What’s first, the story or the dress?

Telling stories through fashion.

What’s first, the story or the dress?

The story.

Each piece I sew, each garment I take apart to assemble it in a different way, every design I paint in my thoughts, origins from a story, a moment. Made up or real doesn’t matter. But there has to be a story.

I was walking through the busy streets of a Turkish seaside town. Jumping between the trottior and the Street, which ever bared more space at the instant I passed. Trying not to get run over by some recklessly driving scooters. I am already distracted by everything that happens around me. Shop windows, the way people dress in the street, checking out a little restaurant and what is on peoples plates, a huge tree in the corner leading to the next street.

Thats when I see her! The car of my dreams!

An old golden Renault, looking like a proper car from a children-book, square shaped, four wheels. Just like any kid or person not into cars would draw one. But the colour is what really got me. Who doesn’t want to drive a golden car? That would make the driving a whole different experience. Closer to being carried in a precious coach than driving a car on the highway, getting annoyed at expensive gas prices.

Thats where the story came from.

I would have to wear a headscarf knotted under my chin, sixties style, with some fancy sun glasses. The other halve of our expedition team would have to grow a moustache. And maybe wear something like a linen shirt. Then we would buy some Turkish carpets and maybe some kitsch coffee cups, to drive back to Europe. Unrolling our carpet whenever we pass a beautiful spot, just to have a coffee, an apéro or a picnic on that carpet, next to our golden Renault.

My scenario burst, into “not going to happen” when I heard about Turkish car prices. Insane!

I still got the sunglasses and the headscarf.

My aunt, well knowing about my silk obsession, gifted me this piece of fabric.

It gloriously fits my very minimal wardrobe, that started to drift into earthy tones, lately.

Tempted to sew something fancy with this piece of silk, I started to wear it as a shawl. “Inspiration will follow.” I thought. As you already know, Inspiration came, and that was to leave the piece as it is.

But the edges where fraying out terribly.

Which didn’t fit into the story at all.

I choose a few embroidery threads.

Somewhere between matching and contrasting.

Sorry, Roberto Cavalli, you have to leave now.

Stitches all around.

Three rows.

A few long hours of stitching after dawn.

Trying on the results in the sunlight.

I didn’t yet get the whole story together. But I am wearing my flower printed headscarf with fancy glasses, wandering along the sea shore. Wondering if I will ever drive an old golden Renault through eastern Europe.

So what's first, the story or the dress?

It is a pleasure to have you all passing by, Thank you!

All photos and words are my own, taken and written in the last week.

Sort:  

The story and the dress go together and drive off in old golden Renault that has instead of headlights, large fancy sunglasses.

Sorry, Roberto Cavalli, you have to leave now.

I found it so funny how you casually toss that in. Lovely stitiching. I want to go play with my many colours of embroidery floss now.

😎🚗🌄...that works too!

(😁...he was in the way)

The colours of embroidery yarn are so inspiring!! I have only them with me now, also for sewing...maybe that just "forces" me to find pleasure in hand stitching everything all over the place..

(😁...he was in the way)

😂

The colours of embroidery yarn are so inspiring!!

I've loved them since I was a child, the colours, the shinyness, the way they feel, soft, inviting. I also use them for sewing. It's funny you say it forces you to find pleasure in handstiching 😂; I like it that that is what you experience. Maybe I'm too fond of handwork and therefore biased.

A golden Renault! Yet another side of the coin!!!

Isn't it? The cat & salty peanut butter would fit in that one as well...😁

LOL! For reals! Not just typing like this 😐

I wish!! mabye another time...

Oh, I love your story! Yes, driving a golden Renault, a must have scarf and sunglasses and a coffee on a carpet wherever the landscape is nice...now we´re talking.

...the right fabric at the right time😘🌸💜 (and we'll work on the car later!)

Oooh, so gorgeous, dearest @kesityu.fashion - and I fell in love with an ancient golden Rolls Royce once, which I saw in a garage at the edge of the big park in the middle of Edinburgh: I hadn't quite learned to drive yet, but was already thinking of how to get my first motor - and this had such a glorious feel to it... Hey; maybe I will paint my Suzuki WagonR gold, to symbolise its sovereignty! :-D

😍

Your post is just glorious: I love your stitching, and your story - and the sense of where the new garment comes from... I suppose mine come from stories too: perhaps, from untold stories - and maybe I'll tell them, inspired by your speaking out yours! I love the idea of creating new scenarios and uses for clothing - giving ourselves creative permission to dream up a beautiful scene and to be equipped for it with our magical clothes... mmmmmm - yum!

Oooh yess!! ...and I guess any car would probably look better in golden😁 Especially when the person getting out is dressed accordingly, and with that we wouldn't have any issues!!

💜...that is great to hear!! I was, again thinking of you while sewing by hand, and I find myself in it more and more, maybe I am getting better at being even slower, or more patient? - or its just the days getting colder and shorter, that makes hand sewing even more romantic😊

  • giving ourselves creative permission to dream up a beautiful scene and to be equipped for it with our magical clothes

Yes!!! 💛 😊

Both the story and the scarf 🧣 goes hand in hand. I love scarf too, colorful ones at that. I have to wear scarf to church every Sunday and have thought of various style to cover my head.

Your aunt did gift you something beautiful and I love silk too, thank goodness you are far away I would have stolen this 😅

That's one nice heming with different threads rather than just weaving it in using a machine.
Plus I was hoping that I will see the that dream car too.

There are so many beautiful ways to use a scarf😊

Hahah, indeed she got it right😁

Thank you💛 Ah I missed the chance to take a picture of it...

I totally how difficult taking pictures in the street can get

It can be indeed! Especially of people (or yourself)...

For me, it's the story, the dress and the photos.
Your story is really creative as is the scarf.
The scarf is giving rich Auntie vibes though

Thank you😊 thats very nice to hear🌸