FOCUS YOUR NEEDLEWORK CHALLENGE || DESIGNING CROCHET ITEMS WITH TULIP STITCHES

in NeedleWorkMonday10 months ago

Right after I made Dahlia's outfit during the NEEDLEWORK YOUR BARBIE CONTEST, in which I used tulip stitch in her skirt, my mind has been creating more ideas on what else to make with the use of tulip stitch. I was amazed by the effect of those tiny tulips designed for any crochet items. Others have made bags, blankets, and even headbands with tulip stitches.

So when we were on our trip going to Cebu for a short vacation last Mother's Day, I decided to bring some yarns and make a crocheted water bottle cover on our trip.

At dawn, while waiting for the sun to rise, I started crocheting and end up with two rows of tulip stitches. I put it in a bag and prepared for leaving. We rode a tricycle going to a city and wait for the bus going to Cebu. We wait over an hour since we arrived early, but didn't feel bored as I continued crocheting my water bottle cover.

We wait near a store, and when the owner had seen me crocheting, she started to ask about it and then wanted to buy it while I'm still finishing it. I can't say no to her since she was so persistent, so I said yes afterward. I had it finished before the bus arrived and she was thankful after handing her the crochet water bottle cover without me taking a picture of it. Well, I'm still happy knowing that someone liked it.

So I told myself to make another of the same design since I still have more yarns left.

When we arrived at the port and settled inside the ferry boat, I then started crocheting. We traveled for almost 3 hours and that made me finish my crochet water bottle cover. And decided to make a cellphone pouch of the same color and design to pair it.

(Edited on Canva)

This is what it looked like. And I'm impressed with the color combinations and its design. So I wouldn't be surprised if the owner of the store really bought the first one I made.🥰 I was glad with the outcome, so I decided to make MORE cellphone pouches with tulip stitches and show you how I did it!

Materials:

IMG20230522094715_01

For this project, I used 5ply milk cotton in 3 different colors: (1) blue, for the base, (2) green, for the leaves of the tulip, and (3) red, for the tulip flower. I also used a 3mm size crochet hook, thread cutter, and lighter.

You can choose any color combinations you want but the leaves of the tulip should always be green.

Procedure:

First, I make 21 chains (you can make it longer or shorter, depending on the measurement of your phone), then double crochet on 1st round. The 2nd round was composed only of a dc-chain pattern and on the 3rd, all double crochet. This will be a repeat pattern before you make your tulip stitches.

The leaves were just a simple "V" shape, with a dc-2chain-dc pattern on the same stitch, skip 2 stitches and repeat.

When I saw this tulip stitch pattern, I really thought that they were using a puff stitch on the tulip flower because I was just looking at the blurry picture that the customer had sent to me at that time. But later I realized that it was a bubble stitch that they were using when I saw a clearer picture of a headband with a tulip stitch on it.

So here, I will be choosing my pattern, the puff stitch on the tulip flower. It's up to you what stitch you will be using as the effect was still the same, I think. 😅

I just made 3 rows of tulip stitches here, then one row of DC, and another dc-chain row where I I serted the red tie.

Finally, I made the strap with 3 single crochet pattern, repeating it until I reached the desired length.

The Pictorial:

IMG20230522140219_01
The pretty outcome.

IMG20230522140239_01
The first one I did.

Because it's easy to do it and takes only 2 hours to finish, I made another one in rust color as the base, and peach for the tulip.

IMG20230522140257_01

IMG20230522140114_01

If you were to do it, what color combinations will you use?

Hope you enjoy our tutorial today and would be glad to hear your thoughts about it. Thank you and God bless everyone. 😘


Yours truly,

@jonalyn2020 😘😘😘



Kung nagustuhan mo ang aking sinulat ngayon, pakipusuan mo naman. 😍😉

For orders, please message me or visit these links.

Shopee

Facebook

Facebook Page

Instagram

To God Be The Glory



k75bsZMwYNtze9xHvT6xWCdz7q3QGD35ZKdaPpVrFksWkDKsVMpaxn2jEBV2zTYxZfqBAyqtyxtUF5Hfvs6v4SB1hKXQLzyWAkRCvXaYmco87hxtdHagVZWuvx7je1RqNnd9Qn3roFxcYhCBKyUR1YJMTuJvngRWn.png

Sort:  

They are crochetiful Sis and attractive with your color combination. I have used this stitch with my traveling bag nine yrs ago using tiny cord. It is an easy stitch to follow.

Thanks sis.. 🥰 Choosing the right color combinations will attract viewers and customers jud.. hehe. Much better jud if tiny cord gamiton ky nice p jud Ang quality.

These are so cute! The tiny tulips are adorable ^^ I have no idea how to crochet but I really appreciate the process pictures!

If I were to learn how to crochet, I would make a black one with baby pink tulips!

Thank you so much @kothy for appreciating my works. 🥰 It mean so much for me.

Wow, I would like that kind of color combination too. 😍 Just like the black pink. 🥰

They turned out really cute!! I LOVE the detail, that you actually made the tulipstitch look like Tulips even more (by choosing the colours as you did)🌷 ...and then giving contrast with the colours in between.
Lovely, as always😊!

I love to read your feedback here also. Thank you so much @kesityu.fashion.🥰
Have a nice day and God bless you.

I am glad to hear that, I really enjoyed your post!!:)

Who wouldn't love this, I can't wait to steal this 😃 You are good with mixing the colors and I admire every of your crotchet work. 💖❤💖❤❤

Oh thank you Monica. Yes, I do love color mixing when it comes to my projects. It makes me feel joyful and not bored when I used different colors. 😉

I likeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

God it is freaking nice, the colours are great and how you intertwine each layer was just perfect, could you send one to me over here already pretty?😍😋😋

Oh, thank you so much @ibbtammy for liking it. Your comment mean so much to me. 🥰

I could send you one but it seems that you're too far. I'm from Philippines by the way. 🤗

Awwwwwwwww thank you but don't worry I will try and use my magical powers to teleport down there🙃

I will be happy handing it to you. 🥰

Beautiful🥰 I would definitely buy these water bottle holders if I saw them around me. The colour combination is perfect to contrasting each other.

How I wish my neighbors would think the same way as you did. I would gladly make more color combinations for them to choose. 😁
Anyway, thank you so much @glorydee. I appreciate it much. Have a nice day dear. 🤗

If I were to make them I would love to copy your combinations. I love the pink with lilac or violet, it looks divine.

I love all projects that include tulips, they will always look beautiful.

Many 🍀 good luck in the contest. They look very pretty in the pictures.

I would be very happy if you will do your version of these, @creacioneslelys. 🥰 My fave is the pink one also. And thinking to make another but this time the lilac color would be the base.

Yes, any projects that include tulips will always be beautiful. A nice summer hat with this kind of design could be a good one too. 🥰

Thank you so much for dropping by and have a nice day. 🥰