NeedleWorkMonday at HiveFest!

in NeedleWorkMonday2 years ago
Authored by @crosheille

26BAD404-A822-4CEF-BE1F-819249CF84BD.png

Greetings Needlework Community!

Have you been desiring to be a part of HiveFest in some kind of way?

Many of us don’t have the means or resources for getting there in person but what if our creativity could be present? What if our community could be represented there with the needlework we make?

This post is to share with you what we discussed, all of the ideas that came about and to see how many needleworkers would be interested in participating.

We’ll also be looking for some further ideas and feedback from you all to help us determine if this will be possible.


Recently @livinguktaiwan shared this awesome post about her visit up north in UK. As she was walking through a themed park she found several knitted bears peeking out of the bushes. Each one had a tag giving instructions for the finder to take it home.

This gave her an idea for our community to do the same at HiveFest. She suggested we make small items to place around the event for people to grab and take home. We could place our Hive handles somewhere on the item so people would know who made it.

C2B76EA9-4CF2-468E-BDBB-941D2F8271D9.jpeg

@Shanibeer then joins the conversation and she and I further discuss things on discord. She suggested we make these little needlework tokens to be included in the swag bags they give away to the participants ever year. With that, we would need to know where to send these items to and have someone there willing to distribute the items into the bags.

Depending on how many needleworkers we have to participate and how many tokens we can make it may be a situation of putting them randomly into the bags…meaning every attendee might not receive one.

We even talked about running a selfie contest after the fest asking those who received a token to share a post about it mentioning who it came from. As @shanibeer stated

This would be a fun community activity and awesome to see where in the world our little needlework treats ended up. It would also be a good way to make connections between accounts.

I chatted with @livinguktaiwan a bit more and based on her experience at HiveFest she suggested if we can’t arrange for someone to distribute the items in the bags, the best way might be just handing them out directly.

ADA22BD5-7A27-438C-B622-68A545F5C908.jpeg


Finally, after all of this discussion I reached out to @roelandp through the HiveFest Gmail (thanks to @anomadsoul for that tip) and shared these ideas. He gave me a speedy response and really thought this was a pretty cool idea!

Of course with the ticket shop just opening there is not yet an accurate number of how many attendees there will be. However, he did give me a few options on how we could do this:

  1. mail the needlework items directly to him or the hotel and they would make sure they get placed in the goodie bags
  2. if we want to just give them to specific people the items could be placed in a box at the wristband/badge exchange desk - we would just have to inform those people to pick up their items
  3. make arrangements with one or more people who will be in attendance to help us get the items distributed

So that’s where we are folks and here’s
what we need to know from you:

• If you are interested in making small needlework take homes please respond and let us know in the comments below. These need to be small, light-weighted and able to stand up a bit for rough handling. For instance, placing intricate beadwork on them won’t be a good idea. You can make any needlecraft you wish ;)

• Would you be able to mail your item(s) to Amsterdam? Based on the amount of interest we have we can discuss and plan more on the best way to get these items there. We could even possibly help a few with shipping expenses by using some funds from this account.

• If you are planning to attend this year’s fest and are willing to help distribute/ handout these tokens please let us know.

• Ideas, ideas, ideas! We would love to make this idea a reality so we are open to any other suggestions or advice you might have. Please feel free to share them ;)


All photos are my own. I made the crocheted candy treats with this free pattern.


Thanks @roelandp for your help and for sending me the HiveFest logo files to use for the cover photo!

Thanks so much ladies @livinguktaiwan and @shanibeer for taking the time to brainstorm with me. You have both been added on as beneficiaries of this post! 💜

A1E9A1AB-86A9-4D1E-9E32-95DEAEB6E726.jpeg


Thanks Everyone!
Sort:  

This is a great initiative and a great idea as there is plenty of talent here.

I would love to participate, I am attentive to the development of this great event.

Thanks for your feedback @leslieq78! Yes, this is a great opportunity for our community.

I'm glad to hear you'd love to participate. 👌🏽☺️

Hi. I would love for the community to be present in some way at the Hive Fest coming up soon.

I will be very attentive in the development of this initiative, I would love to participate to the extent of my possibilities. Knitting I want to, it will be enough to know how the shipping would be done 🙋🤗❤️🥳🐝🙏.

Thanks to all of you for coming up with this great idea. I am thrilled 🇻🇪🙋😁

Hey @creacioneslelys! We were even thinking about having the items mailed to a closer destination and then having them all sent together to Amsterdam. Not sure how that would work but we just have to figure out what would work best for everyone. I would love having you be a part of this initiative. 😃😘

Very good. Then plan in place. Awaiting your resolution. The woven candies are very nice. I like them. 👏😁🙋

Thank you! Glad you like them. They were fun to make. 😁☺️

 2 years ago  

What a great idea! It will be nice to give small gifts to those who attend the Hive Fest. When things like this happen I think the gap between virtuality and real life narrows a bit :p Unfortunately I'm too far away even to mail something, but if there's anything I could do from here, I won't hesitate to participate ❣️.

