The Creative Process of How I designed a Master piece of Mermaid Skirt and a Blouse from Scrap Fabrics

in NeedleWorkMonday18 days ago (edited)

Hello Creativity Needless workers and Crocheters

Screenshot_20240413-102822.jpg

Today I made this lovely outfit all from scrap fabrics picked from my friends shop. I believe that most sew mates often throw away the pieces left when they have cut out the cloth designs they have made but every since I got better with my skills I enjoy making use of every fabric till the very last bit of it that can no longer be handle.
I hate waste and why would one throw off any pieces when the can still be manipulated to make something useful

Look at what I made from something that could have been thrown in a trash

Screenshot_20240413-104226.jpg


Screenshot_20240413-112200.jpg

Fabrics are very expensive these days. Instead of spending so much for purchasing new fabrics to practice my tailoring skill, for my needlework projects or even to make clothes for family, friends and the less privilege whom I often sew free clothes every now and then, this will be one less expensive way for me to get fabrics for all these purposes. My tailor friend allowed me to pick these scraps here for free.

Screenshot_20240413-102856.jpg

I started with designing the blouse, took out the measurements I need and created paper papers which often helps me to maximize the fabrics

Screenshot_20240413-102911.jpg


Screenshot_20240413-102920.jpg

Having cut the upper bodice I went ahead and sewed it including some embellishments on it here

Screenshot_20240413-102934.jpg

After sewing the upper bodice the fabric was now remaining in it's tiniest pieces that it cannot be joined to make another thing.
But we need a matching skirt to go with the blouse

Then I purchased one trouser length of a black fabric to make a the skirt. I wanted a mermaid skirt with some fullness at the base
To make this I had a pattern drafter with waist 28" and hip34"

Screenshot_20240413-103946.jpg

Next I used the slash and spread method cutting through the center of the paper to the knee length. Since the fabric was only 1trouser I maximized this to give me the the amount of fullness achievable

Screenshot_20240413-104007.jpg

Then I had this cut out adding zipper allowance to the back

Screenshot_20240413-104041.jpg

Screenshot_20240413-103856.jpg

Now it was time to create the dart lines and pick darts on the skirt of course you know that darts adds the beauty of contouring process to our outfits

Screenshot_20240413-103339.jpg

After joining the seamlines of the skirt. I had a black matching skirt to go with my outfits but I wasn't satisfied with the outcome and thought about how to make this more colorful and perfect set of outfit .

Going back to my now very tiny scraps I started cutting out the flower patterns and shape of the native fabric and got some colorful piece

Screenshot_20240413-104203.jpg

This pieces were now used to embellish the dress thinking about the best manner of arrangements for them

Screenshot_20240413-104147.jpg

The arrangements looked appealing to my eyes and will be a perfect match for the blouse since it now has had tiny decorative pieces of the blouse materials on it.

Screenshot_20240413-103321.jpg

Now I have a lovely and perfect matching set of outfit. Completely inexpensive. Since I got the scrap fabrics for free and only had to purchase the extra needed black materials, meanwhile the embellishment stones were cheap as well. This can be worn by any individual of size 6-8 and I can chose to gift then out to anyone in need of new outfits.

Screenshot_20240413-112309.jpg

All images are mine.
What do you think about this piece?

Posted Using InLeo Alpha

Sort:  

This is beautiful. I love finding ways to use bits of leftover fabric, too. Cuffs, collars, trim, and baby clothes use a lot of my small pieces. The black fabric makes the creation so elegant.

!BBH

@monica-ene! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @fiberfrau. (1/5)

This is really beautiful and this is quite creativity at its peak. You must have really invested a whole lot of time and effort in making this out

Hello dear @monica-ene I love every one of your designs I can't pass them up and when I don't I'm looking forward to see what you have done hahahaha.

I love the good use of the scraps with how expensive the fabrics are, you knew how to take advantage of the best way, I wish I had friends who throw those scraps.

The dress is so cute, I like how detail oriented you are, the neatness of your seams and the decorative appliqués you put on your garments. I congratulate you friend.

Thank you so much dear..your comments always make me happy

I really love this top
Especially the sleeves
It’s so beautiful Monica
You said it can be worn by size 6 right
Please I’m size o ma’am☺️

Great job with this
You really never cease to amaze me

It really is a good design, the details in the skirt make it very original, I congratulate you for the work done, happy evening.