Flowers in the fields - an ongoing upcycling project.

in NeedleWorkMonday11 months ago (edited)

How linear is your closet?

What do I mean by that?

In which ways are your clothes flowing? In and out? Back again? In a circle?

A straight line seems to be the most effective way these days and maybe therefore gets chosen most often. There is a start and a finish line, and they are both well defined. Even the points in between do not let much room for error. That’s what I mean by linear.

And how would that work in a closet?

The clothes get produced, you buy them, you store them, the lucky ones get worn often and some don’t even make it into the streets. Sooner or later, you decide to get rid of them is it a hole, falling apart or just a change of your mood? The journey ends in the bin.

Maybe in the recycle bin, which would add a curve to the line. The piece of clothing might get reused, resold, redistributed.

How about a circle?

The term “circular fashion” appeared in the corners of my eyes while strolling through the internet. Interesting!

The easiest circle I can imagine is just to pick up those clothes and reuse them. Upcycle them, give them another life, another chance. I might as well do that by reselling them in a flea market.

Weather I want to be creative, work with my hands or not. Inventing another circle and another direction to take in this linear journey.

How many circles could we take?

Or how many new lifes can I give to one piece of garment?

Since I am already into upcycling, and because we always want more of everything, I was wondering; how many times could I upcycle the same garment?

This question appeared to me while I am unpicking seams of a flower-printed leggings.

I am unpicking the seams.

Getting the rubber waits band out.

What association does that bright flower pattern bring up in you?

Kindergarten?

Beach?

Eighties?

The neckline will be between the legs.

I go for V, even though I prefer round.

But I want to try something different this time.

Sometimes it takes many approaches until a garment really fits you.

You could be lucky. Buy it, wear it and it becomes your new favourite, all matching piece for the next 7years.

Or you buy it, knowing that it won’t fit you yet. Must shorten it, widen it, lose weight first.

Maybe you sew the piece all together and only realize after wearing it once or twice, that there are still adjustments to make and gaps to fix. It didn’t turn out that perfect in the first round.

And maybe you buy leggings on a flea market. Because for some reason the pattern is unique and crazy enough to catch your eye. But then it takes you days to figure out whether you will wear them as such (leggings) or turn them into a top. After that you will take them on an upcycling journey, wear them as a top for a while…

…playing “flower inbetween the grass”.

Why stop there, why not adding another circle? Another upcycle? In how many different ways could I wear that same piece of clothing?

Now, how linear is your closet? And how many circles can you add to the life of one garment?

Thank you all for stopping by, all your support and comments are much appreciated, have a lovely week!

All photos and words are mine, written and taken by me. Part of my inspiration for thoughts used here are coming from here with @clareartista and here with @honeydue thanks for the inspiration;).

Sort:  

This is a very nice post. Thanks for sharing

That's such a fantastic way to upcycle a pair of leggings. I always try to give mine another life. I will mend them until they fall apart and if I can't use them for another piece of clothing, I cut them up and make doll clothing for my niece's toy dolls. There's always another way to reuse material. Love the leggings top, you did a great job.

Thank you!!
...definitely there is always something to make, especially the smaller it gets like one adult leggins is like 10 for a doll:D
Well now you have a new version of what to make with them, thanks for stopping by!!

 11 months ago  

It's great to have enough imagination to reuse what has been reused. Using the garments as much as possible is making them count until the end. I liked this top made from a legging, I learned about this trick a few years ago in my teens. With the same idea, we transformed translucent and torn long stockings into transparent long-sleeved tops to wear under shirts. At the time that was very cool.

Greetings Ketsiyu, have a good week!! :)

Thank you!!😊
...ooh yes I remember those!! And even adding holes as the design, that was very cool indeed:)
Have a lovely week too💕

Looooooooveee your circular sewing activities and this post, dearest @kesityu.fashion !!

YES! 😍

I love especially when I take apart something that was originally handmade, and can feel as if I am sharing a kitchen table with the woman who made the garment first! I adore this! And I love when I make something even when it is not so successful - perhaps because I was on a steep learning curve, or trying too hard to manifest an idea I'd seen somewhere else - and then later on, I find a better way of remaking it.

I love when there are more layers - and I LOVE freeing up the idea of a piece of clothing being precious because it was expensive (have not bought new clothes for years, and almost all my clothing comes from the 50c stall!) - and making it instead much-more-precious because it has been so carefully deconstructed and then recreated...

Beauuuuuutiful photos of beautiful you!

Thank you so much, that was absolutely lovely to read😊🙃
Very mutual inspiration indeed, its wonderful!!
...I guess we add the expensiveness with all the dedication, love and work that goes into the garment, as in the ones that used to be sewn around the kitchen tables:)
💜

OOOh, and I didn't see my mention in your small print at the end of your post here!! I am SO GLAD to inspire you dearest @kesityu.fashion !! Mutually-beneficial-inspiring!!

I finally get to see the upcycled top you made out of that beautiful floral pattern, and the V neckline is perfect for it, you inspire me to try my hands on upcycling projects.

Thank you!! That is awesome to hear:) well I would love to see you upcycling some clothes😉

Congratulations!
Very interesting this possibility of "circularity" given to clothes by upcycling.
Great idea to turn leggings into a magnificent floral top.
The photos are very beautiful, they do not, however, emphasize the splendid work you have done!

Thank you for this lovely comment!!
I am glad you liked it:)

How many times you made to remake one piece? :D
Circling could also be giving away things you aren't wearing anymore, question is what next person will do with it, also some ripped pieces ended as rags - but at that stage, you already know that's an dead end...

Flower pattern reminds me of '70s 🌸

As long as I love the outcome too much to keep going, or I give up😄
Yes, then becomes kind of a circle with an open end, maybe it becomes someone else's favourite piece or a rag... at least a rag, is still better than getting burned or burried...

Aaaha I forgot the 70's, true😊🌻

With this floral pattern, I would love to keep recycling this piece. It has a stretchy look, great for upcyling..

Kindergarten?Beach?Eighties?

The more I looked, the more it had a touch of each.

This was a really beautiful project and yes, the v neck fits perfectly.

!diy

Thats kind of how it makes me feel too😄

Thank you for stopping by and for your lovely words!

You're very much welcome lovely.

@wongi just sent you a DIY token as a little appreciation for your post dear @kesityu.fashion! Feel free to multiply it by sending someone else !DIY in a comment :) You can do that x times a day depending on your balance so:

Don't be shy - share some DIY!

You can query your personal balance by !DIYSTATS