NEEDLEWORK YOUR BARBIE CAREER CONTEST!

(Edited on Canva)

Ever since I was little, I really loved making clothes for my doll using mom's extra sewing fabrics. Mom also taught me to sew using only a needle and thread. I was also pricked by a needle several times when I wanted to sew clothes but I never thought of stopping just because of that. I was enjoying every process and the satisfaction I felt when I finished them was amazing. I would show it to my mom right away with a smiling face and feel proud of myself when she approved it.

And even when I got married and had my 1st son, I still managed to create dresses for my doll. Yes, I had a doll with me that I asked for my sister after months I gave birth to my eldest. Funny, but I can't help it. But at that time, I already knew how to crochet and wanted to test my crocheting skills in terms of making cute and tiny dresses. So instead of using fabrics and needles, I used yarns and a crochet hook.

Now that the Needleworkmonday Community had again organized my favorite contest, the "Needlework Your Barbie Contest" which is officially announced to run every year, I then felt the excitement.

The first and second years of joining this kind of contest made me realize the level of passion and happiness I had when it comes to dressing my doll.

My Entry - 1st Contest (November 2020)
My Entry - 2nd Contest (November 2021)

Notice that in the 1st and 2nd contests, the outfit color of my Barbie was white? And that this year, I unintentionally choose again the white color yarn as the base for my doll's dress. But this time, I incorporate the pink and green colors for a specific design.

This year's contest is still the same as the past contest but with a little spice. Every crafter will needlework their Barbie's career outfit. Check this post to know more about it.

At first, I thought about my Dahlia would be a fashion designer that designs different kinds of outfits. And the summer outfit that Dahlia's wearing (the one I shared with you in my previous post) will be her latest design.

I even made this hanging hanger for the doll's outfits.

IMG20230421143516_01

This was made from floral wires covered with a corrugated box that I had cut and finally wrapped with pink yarn.

But I changed my mind. I then thought that Dahlia would be better if she would be a florist. Since I consider myself a florist who can make flowers instead of growing them and arranging them in a bouquet, I guess Dahlia could be that also. So I started making her an outfit. I get the necessary materials that I'll be needing.

Materials

A florist doesn't have a specific costume but I was thinking that I will make her a skirt with flowers on it. So I choose the color pink to form the flowers and the color green for the leaves. I was thinking of a tulip design on her skirt.

IMG20230422165110

  • 3-ply mercerized cotton
  • 2.0 mm crochet hook
  • trimmer

Procedures

I started on the bottom part of the skirt (going upward) with 2 layers of double crochet and on the 3rd layer, I changed the yarn color to green one and made some 'V-shaped' double crochet with 2 chains and skip 2 stitches in between. These will be the leaves of our tulips.

On the 4th layer, I choose this pink variegated color yarn to form the tulips by making puff stitches with 2 chain intervals.

I just made 2 layers of tulip flowers with 3 layers of double crochet in between and then on the 11th layer, I made some decreasing double crochet. The 12th layer consists of a DC-chain pattern so I could insert the ribbon later and another DC layer on the very top of the skirt.

I just made a mesh crop top with a wide sleeve using the pink color yarn on the right side and the green color on the other side. I also add a little flower in the center of the top.

The bandana was made of diamond mesh stitch in a triangular shape with ties on 2 sides.

IMG20230423124159_01

I was having a great time making her a costume. I also made her a pair of boots, a bikini top, and a panty.

Now we're done making her an outfit.

It's time to put on her clothes.🥰😍

IMG20230423125957_01

First, I let her try her undies. They were all cute, isn't it?

IMG20230423130311_01

Next was her crop top. I love how the color combination and the wide-sleeve top suited her. Hoping I could make this design for myself.

IMG20230423130456_01

I'm loving her skirt too. 😍

IMG20230423130604_01

IMG20230423130727_01

Now, it's perfect. 🥰

IMG20230423130732_01

IMG20230423130809_01

But I guess no one could identify her as a florist without flowers.

IMG20230423131729_01

So I made a tiny flower bouquet.

IMG20230423131121_01

IMG20230423131656_01

IMG20230423131801_01

Wait, there's still MORE...

IMG20230424090115_01

I made a table for her also where she can work. There were flower wrappers, floral wires, ribbons, and yarns too. I also cut a small piece of bamboo wood and curve it to look like a crochet hook.

IMG20230424092618_01

I just included here in the picture the hanging hangers together with the summer outfit of Dahlia.

And when my son saw it, he told me that Dahlia was a mini-me of myself. I was hoping that he was referring to the beauty of Dahlia. 😅 But I know right away what he meant. And I realized right from that moment that he was right. Dahlia, sitting in there making crochet flowers, the same way as I was working on my working table. And I didn't just make flower bouquets, but I did some designing of crochet wearables too.

IMG20230424090818_01

So Dahlia isn't just a florist that makes flower bouquets. She designs crochet wearables too. Just like me, a crochet artist. 🥰

IMG20230424092635_01

Until next time. God bless everyone.


Yours truly,

@jonalyn2020 😘😘😘



Kung nagustuhan mo ang aking sinulat ngayon, pakipusuan mo naman. 😍😉

For orders, please message me or visit these links.

Shopee

Facebook

Facebook Page

Instagram

To God Be The Glory



k75bsZMwYNtze9xHvT6xWCdz7q3QGD35ZKdaPpVrFksWkDKsVMpaxn2jEBV2zTYxZfqBAyqtyxtUF5Hfvs6v4SB1hKXQLzyWAkRCvXaYmco87hxtdHagVZWuvx7je1RqNnd9Qn3roFxcYhCBKyUR1YJMTuJvngRWn.png

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1650610507844583424 twitter metadata:MTI0NjE5MTc1Mzk2ODc3NTE2OHx8aHR0cHM6Ly90d2l0dGVyLmNvbS8xMjQ2MTkxNzUzOTY4Nzc1MTY4L3N0YXR1cy8xNjUwNjEwNTA3ODQ0NTgzNDI0fA== ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @yelimarin, @jonalyn2020 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

 last year  

Wawwww! Panalo na to! Hahaha. Apaccahusay!!!

Hahaha, very supportive talaga eh. Salamat. 😊🥰

Dahlia is a beautiful florist, those woven bouquets were beautiful on her, I congratulate you, my friend, every detail that you did to your doll is spectacular, I really liked her clothing and the color combination, beautiful participation, I wish you good luck, regards 🖖

Thank you so much for this comment @marlynmont. 🥰 I hope you enjoy the whole presentation. God bless you dear. 🥰

I can’t get over the mini bouquet that is a perfect replica of the ones you make. Before I read what your son said I was thinking to myself “she is a mini Jonalyn 😄😍!” So genius of you to create this idea and entire scene of her work area. I love all the little details you added and she even has a mini tree in her work room. I love the hanging rack and the mini materials. It’s very evident that you put a lot of time into this. The tulips on her skirt with the surrounding leaves look so beautiful. I love her sleeves and how wide they are too!

Thanks so much for this fun eye catching entry ~

I really enjoyed making the mini bouquet and just realized of 'something'. (To be revealed on my next post. 🥰)

I don't know why I don't use fresh little flowers to make a flower bouquet that time. And I did add some small yarns in the table instead of fresh flowers and leaves. 😅 And I just realized that I'm mimicking what I usually do. 😅

I think I spent 2-3 days working all the stuff on my table together with hanging hangers,. As well as the table and the chair. Though I haven't capture the chair and how I was able to make it since I'm in hurry. I'm afraid I won't be able to finished it all on time.

But anyway, I would like to thank you from the bottom of my heart for granting my wish, this contest. 🥰 I enjoyed the process so much that until now I still want to design more of Dahlia's dresses.

And I'm glad that you like it. 🥰

Hermoso trabajo amiga, eres realmente talentosa, para hacer ropa tan pequeña se requiere de mucha paciencia, éxitos.

Gracias me Amiga. 🥰 And thank you for dropping by and making a comment. I appreciate it a lot. 😘

Wow Dahlia sure knows how to dress up well! You did great with this one, Jonalyn! She is stunning!

Thank you witty. 🥰

 last year  

I love the whole outfit but the detail of the tulips on the skirt really fascinated me. You really thought of every detail to put together a nice set, I can tell you enjoyed knitting all this nice scenery, I congratulate you and wish you a lot of success in the contest. Blessings

Thank you so much @kattycrochet. 🥰
Yes I'm really enjoying the whole process. It's like going back to my childhood days. Only with an experienced hand. Thank you for the blessings and God bless you too. 🥰

que linda es tu publicación, quedé enamorada de cada detalle, te felicito por haber hecho algo tan hermoso.

Muchas gracias mi amiga y gracias también por tomarse el tiempo de leer mi publicación y hacer un comentario. Lo aprecio mucho. Dios te bendiga. 🥰

Ay Dios mioo... Que cuchituraaa.. Esta hermoso tu proyecto, me encanta cada detalle.. Hermoso, hermoso 😍😍

Gracias @razielmorales. 🥰 And thank you so much for dropping by. God bless you dear. ,😊

Aaaawwww how beautiful your work 😻 I am in love with every detail you did 🤩

Congratulations 🤗 I can see that you work with love this art 💟 @jonalyn2020

True, when you're doing something that you love, the beauty will show on the masterpieces. Thank you so much for dropping by @purpleglitter.🥰

Hi @ , what a beautiful job I love the dedication you put into it, the accessories are beautiful, I congratulate you.

Thank you so much @lrscarmen. 🥰

¡Por Dios, amo esto! ¡Que hermosa es Dahlia! No sólo la muñeca sino todo el vestuario y escenario que creaste para ella. Estaba viendo el post y cada vez que iba bajando, quedaba más prendada por tanta belleza 😍 me fascina el grado de dedicación y de detalles que colocaste en cada pieza: los bordados del vestido, los zapatos con sus adornos ¡Hasta le hiciste ropa interior! Ni que decir del soporte para la ropa ¡Y todo su espacio de trabajo! Tu florista/diseñadora de ganchillo, luce realmente encantadora ¡Excelente post! Muchísima suerte en el concurso 💚

sue_corazon.png

 last year  

Hello Jonalyn! Your work is super beautiful!! That skirt is so beautiful, the design with the flowers was spectacular. I liked that many of us have chosen the things that we like ourselves to put them on the wrist, we had similar ideas. And I also like this little doll. Her face is very cute, I have never seen one like this here, only traditional Barbies.

Congratulations on your project and for receiving an award, you really deserved it!! :) ❤️

Thank you so much, Lau. 🥰 I'm glad that you like them. And yes, I noticed also, that most of the profession being chosen for our Babie was a reflection of one's self.

I was also captured by the beautiful face of this doll aside from having many joints that will able you to change her pose in many different ways plus it only cost $2. Only it's naked when it arrived. But that's not a problem for me. As we can make tons of different outfit if we want. ☺️