You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Spinning, Kool-aid Dyeing, and Weaving Adventures

in NeedleWorkMonday2 years ago

Dyeing wool with Kool-Aid is so easy and so much fun (and the yarn smells nice afterwards, too). Unfortunately the stuff is quite eepnsive in Germany, so I mostly use food colors for simple dyeing.

Sort:  

I had the Kool-aid packets just around the house, waiting for a project just like this one. I have no idea how much the individual packages cost since they were purchased a few years ago. How much are they in Germany?

Kool-Aid is mostly available via Ebay etc. and is ~ 1,30 to 2 USD. Here's a pic of some donated sockyarn (colorway aptly named "clown") which became a really lovely red thanks to Berry Cherry. I'm looking forward to easter, where afterwards all the easter egg colors are really cheap ;)

image.png

Nice overdye effect! I've dyed with marigolds, Japanese indigo, indigo, onion skins, and log wood. I am still in the experimental phase right now and am just learning how much I need to grow in my garden then translates into dye-able plant matter.
And that's a great idea to purchase egg dye after Easter for dying yarn. I will have to try that myself!