NEEDLEWORKMONDAY: FROM RUSTY TO BEAUTY

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago

Hello everybody,

It's monday again, time for sharing our passion.

Today am gonna share what I made from a rusty thing supposed to be thrown away but I did not, instead I made it into a beautiful mandala, a daisy mandala.

This is the after:

IMG_20200511_204503.jpg

This was the before:

The rusty sieve that I used to sieve small pieces of left overs when I washed the dishes and the cooking pots. Nice if brand new but after a month or so becomes rusty and many holes.

IMG_20200509_120852.jpg

I bought a new sieve I think just last month, then this old one I threw it into our garbage bin, but ahehehe, I got it back because I knew in the future I will use it. This is that moment. Since last friday actually I was thinking what will I share to the needleworkmonday community? I can't think of any project because all my work-in-progress not yet done.

Yesterday, when I arranged my things I saw this rusty sieve, a mandala pop up into my mind. Inspiration strike. I got the scissor cut the center of the sieve then all around until no more sharp wires.

IMG_20200509_132733.jpg

Then, got the yarn and little by little cover the sieve edges.

IMG_20200511_153641.jpg

IMG_20200512_015004.jpg

Then, I crocheted first the handle...

Screenshot_20200511_092425.jpg

On the third row I omitted 2 stitch so it formed the hole. When done, sewed the stitches for firmness.

Thankful I saw my abandoned project a year ago, the daisy flower, it fits the hollow sieve. Hahaha, there really is time for everything to use. Imagine I crocheted this flower last year.

IMG_20200511_164621.jpg

Here is the link to my YouTube Channel.How I made the large daisy.

Also, thankful before the lock down I bought a dozen of laundry clips, now I used to clip the daisy to the sieve circle.

IMG_20200511_165556.jpg

I hand sewed the daisy mandala all around the edges. Result: instant daisy mandala! I plan to attach my printed picture to this mandala as photo hanged wall decor. Oh, di ba?

May you like my recycling, reuse and re-do project.

Reminder: think twice before throwing things.

IMG_20200503_133538.jpg

Thank you at @gremayo who made my footer.

Thank you much @crosheille the founder of @needleworkmonday together with her ever active hosts @marbely @shanibeer @muscara
Plus the Community, of course.

IMG_20200512_023023.jpg

received_709825929767277.gif

Thank you much @kennyroy for this Hive footer.

PS: the tag should be needleworkmonday but I clicked the needlework, when I click to delete, I can not delete it. Thanks for understanding.

Sort:  

Aba.. Husay... I remember 1 lady who knows stitch the same of what you are doing right now. But I can't remember her username? She is really good and selling all her goods in market.

Hmm, maybe you can find her at needlework community...thanks for dropping by...

I will try to find her...

Muy buena idea. Gracias por compartir

Gracias for dropping by...

Ang galing talaga nman creative mind..

Thanks Neng for dropping by...

 4 years ago  

This is really cool! You have lots of hanging ornaments now :) Oh you know, you can get one of those steel brushes to clean the rust away first.

Thanks @ marblely hmm why I did'nt think about using the steel brush we have one here use during Soil Boring Test.