You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 5 unexpected ways to cope with rejection

I'm pretty sure we all have imposter syndrome sometimes, especially in a discipline like art, it's tough since it is very subjective and you can never really have a metric of how "good" your art is unless you look at something concrete like sales which IMO doesn't really mean anything LOL. Some of the worst art makes the most money. In the end I think you have to make the art that pleases you, it will always resonate with someone, sometimes I think it's better to be true to yourself even if it means less popular. Rejection sucks either way but I guess you have a good solution of burning everything down 😂

Sort:  
 2 years ago  

Yes the art market is a mix of funny and so horrible I could vomit sometimes... Alone that most only buy art to make money not because they like it is so twisted, its beyond me (perhaps I would see this differently if I grew up rich, I don't know)
And naturally you are right about doing the thing which one feels have to be created (art wise) but its always a fight for me (and I fear for many others too) between "is it worth it?, am I good enough?" and sometimes changing into "yes, I guess I am the artistic ruler of the world"... 🤣
After all this mood swings, the burning seems to be a natural solution :-DDDDD

But something completely different… are you perhaps interested to write sometimes about how you juggle online and analog art (either producing, networking, exhibiting etc.)? Because I find this really tough, I either do one or the other and find it hard to synch both.

Pretty much all my art related activities are online 😂 I just moved out to the country so the opportunity for IRL events is even slimmer but I'm pretty okay with that!