The Creative Ladies of Torrox Village

in NeedleWorkMondaylast month

IMG_20240327_195851.jpg

Hey there, everyone! It's been a while since I last dropped by. Right now, I'm soaking up the sun or shall I say rain, in Southern Spain, and I've been exploring Torrox Pueblo (Village) lately. I wanted to catch up on the latest buzz about the village's famous attraction: a community of homeowners who've adorned their front yards with stunning flowering plants. It's a sight that draws in countless visitors and tourists, and I just had to see it for myself!

IMG_20240327_100348.jpg

During my visit to this front yard, I was amazed to see the creative touch added by the ladies of this group. They had ingeniously crafted crochet shades in the form of granny squares, all with the same motif. These were skillfully crocheted together to provide some much-needed shade, particularly during the scorching summer days. It was a charming and practical addition to the already beautiful setting.

IMG_20240327_195914.jpg
When I visited here last year, the shades were only in square form. However, about two weeks ago, I learned that they were adding the finishing touch: umbrellas, all crocheted by the talented members of the group. As I returned, I witnessed the final result - they had hung the umbrellas atop, adding even more shades to the area. It was a delightful evolution of the decoration since my last visit.

IMG_20240327_100435.jpg

I've observed that they're also gearing up to create crocheted mandalas, with hanging circles all set and waiting to be filled with the imaginative designs of the creative ladies. It's exciting to see the diverse array of crafts taking shape in this vibrant community.

IMG_20240327_100456.jpg

IMG_20240327_200110.jpg

And now, as you can see, they've completed all the umbrellas and crocheted mandalas. The area now exudes an atmosphere as though a festive celebration is just on the brink of starting, warmly welcoming the arrival of Springtime.

I hope this post serves as inspiration for all of you to embark on similar creative projects like this one. Let your imagination flourish and bring beauty to your own communities!

HAPPY FIRST OF APRIL !

xoxo,
Mers

6. GIF by @Gremayo.gif

GIF by @gremayo
All images are by @mers
Sort:  

This is stupendously beautiful, dear @mers ! Thank you so much for sharing it, and your insight into its evolution - it is SUCH a gorgeous and perfect use of yarnbombing and planting... this is such an inspiration for me: I wish my town were more motivated to do such things - and perhaps I'll do something myself to begin...
😍😍😍😍
😍😍😍😍
😍😍😍😍

Thank you so much for a wonderful comment. Yes, I hope this will be an inspiration to others to start such a beautiful project... Have a nice day!

Yes! I shared it on Facebook in a community of locals and stranieri, who are interested in rejuvenating our medieval quarter (which was mostly abandoned until I came here and inspired a load of foreigners to join in): our town could soooo benefit from such an effort - and this town looks utterly fabulous.. Maybe I can help encourage a resurgence of the old skills that have been dying out in past decades... Let's hope!

😍

Very well my dear, that´s a wonderful gesture from you. Thank you!

I love the colorful crocheted umbrellas and mandalas. It exudes a very festive atmosphere.

Thank you for dropping by.. I'd like to make such project but I only have a balcony at my home base.

I love this so much! It's really beautiful. Do you know what kind of yarn they use for these? I wonder what would hold up the best for such projects.

Hello my dear! As I have seen it, they used acrylic yarn. But for the umbrella, they used cotton. The acrylic yarn is probably more durable than cotton for the shade because it rains a lot in Andalusia nowadays. Thanks for passing by.

Salamat Po ate sa pag share Ng magandang blog about sa lugar mo Po. Ingat po lagi.