Creative Mixing of different Designs to make a dress, How to draft a perfect bodice pattern for your outfits

Hello Hive

IMG_5015.jpeg

There is one attribute of perfectionists that I am beginning to see in my own life too. I never get satisfied with the design of clothes I make for myself, always wishing that every little detail of the cloth would be perfect. Maybe because it is one way I use to sell my designs and handwork. I don't wish to see a single mistake on my clothes; I want neat stitches, cutting, weaving, and even embellishment. When people see flaws in our handwork, it drives them away from patronizing our business, and as an upcoming designer, we have to pay attention to the details of our work.

IMG_5040.jpeg

Today I wanted to design a dress for myself for an upcoming wedding this weekend. A fellow hiver is tying the knot, and we are going there to celebrate her.
The common clothes for everyone are out, just like we often do for our culture here. I want to appear spectacular and in a design that will call attention (one good way to seel my business is to often appear great in stunning designs that draws people's attention).
Wishing to make something different from the norm, I had tried a combination of two different designs for my clothes.

  • A monostrap for the back bodice combined with a
  • Sweetheart neck from the front bodice

IMG_4796.jpeg

As a norm, we often sew either of the two designs separately, but I wanted to see what the combinations of the two would look like.

To make this, I created a basic bodice pattern for both the front and back.

Front pattern

IMG_4821.jpeg

Back pattern

IMG_4825.jpeg

In order to make this, I drafted a perfect pattern in this manner.

IMG_4794.jpeg

On the front block, I measured the bust, waist, and underbust, creating a 1" dart at the bust and shoulder for counting.

I did some underbust fighting with 2" as you can see on the pattern.

IMG_4804.jpeg

And the back was a simple pattern in which I used my wood curve to create the monostrap line since the plastic curve is shorter.

IMG_4800-1.jpeg

IMG_4811-1.jpeg

My pattern is perfect and ready.
With this, I will have little to no mistakes with my outfits.
Next, I used the pattern to cut my fabric here.

IMG_4824-1.jpeg

IMG_4831-1.jpeg

IMG_4820-1.jpeg

I added some stay to make it stiffer and went ahead to stitch them up.

Having done all that above, the simple design I have added to this is yet another tulle net of white color for the yoke. To see if this brings out some vital and beautiful details for the dress, I decided to use white as opposed to green and other colors on the dress, which will blend into the color of the dress when I'm done sewing. The white is sharp and bright yet.

IMG_4834.jpeg


IMG_4837.jpeg

More details are coming up on the dress as I am preparing it for the wedding coming up this weekend.

IMG_5019.jpeg

I have used the whole of yesterday to make this, and I am really tired waking up this morning.
Every little detail of our outfits matters and i hope that this one will give out the impression i wish that it makes.

Sort:  

I still don’t get why I can see everyone’s pictures and not yours
Mmmm🥲

Woah...
And nobody has complained of this before ...
I will try and find out.

Alright

Another brilliant creation!

I showed a few of my work mates your blog at work the other night and showed them some of the amazing outfits that you have created and they were all blown away by how talented you are and so inspired by you!

Wow, I'm so happy to hear this and more pleased that you remember me even at work, I really appreciate this.

Oh I have told far more people about you and your talents that you can imagine!

Simply because you are such an inspiration!

wow the dress looks so beautiful, the colour combination is great.

Lovely work and It really good work and the finishing is gorgeous addition to the style applied

Thanks alot dear

Hello friend, I also think like you, we have to do everything the best we can. The garments we make speak of our work.

This combination of patterns is looking very nice and sure you are going to make an impact in that wedding of your friend.

The design is great, I like the cut, the tell fits you very well, elegant.

It's always a pleasure to read you.



Hola amiga, también pienso como tu, hay que hacer todo lo mejor posible. Las prendas que realizamos hablan de nuestro trabajo.

Esta combinación de patrones te está quedando muy lindo y seguro vas a impactar en esa boda de tu amiga

El diseño está genial, me gusta su corte, el tell le queda muy bien, elegante.

Siempre es un gusto leerte.

Hey dear I do not see any detail that is not of beauty to your designs I see that you are worrying a lot when you are so professional in design and manufacture, this dress to attend the wedding of your friend is splendid is an elegant reserved design, with that striking touch, especially I love the heart neckline ideal for that special moment, I'm thinking of making a blouse with that kind of neckline that I love.

I'm sure there will be many admiring your dress and wanting one just like it.❤️