How I had made Mistakes in my first time sewing a night wear.

in NeedleWorkMonday3 months ago

Hello Hive

IMG_0209.jpeg

It's time to learn something new today again away from the norm I decided to cut and sew a night wear today. There are various aspect to fashion designing and while everyone might know how to cut and sew there are basic thing we need to learn while making outfits in the different lines of fashion.

There are guidelines for sewing ready to wear and some various tips that makes neat sewing possible.
I have learnt that we cannot get some of these rules unless we learn from a tutor.
Hence there are upgrade courses that a seasmtress should attend everyone and then, it adds to one knowledge and understanding of fashion .

Today I decide to bypass all these protocols to see if I can use my discretion to sew a night wear.

IMG_0221.jpeg

It's time to do something different I have picked up this poccal dot fabric from the store to make this
And then again since it was valentine period I decided to add a touch of red to it.

I love to ask people questions about color combinations since it always giving me concern

IMG_0172.jpeg

A friend of mine insisted that I sew the black top alone or if I was going to add anything else it should be a touch of white.

But my heart kept telling me otherwise, I decided to follow my heart and paradvebture this doesn't come out nice I will lose the Seam and re do this .

First I cut the short of 14inches length since it is a night wear

IMG_0183.jpeg

Next was the top, all of the measurements used were a guessed work. Next I had equally cut all the strips needed for the sleeves and to tape the edges of night wear

IMG_0185.jpeg

IMG_0191.jpeg

Those were done then i did a bit of ironing since the fabric was badly folded..
Having started with fixing the camisoles strip

IMG_0194-1.jpeg

IMG_0198.jpeg

I moved to sewing the short
Adding the red band round the waist.

Having sewn this this far I have noticed some of the mistake I made while making this.
The sleeve strips are too wide,a thinner one would have been better.

Next I added some paper stay to the strip making it very hard and may be uncomfortable as a night wear.

IMG_0194.jpeg

The red silk fabric wasn't staying firm and was giving me a hard time that was why I had added the stay which made everything stiffer and worst.

The best thing would have been to weave the edges of the strips and everything would have been perfect.

IMG_0213.jpeg


IMG_0222.jpeg


IMG_0219.jpeg

Well I'm glad that I didn't listen to my friend since I like the outcome of the touch of red on the nighty There is always a first time to everything and I'm glad to have learnt how to make this even though it comes with a lot of mistake as a first trail.

Sort:  

The moment you said you were by passing all protocols to use your discretion
I said interesting
Mistakes are what make us who we are
I’m also glad you learned something from this and I know your subsequent night wear will be better

Yes baby girl
Thanks for the kind words

You’re welcome ☺️

The good thing is that you learned from it, I think that for a thin strap a measurement that always works is a width of 4 cm when folded it looks very good, although to sew it you have to have a lot of patience, perhaps it would be good to iron the fabric before cutting it, in My experience when I ironed later I found more errors. the touch of red looks very good :3

Mistakes are always bound to happen without them we would never learn better, mistake is always a stepping stone for us to improve better on something. The playsuit came out beautiful🥰🥰