You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dark magic and the checkered bedsheet dress

in NeedleWorkMonday3 years ago

I think the biggest reason why any of this matters is the choice of fabric. Your H&M dress fabric drapes differently and little changes become glaring with the stiffer fabric. This may soften up after washing or not. Did you wash your fabric before sewing? The check pattern also make things look more boxy but if I look at it overall, I wouldn't change that much about what you have there

Sort:  
 3 years ago  

Oh yes!!! I did not thought of the fabric at all. And you are right the fabric of the H&M dress is completely different. Its a jersey and I used an old bedsheet (still lockdown here and I am not skilled enough to buy fabric online... besides its expensive).
The bedsheet/checkered fabric is cotton and a bit stiff, but already washed million times :-DDDD Its an old one from my parents, which I used then for years but now it has holes, so the decision to use it as a muslin.
But the Mira dress (the blue one) is also woven fabric, so I am still a bit perplexed why the shoulders of the checkered dress turned out so wide (the pattern is smaller at the shoulders than the Mira pattern, which I used as a starting point). I really fear I was inaccurate.
I will now try to take in the shoulders 2 cm (not three) and the waist 1 cm (at both sides). Cross your fingers :-D (or do you think I should not do it??)

Physically check your seams against the original to see where the discrepancy crept in, don't simply cut at the edges unless you can prove that it came from there. It may be that you should reduce things at the centre line, rather than cut off at the edges. It looks boxy overall and the thing should actually flare out towards the waist so reducing the waist is not a good idea. I would change the angle of the centre line and cut a little out of the neckline and the lower armholes to compensate, if necessary

 3 years ago (edited) 

Could you please beam yourself to Germany :-DDDD I am sure your explanation is the right one, but I fear I am not sure how to integrate it into the dress. If I understood right, you think the back width (and the front) is too big and I should take out fabric in the middle (which is not possible at the front of this dress, as it is made from one piece. But I could try this on the next dress)?
And with the waist: the Mira pattern had a kind of rounded line at the sides of the body and I only made it straight for the checkered dress (second alteration).

3B9C4997-C23D-481C-BCB7-53765E1B507F.jpeg

Are you on instagram? I found an account of a lovely sewist who has made a lot of of these wide dresses and all of them fit her very well. They sit good on her shoulders (not dropped like mine) and are nevertheless boxy and wide. I try to insert the link. If you have fun looking at this.

And thank you again for your insights!!! <3

Sorry for not responding yesterday, my life was chaotic. Yes, you will be able to change the dress in future patterns, if you try it on the existing dress, you'll have a giant dart down the centre front. What I recommend is to put it on inside out and using pins, experiment with tightening here and then transfer the changes that you are happy with to your pattern.
Yes, the bottom lines should be slightly curved to create a flare effect on the lower panels

Hello @nikv just saying hi.. see you just up-voted my latest post.. Have not seen you around for awhile. Hope all is well in your part of South Africa..And thanking you for your support of me... Is Peanut ok?

 3 years ago  

Could you please beam yourself to Germany :-DDDD I am sure your explanation is the right one, but I fear I am not sure how to integrate it into the dress. If I understood right, you think the back width (and the front) is too big and I should take out fabric in the middle (which is not possible at the front of this dress, as it is made from one piece. But I could try this on the next dress)?
And with the waist: