Crochet Sling Bag Tutorial || An Early Christmas Presents Made with LOVE

in NeedleWorkMonday3 years ago (edited)

As I was staring at my yarn stockpile one lazy afternoon, after finishing all of the home tasks and attending my two children with their modules, I was thinking of something to crochet. I'm aware that the Christmas season is approaching, and many individuals are considering what they can give to their loved ones.

However, in light of the pandemic and its impact on our economy, I decided to create something that is useful and beautiful at a cheaper price so that anyone can have their presents to their special someone.

Therefore, I decided to crochet some small sling bags in which children, teenagers and even adults would surely love. It's like a small purse where you can keep your money, keys cellphone or anything that is small.

To make it more appealing, I chose a combination of vibrant yarns. Combining colors are one of my favorite things to do. Some of my favorite color combos include autumn, rainbow, and rasta.

Here's how I do it.

Materials:

  • 3ply mercerized cotton (I choose Monaco brand-because of the vast range of colors. I ordered it online because it is less expensive, less hassle, and the precise color yarn that I require is readily available.)
  • 2.75 mm crochet hook
  • scissor

Pattern:

  • Begin with magic ring. (I used double pull to double its thickness. You can also use 6ply cotton yarn.)



  • (1st round) Chain 2, then make 12 double crochet, and slip stitch.



  • (2nd round) Chain 4, double crochet on the 1st stitch, chain, then double crochet on the 2nd stitch. Continue pattern until end, chain and slip stitch.







  • (3rd round) Chain 2, make 2 dc on the first hole, 1 dc on the upper top of the 1st dc of the 2nd round. Next hole, make only 1 dc then dc on the upper top of the 2nd dc on the 2nd round. Alternate this pattern until end the slip stitch. (Lock and cut the yarn.)
  • (4th round) Begin with another yarn color. Make a slip knot, pull over then chain 4, dc on the 1st stitch, chain 1, dc on 2nd stitch, chain 1, dc on the 3rd stitch chain 1 and skip 1 stitch, then repeat pattern until end, chain and slip stitch. (Due to lighting differences, the shot of the first three rounds differs from the other photo of the fourth round.)
  • (5th round) Chain 2, then follow the pattern of the 3rd round.
  • (6th round) Chain 4, skip 1 stitch, make 1 dc on the 2nd stitch, chain 1, dc on 3rd stitch, chain 1, skip one stitch, chain 1, then repeat pattern until end. Lock and cut the yarn.
  • (7th round) Begin with another yarn color. Make a slip knot, pull over then chain 2, dc on the 1st hole, dc on the upper part of the 1st dc of 6th round. Repeat pattern until end, then slip stitch.

  • (8th, 10th, 12th, 14th, 16, 18th and 20th round) Chain 4, skip 1st stitch, make 1 dc on the 2nd stitch, chain 1, skip 1 stitch, then dc on the next stitch. Repeat pattern until end and slip stitch.
  • (9th, 11th, 13, 15th, 17th and 19th round) Chain 2, dc on the 1st hole, dc on the upper part of the 1st dc of 6th round. Repeat pattern until end, then slip stitch.








  • Make the handle about 3 feet (Chains then single crochet. Do not cut the yarn yet. Insert first the other end to the bag then join the two ends, lock and cut the excess yarn.)







    And there you have it! It's finished. Isn't it as simple as 1-2-3? And it will take you around 1-2 hours to complete this bag. I can't keep count of how much time I spent making this sling bag because I was letting my 2 kids take the afternoon nap.


This small sling bag only cost for only one hundred and fifty pesos (estimated in $3). As I've said, this presents will be sold in a cheaper price so anyone could buy for their loved ones. (Here's the link on shopee if you want to order.)


I really love its color-combination so I was thinking about making a bucket hat with the same colors as the sling bag so I could pair them together. I'm planning to share it also here next time. Watch out on my next posting here.

I did enjoy making this project so I made lots of them with different color combinations.


Hope you enjoy the whole process. God bless all.

@jonalyn2020 is a crochet entrepreneur, a mother of two and a fulltime housewife.

A timid person who loves to stay alone in the corner doing her crochet thingy. She accepts made-to-order projects of anything related to crochet.

To order, feel free to message me through my FB Page: Crochetters Collection, Instagram and
Shopee Store

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Hi @jonalyn2020, it is so nice to greet you again.
I love this kind of bags, I've made some bags like these for my nieces in the past and they loved them.
I like the colors you have used. Thanks for sahring your projects with us.
Greetings and belssings.

Thanks @kattycrochet. It's really easy to make this bag. We just have to choose the right colors to be more attractive. It's nice and cute for the kids and even teens.😊 Gob bless to you.

Congratulations @jonalyn2020! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 13000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 14000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Crochetiful all Sis because of the color combination. For bags I used tiny cord more durable for bags.

Salamat po mam @jurich. 😊 Pampahatak lang ng customer Ang mga ganyang kulay po. Oo nga sabinnla maganda yung cord,though masakit sa kamay pero durable naman. Kaso limited lang Ang kulay niya, di tulad ni mercerized cotton po. Pero mura lang po ba yun? Never tried kasi bumili at gumamit ng cord.hehe

 3 years ago  

Kamukha to nung pinangregalo ko sa batang kapitbahay namin dati pero siyempre ibang level ang color combinations mo siszt! Napakahusay talaga. Idadagdag ko na to sa mga pang giveaway ko sa christmas. 😍😍😍

Nag iisip lang talaga ako ng madali gawin, Saka bawi lang ako sa kulay..hahaha.. naaliw ako Gawin yan kaya nakarami agad.😅 Makakagawa ka ng kahit 5-8 pcs Isang araw kung Wala Kang gaanung ginagawa.hehe

Lovely thanks for sharing

Thanks for appreciating.😊

Best wishes in your online business.

Thank you so much for dropping by.☺️

My pleasure.

Congratulations @jonalyn2020! Your post has been placed in the spotlight for this week's NeedleWorkMonday Community Featured Posts #156!
Thank you for your quality post and for being a part of the needlework community!

#needleworkmonday is an initiative that supports and rewards the NeedleWorkMonday Community while inspiring the Hive blockchain. You can read more about us by visiting our FAQs.

NWM Discord LInk.jpg

Ohh.. happy to be included in your featured list. Thank you so much @needleworkmonday and @crosheille. More power to you..💕