DIY of an off shoulder African print fabric dress

Hello Hive

Making children's outfit is one of the challenging work I have found around the fashion industry.

Larger adults clothes are kind of easy for me to handle while the small measurement for children clothes makes everything looks so small.

Imagine making a year old baby's dress and you have a sleeve length of 2inches and possibly waist 15 and the likes, its really small and you squeeze your fingers to hold them properly.

My sis just put to bed and gave me a bouncing baby niece, she wants me to make a dress for this below a year old baby, though am willing to try it but I decided to practice more of children's cloth using her older sister first.

I made an off shoulder dress with a cut together sleeve and low back neckline.

Screenshot_20211020-061339.png

The fabric is not that attractive or one with those lovely colors I admire so it took me awhile to decide on design will bring out the best out of the fabric.

Photo Mixer1634707436606.jpg

And this is what I have been able to do so far even though i started this work yesterday.

The cutting and sewing part is completed remaining a single aspect the embroidery part.

Making a dress is one thing while adding embroidery and flowers to give it a perfect finishing touches is another aspect entirely.

Am still thinking of which color of flowers to use and all that. Blue brown or cream as seen on the fabric?

Which color do you suggest?

Here is my working pattern, with both the back and front block together

img_1634707062276.jpg

And here is the work in progress sewing and the rest of them.

img_1634707016844.jpg

Note that most of this African print fabrics have to be lined and the upper bodice needs interfacing to keep the fabric firm on the body.

IMG_20211019_163731_998.jpg

Would you like to enjoy some photoshoot, my baby stood as a model even though she is a novice and can't even give me the best posture, meanwhile she has thesame measurement as her my niece and they can wear each others cloth.

IMG_20211019_160710_660.jpg


IMG_20211019_160831_558.jpg


IMG_20211019_170233_337.jpg


IMG_20211019_170037_673.jpg

I guess I did a good job with this fabric or what do you think?

Sort:  

Oh..I like how you turned the fabric into an offshoulder dress, the heart shaped neckline is very sexy and elegant-looking. 😊

Thanks dearie. ❤

Hello, God bless you, I love how you transformed that dress, very good your creativity, the girl looks very cute with it, worthy of a princess.

Thanks sweetie, I love your charm.
Shalom and sweet dreams.

The model is exquisite and looks great on you. I really like your work!!!

Awwn.. This made me blush.
Thanks sis

It's really Beautiful, you've done an amazing job thanks for sharing