Quite a joyful moment making an Expectant Mother her maternity Outfit.

Hello Hive.

IMG_5826.jpeg

The sight of a baby bump will forever be a joyful thing to behold. Everyone around an expectant mother is often happy and wishes to do everything in their power to make her comfortable and safe. Both mother and fetus need to be protected from every discomfort until the delivery date. Their diet, exercise, and mode of dressing have to be comfortable.

IMG_5835.jpeg

The period is usually a trying time as some pregnancies do come with complications, and the fight to keep both mother and fetus alive until during pregnancy or even on labor day and after delivery is never easy. The sight of a healthy mother and child at delivery brings relief, as our happiness is now complete because, at this time, a new life has been added to the family.
IMG_5829.jpeg

While some mothers love to flaunt their pregnancies and baby bumps online with beautiful photoshoots and flamboyant tulle outfits, other expectant mothers love to hide their faces and stay offline, completely believing that there are poisonous people around who may not be genuinely happy for them and they need to keep their pregnancy a secret until the baby is born.

Yesterday I noticed a close relative with her emerging baby pump when she came visiting.And guess what brought her? She needs a new set of outfits that can contain her and the growing child.

Even though I just got back from Sunday service at midday quite exhausted and had planned my Sunday to get some quality sleep and rest, I had to help her with the outfit because it would be a joy for me to make her a comfortable outfit because of the baby she is carrying. I love babies and can go the extra mile to take care of them.

Screenshot_20240506-130157.jpg

She demanded a suggestion of what type of outfits to make and fabrics to buy. It is actually better to get some African-print fabrics in the face of inflation since they are much cheaper. And we got this for $2.

Then it was time for me to work.

The fabric had two different designs using the same color.
She is in the plus size range, and I wanted to work on this fabric without having to add linings, which will be an extra cost.
I was a bit confused since the hemming had other design and wonder if I should cut the fabric like that or fold it across the width.

Screenshot_20240506-130229.jpg

Eventually I concluded on something else entire and started by cutting and separating the two different patterns of fabric to see how I could use one to design the other, like a form of embellishment.

Screenshot_20240506-130246.jpg
Screenshot_20240506-130340.jpg

Next, I cut her full measurements, separating the front and back bodices.

Screenshot_20240506-130320.jpg

I folded each into two and decided to cut a boubou dress since it is usually made with a lot of fullness that can contain her growing baby bump.

Screenshot_20240506-130303.jpg

The fabric I had initially removed from the hem is now creatively used to turn the neckline and sew it into the middle of the dress.

Screenshot_20240506-130440.jpg

Screenshot_20240506-130426.jpg

Screenshot_20240506-130357.jpg

Screenshot_20240506-130414.jpg

Also adding the rest of the fabric to the hem of the sleeves. That made it look like a form of embellishment in the middle of the clothes and the hemmings.

Screenshot_20240506-125744.jpg

Before I could conclude sewing this, she had slept off on my sofa, and I just understood why. Upon waking up some hours later, she was happy to see her dress on the mannequin, feeling happy, and commented on how I had helped her budget by making this without purchasing any expensive accessories.

IMG_5865.jpeg

And also how I have turned the hem of the dress back into the middle, like some form of design.

Screenshot_20240506-125955.jpg

I was happy to make this even though i was exhausted After that, I was able to get some nap at twilight before going through the pages of a book I have hoped to read in this month of May.

Sort:  

and both design really blend with each other o, this is really nice and will surely cover her baby bump since it is body free. nice one

Thanks dear

Congratulations to the new mother-to-be,

You have done exceptionally well, especially with the combination, the dress style is beautiful and would look good on a pregnant mum.

Thank you dear.

What a nice tutorial, I guess you went to a combination school @monica-ene,😂😂😂 because this combination look special, I love the style, this mother is the lucky one, she will be proud of you dear, well done, best wishes

Thanks dear.
Have a blessed new week.

Thank you so much and you too

aha the outfit looks beautiful, thanks for sharing you are amazing. keep up the good work.

It is a beautiful maternity suit, you are sure to be very pleased!

Thank you for sharing your work!

Blessings 🙏

Thanks dearie, I appreciate you.