It will be really nice if we can pull this off. Thanks for letting us know. I knew that the shipping option might not be possible for some. We'll keep you posted. 😉

Lovely community idea 😍 I will be really interested to hear what everyone else thinks 😎

I hope the community can pull this off, I was so happy to find the little teddy bear to take him home and I'm sure HF attendees would be happy to receive hand made tokens by others Hivers from around the world

I hope so too! I think this would really be a good gesture and put lots of smiles on fellow Hiver's faces. 😊

 2 years ago (edited) 

Lovelovelove the idea! And your bonbons are over cute, this alone is a lovely idea for Hive Fest giveaways. I definitely want to participate but so far need to think what I could knit/crochet/sew. As you meanwhile know I am more for the big things like sweaters :-DDDD
First thought is something like badges/brooch, could have communities on it or account names for the participants or encouragements or simply something decorative.
Or sleep mask to get some rest during the fest :-D
I will think more about this. I am already excited…

Yes! I think needlework additions to the bags would make for great Hive giveaways!

Hahaha thanks! I said let me make this announcement post extra sweet. 😄

Right, I know you are not into doing things that are too small. I'm sure we can think of something lightweight and suitable for you to do. I really like the sleep mask idea because both men and women could enjoy that. 😉

So glad to hear you are excited about this!!

This is a cool idea! What's the timeline like, when is Hive Fest?

Isn't it though?!

HiveFest runs September 15th-18th 2022!

Thanks!

For sure ;)

Hola hola no entiendo mucho pero me encanta la idea de compartir con otros así que si por explican como se hará esto aunque soy novata quiero participar

Que chévere. Somos dos. Tener presencia en el evento sería estupendo.

Thanks for your response @miangel100pre! Is this the first you're hearing about HiveFest?

Wow this is great news. I am very interested in it

That's great @mosesessien. What other needlecrafts do you do?

For now I have only one and I am planning to have more

👌🏽😉

This is Amazing!!! Wow! I like the idea you all came up with.

I know there are a lot of talented people in this community with @blezyn being one of those and it would be very interesting to see how every one of them will do their best to explore this opportunity.

GoodLuck on this one.

Yes!! OMG!!! This is so exciting. I would love to participate. Although I don’t know how the shipping option will work for me but if there’s a way around it, I would gladly do it.

Lol... I was just reading this and saying '@blezyn will love this' and here you are. Nice!

I hope you find a way to have you work out there ✌️

Hehehe, it’s safe to say you know one of the things I love. Thank you! I hope I find a way too

It is a beautiful initiative. However, the distance is a lot and for example here in Venezuela, where we have great seamstresses, it would be difficult to get the small tokens to the HF.... I could make some tokens in fabric, in polar blanket so that they are soft and delicate, but how to make them arrive? 🤔🤔🤔

Wow that's such an amazing initiative, it's a great way of promoting the community and as well our needlework craft.

You've done a great job in reaching out to people in other see our this will perfectly work out fine, and I must say I look forward to what the conclusion will be, cause I've love to send some of mine as well, but the shipping to Amsterdam isn't a small token.

But then, let see how it goes.

Awwnnn.. This is a lovely idea,
A gift to represent us at the hivefest is sure the best idea ever.
I will stick around and see how I can be of help.

This initiative is a luxury. I've been looking at how to send parcels abroad and it doesn't seem so complicated, it does take about a month. I'm joining this initiative and I'll be thinking about what to knit for my friends in the UK.

I'll be in touch about shipping. But can we communicate by mail because I'm having problems with my Discord account. Best regards.

Esta iniciativa está de lujo. Estuve averiguando cómo enviar paquetes al extranjero y no parece tan complicado, eso sí, demora como un mes. Me apunto a esta iniciativa e iré pensando qué tejer para los amigazos del Reino Unido.

Estaré al tanto sobre el envío. Mas bien, ¿podemos comunicarnos por correo? porque tengo problemas con mi cuenta Discord. Un abrazo.

Hmm, this is nice. I want to participate even though I am here in the Philippines.please tell me or suggest what project to make I think it is a month our items arrived in Amsterdam but just tell me where to send the items.

expectacular idea me uno al desafio y aprovecho para invitar a mi amiga @yohadice https://ecency.com/hive-127911/@needleworkmonday/needleworkmonday-at-hivefest

Dear @needleworkmonday, sorry to jump in a bit off topic but may I ask you to support the HiveSQL proposal?
It lost its funding recently and your help would be much appreciated to keep the HiveSQL service free for the Hive community.
You can do it on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you for your support!

Done! ✅ 😉

Thank you for your support @needleworkmonday, really appreciate it! 👍

I love this