Made My Own Curtains And Saved Lots Of Money

in NeedleWorkMonday4 years ago


Andalucia 1.jpg

We have plenty of sunny days in Andalusia , which is almost everyday of the year.. I say everyday because even if it rains in the morning, it will surely be sunny after the rain. Sometimes it´s the other way around. When we built our house there, we saw to it that we put a lot of windows to make use of the daylight. And so we installed double glazed windows to fight the heat in Summer and also to reduce the cold temperature inside the house during wintertime. We live up in the mountain and sometimes the rays of the sun can be glaring. And so, we needed curtains.

andalucia 2.jpg

The ones I am sharing here are the two curtains I made for the staircase area of the house. I have two windows, one big and one small... and I scouted my curtain materials in a very small shop down the coast. The fabric design is called Toile de Jouy and had been exactly what I was looking for.

andalucia 3.jpg

It is expensive to have the curtains made by a shop... so I made all the curtains myself. Since I do a lot of crafting, making the curtain is one of the projects for the house and I saved a lot of money instead of having them custom made.

andalucia 4.jpg

The curtain bands were brought along from Austria. This is very handy to use since you only have to pull the string and the fabric is pleated depending on the type of band one chooses.

5.jpg

Here, I used the pencil type of band which is then sewn into the top side of the curtain. The band itself has some slits either for the hooks or for the plastic holder.. I used a black metal curtain rail which I bought from a chinese store, the rail is complete with rings and these rings were used to hang the hooks.

6.jpg

Basting the edges of the fabric is the best way to achieve a professional look and everything will be straight before the edges are sewn to its place. And besides, the curtains were already halfway done when everything is prepared beforehand.

7.jpg

I hope you got some idea the next time you decide to make the curtain for your home.

I am thanking the admins of this Community namely:@crosheille, @muscara @marblely and @shanibeer for initiating and hosting #needleworkmonday. If you are a crafter, this community is for you! Do follow @needleworkmonday and start posting your projects too!

Happy Needlework Monday!

GIF created by @gremayo

Sort:  
 4 years ago  

THis looks lovely, and the window with your wonderful curtains promise a amazing house! By the way, I write this sitting on the window still (first floor, so I have to be careful) and looking into a blue sky. Here it is cold right now, but we also have a glaring sun.

Thank you ... it is also cold where I am now. Our temperatures fell down to minus degree yesterday so that the water in my watering cans were frozen... Thanks for a lovely comment.

Really beautiful!