Learning How to sew a Shirt and Making my first ever Collar Shirt

in NeedleWorkMonday25 days ago (edited)

Hello Hive

IMG_5436.jpeg

We may never get perfect with some things but it is only fair to keep trying, someday our luck will shine ✨
It will amaze you to know that ever since I started learning how to sew and have been making different types of designs, I have not once sewn a collar shirt. I always find it difficult to do, and when I tried my first attempt, making the collar ruined the shirt. Ever since then, I have never tried it again.

IMG_5445-2.jpeg

Shirts are one of those outfits we find very easy to wear; you can wear them fashionably with a pant or short.Some of my friends have asked me to sew them a two-piece outfit before, which consists of a shirt and a short, but I often turn them down because I am not so confident about making the collar sit nicely on the shirt. A nice collar is often the beauty of shirts.

Screenshot_20240429-131654.jpg

A few days ago, I admired a shirt on one of my friends. I even went ahead and asked her to allow me to access the shirt. I looked at it critically and thought about how to learn and make something similar.

Although there are so many tutorials on the internet, sometimes I try to avoid them because some of the tutorials are not detailed enough, and if one follows such a guide, we will never get it right.

IMG_5289.jpeg

IMG_5307.jpeg

While I was home yesterday and having completed my work on the garden with my sister, I decided to give this another try to sew a shirt with a collar and see if it would be better and different from the first one I ruined and don't wish for anyone to laugh at me so it never made it to hive😂.

I took out my fabric and pattern to start work. I totally understand the benefits of working with paper patterns first; they help me eliminate a lot of errors in my cutting and even in the sewing.
Here I made a shirt pattern using my measurements, adding some extra allowances at the front for the button holes.

IMG_5308.jpeg

IMG_5310.jpeg

I went ahead and stitched the paper pattern in order to better understand what I was doing.

Screenshot_20240429-131729.jpg

Screenshot_20240429-131713.jpg

The pattern was now transferred from paper to my fabric. Having cut the fabric My serger machine was used to secure the edges from fraying.
The stitching commenced.

IMG_5302.jpeg

IMG_5294.jpeg

Now, the difficult part was always the pattern. I needed to create a pattern with quality curves that would sit well around the neck.

IMG_5322.jpeg


IMG_5318.jpeg

I made a pattern that I felt would serve such a purpose well. I cut out the collar stand since that was the only part I needed. The full collar can be cut for other designs, but not for what I was making today.

Screenshot_20240429-131837.jpg

Having done that, the paper collar pattern I had created was then used to cut my fabrics. Here is the collar; I added a touch of black to it.

Screenshot_20240429-131851.jpg

Next, I have sewn the collar and secured the edges, then moved on to attach it to my clothes.

IMG_5399.jpeg

A simple sleeve will do for my shirt which is not a problem, I have cut that too and attacked it nicely to the armhole.

Screenshot_20240429-131745.jpg

This wasn't something I was expecting; it came out really neat and nice. Although the button allowance turned out to be smaller than what I had wanted, the shirt was good enough for me and I can always correct that shortcoming in my subsequent dresses.

Screenshot_20240429-131343.jpg

I feel so happy that next time I can make a shirt for anyone who comes around with more confidence. Truly, the experience of the years of sewing is now evident in the clothes I make. Been able to imagine analyze an outfit on someone and recreate it is a a positive breaking point. Some clothing designs can be so difficult that it takes some critical thinking before we can recreate them.

IMG_5429.jpeg

Gradually, I am beginning to learn the things I could not do in fashion before and can now make them chosing to give this a trial is the best thing that has happened to me this day

IMG_5435.jpeg

Thank you so much for stopping by and let me know about what you think of my shirt.

Sort:  

Hello. I'm glad to see your progress. Making shirts is not an easy task. The entire process is laborious. I love that print on the fabric.
I hope everything continues to turn out well and very nice. Greetings.

Thanks dear, I'm glad you understand

Shirt are one of my favourite project to make, no doubt appears difficult at first but gets easier as you make more, and soon you find yourself enjoying the making process.

You have an eye for beautiful fabric as well, I love this one.

Thank you.
This fabric did not stop calling me until I picked it.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

I love that print, because here there is no such model is not worth hehe, your shirt was very beautiful I congratulate you

 25 days ago  

I'm glad you were able to complete this project and make your collared shirt, I'm sure you'll soon be an expert with this type of blouse. Thanks for sharing your experience with us.

Thank you so much.