22 hours of silk quilting – sewing a dress part I

Every project is born in one first glimpse of an idea.
A thought. A problem. An encounter.

Most times the idea my sewing projects are born in, is a need or want; The basic and rather self-centred wish to wear a certain garment, that I do not own.

One morning I get up, look at my closet and nothing appeals to be worn. In the same moment a desire for a particular piece, fabric or colour is growing in my head. The idea is coming in stories. Random stories about places or moments that I want to fill in by sort of designing the costume for this specific scene.
Which results in me going through my fabric supplies and starting to sew that thing I want to wear.

That’s how it goes most of the times.

But what do you do if you reach the point of satisfaction?

If you have enough?

Enough clothes, enough to wear, enough colours. No more need and no more gaps to fill.

Maybe you want to start focussing rather on the method than on the result?

Those where my recent thoughts and that’s where this new project was born.

More specifically in the question:

Which sewing related technique is the most complicated, time consuming but requiring minimal equipment?

While I am letting my gaze wander around, my head full of thoughts and questions I must have encountered the unmissable pile of silk shirts I accumulated over the last year or so.

The question and the pile of silk merged and resulted in a long, quilted silk dress.

The pattern of the dress is very simple. It is basically two squares joined together.

Making the squares should be the challenge.

About quilting, I have no experience, no clue. All I know is a few results of experienced quilters I have seen of thousands of fabric pieces joined together, creating a new pattern.
Leaving me with an impression of huge admiration for the patience, but not really with the desire to try myself.
But that was exactly what I was looking for. A process so slow and time consuming that I could never make it through in a rush.

Maybe some sort of self-inflicted meditation exercise?

Cutting apart all the shirts was very satisfying.

The first shirt I cut into even stripes.

Got rid of all the seams and buttons and tags, until I had only plain fabric left.

What time was this when H&M sold silk shirts, I wonder?

Then a quiet and endless procedure started.

Cutting stripes.

Cutting edges.

Pinning.

Twenty-four times, because that’s how many squares I was intending to make.

Sewing the squares together.

Ironing.

Sewing again.

This time with silk thread, of course.

And back to the beginning again.

I lost count of how many times I repeated this circle.

I did listen to an audiobook all the way. And this is how I can tell you how much actual time I have invested in this project, so far.

22 hours.

…and I am nowhere near finished.

Even though the objective was to focus on the process and not the outcome, I can’t wait to run through a birch forest in this dress.

Imagine the white long dress floating around the white bark of the trees. Occasional sprouting green, the plants, that wake up from their winter sleep. Feet running on dark green moos and the brown fern, a remaining of the last year.

Then I am thinking a kimono might be another appropriate shape for all those squares?
But can you run through birch trees in a kimono?

Thank you all for stopping by, have a wonderful week!

All photos and words are mine, taken and written by me.

Sort:  

I never thought I'd say this but you just made sewing cool.

Hahah that is a pretty good statement!! Glad to hear sewing can look cool:)

Ooh, how wonderful your project, dearest @kesityu.fashion !!

I adore quilting, and have been mulling for a VERY long time over an idea - though I might not make it from scratch like you are doing - there are a lot of nice duvets in the market, which I might invest in one day - or taking apart an old duvet that I have, and covering it with a beautiful fabric, like silk! I LOVE the idea of an oversized winter coat made out of a quilted duvet/ bedcover... But yes! Also thinking of smaller things, making the filled quilting myself - yum!

It's a fabulous technique too, using squares and building textile like this - it has such beauty... I can imagine a gorgeous kimono, indeed - and why not run through the birch woods - or maybe the beech woods? - in a kimono: are they not often doing that in films?? :-D

Either way, I cannot wait to see how your fabric progresses - I adore seeing how you work, always! Much love!

I LOVE the idea of an oversized winter coat made out of a quilted duvet/ bedcover...

Yeeess!! Absolutely! I had that thought in my mind for quiet a while too:) ...towards next winter?!

Meanwhile I am not sure if I would do it again, from scratch, haha, first it is exiting to cut all the stripes and pieces, but at a certain stage you start to question why you cut them just to sew them back together..😅

Ahh sand, woods, beach yes that could work too:) the only thing I am missing in the kimono is the fabric floating around the feet and the floor...🙃

Just tie your kimono tighter and run Lola run...don't ask how I know. 😂

Hopefully I am not crashing with the trees...🌳🐎

Very creative work, I am inspired from your sewing work, nice dress

Thank you!! well that is very nice to hear:)

https://leofinance.io/threads/@thetimetravelerz/re-leothreads-2rrq68kjf
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people ( thetimetravelerz ) sharing the post on LeoThreads,LikeTu,dBuzz.

 last year  

I love your photography work that adorns the narrative of your project. Great patchwork job you are doing with these beautiful fabrics. Preserving neatness they will look beautiful in any project. Have a good Monday! 😃

Thank you😊 ...that is very reassuring, I'll see what I really end up making of these! And you too have a very good weekend!!

Ooooooo I love a good to be continued...

...continued for sure! finished, maybe:)

Congratulations @kesityu.fashion! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 3000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 4000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal