You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Visible Invisible - an exhibition with art and excitement

Super interesting. Women's roles in society have always been one of my subjects. Duh. I am a woman. :)
And aging and becoming invisible is for sure a topic of the day for me.
I find it interesting that you used the hood and cover as a power symbol for women. Especially, since many Muslim women are ridiculed and attacked for wearing their cover - something that is supposed to assure your equality by not making their beauty the reason for success.
Very interesting exhibit.
I am also fascinated by the roots from all over the world.
I hope you have many, many visitors!

Sort:  
 2 years ago (edited) 

Thank you so much for your comment and for sharing your thoughts.
I also love the artwork of Silvia Müller with all the roots. They are so different, some with thorns, some thin and fragile, some very sturdy full of old moss. She collected them mostly in Spain, Italy and in Germany.
and with the topic of getting old as woman... I sometimes could hit people when I speak about this. So many do not recognise the problems with less visibility at all. Or that most medication is still tested on men or that women are held to different standards regarding appearance and age... or or or... they are so used to societies "norms" that they feel it’s the only possible reality. Argh... you see I can instantly ramble :-DD
And with the "veiling" clothes, I thought it was time to change the narrative. That women are allowed to be super flamboyantly and visible but could also decide themselves to not show their features and both should be respected.

Love all you said. We should do a podcast together on women, and women and aging and such...

 2 years ago  

This is a wonderful idea… only I cannot speak english properly (If you hear me talking you would either cry or laugh 😱)

Practice makes perfect lol - or we try in German. Even though it is my mother language, I have lived immersed in English for so long that I speak broken German now 🤪