FB Page: https://m.facebook.com/crochetterscollection/ and Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/crochetterscollection

Sort:  

Interesting project. !discovery 18

Thank you @juecoree. ☺️


This post was shared and voted inside the discord by the curators team of discovery-it
Join our community! hive-193212
Discovery-it is also a Witness, vote for us here
Delegate to us for passive income. Check our 80% fee-back Program
 3 years ago  

Hello @jonalyn2020, I love your photos and I like the delicate and neat way of presenting your project, your post is very pleasing to the eye.
I also congratulate you for your beautiful knitting. I find it very difficult to make the same piece more than twice, I get bored very quickly, that's why I don't do this kind of commissions. I also share your idea of creating our own patterns. Thank you for sharing your work with us. Best regards!

Thank you @kattycrochet for that very nice comment. ☺️ Yes, i got bored also doing the same thing. But knowing that it is a commissioned project plus I have to accomplish it before the due date, then I have no choice but to continue doing that same thing all over again.. But honestly I am doing something different right now. I am crocheting another commisioned project which is the crochet short, then after this one, will go back to mini hats again..😅

Congratulations @jonalyn2020! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Wow!! You have had a lot of dedication to explain the process and everything has been really beautiful, like your work with crochet and I even have my store, it is a beautiful art 😍

Thank you for that nice feedback @dojeda. And wish I could see your store.☺️

Simply amazing! I wish I was as great as you at chochet works :) :)

Thank you @delihavores for appreciating my works. But I believe that if you dream to be good at anything you want, you will be someday. JUst take 1 step at a time of making that dream come true. God bless and keep safe always. ☺️

❤️❤️❤️ Thanks a lot!

Wow what a fun commissioned work you are doing! The hats are adorable, they look really good. Kudos to you for letting your brain and hands do the creative work. Thanks for sharing your pattern with us :)

It's always a pleasure sharing what I know to this community. And thank you for always appreciating it. For now, let's cheers for more tutorials. 🥂☺️

 3 years ago (edited) 

You’re very welcome always ~ ❤️

Cheers!! 🥂