WIP CHALLENGE || Crotchet work in progress for a small handbag

Hello everyone...

I feel so elated to join these amazing needleworkers in the ongoing WIP (Work in progress) challenge. Honestly, I was inspired and motivated by @crosheille through her needlework posts and other members of this community while taking a tour into the community projects and so I promised myself to join the moving train 🤗😊.

Having gone through the rules of this challenge, let me humbly introduce what my WIP is all about.

Screenshot_20220725-113941.png

My WIP is all about crocheting a small-sized market handbag to be used by me. Initially, I planned on crocheting a cap for my baby but when my intentions were made to the hearing of my two older sons, they were all on my neck to make shorts for them🤩. I tried letting them know that mummy is just a learner but they kept dragging whose short to make first, so I decided to make a handbag for myself instead to avoid their trouble hopefully I should crotchet for them later.

Well, this WIP is only 5 days old. It's not an abandoned project considering the motive of this challenge but the main thing that is abandoned is my skill in crocheting and knitting work. It's been an abandoned skill in the dungeon 😀 for a long time now. I abandoned this skill because most times it takes me a long time to achieve a particular project and again I am not fast at this skill. I have seen lots of people doing this at ease and with much fastness but it's different in my case but then I wouldn't give up completely due to the passion I have for it. The little work I have done last year took me weeks to complete but I later smiled at the finished project.

For this particular WIP, I planned on completing it latest by next week and I am considering if I should add a zipper to it or use another alternative but then, till I reach that stage and I will decide what best to do there 😉.

MATERIALS ON USE ARE:

  • 3 balls of medium cotton yarn
  • 3mm crochet hook
  • Scissors

IMG_20220720_174231_950~2.jpg

STEPS I TOOK IN MAKING THE BAG
Firstly, I decided on the length and width of the bag, at least the one that can contain my cell phone, some cash, and my ATM card🤩. For a start after leaving this skill for some time, I would want to begin with a bigger size bag so it won't take me ages to complete.

IMG_20220720_180741_621.jpg

After getting the size I wanted, I started crocheting the base of the handbag. This stage was achieved on the second and third day🤦.
Damn! I am too slow 😀

IMG_20220721_164120_176.jpg

I have been having a difficult time achieving a reasonable stage due to other motherhood duties glaring at me and most especially the part that I am not fast on this skill. As of today, this is my current progress on this WIP and I hope to complete it as soon as possible.

IMG_20220721_164356_820.jpg

So my fellow needleworkers please what's the secrete of becoming faster with this skill? 🤩

Thanks for visiting my blog!

Remember to keep staying positive and be happy🥰🤗💖🧡

Please note: ALL PICTURES ARE MINE TAKEN WITH MY CELL PHONE

Sort:  

I love that you are giving a different meaning to the WIP challenge. Your project is quite impressive considering how long you have stopped crocheting. You are doing well so far.

My advice on becoming faster is to keep practicing and use a bigger pin and double the yarn you are using. Since it is hard to find worsted weight local yarn around here. What I do is double the fingering yarn and it feels almost the same as the worsted weight, that way it's easier to work with a bigger hook size. Also, double crochet builds faster than single. I'm sure you'll get the hang of it soon enough.

I didn't know I could double the yarn. And the needle size I am using as well...thanks for pointing out this for me.

Your comment is valued and will helpful my dear🤗👍

You're most welcome. If I may add another suggestion, try Yeye Yarn. I consider it better than other brands of yarn around here. You may like how it feels too.

Wow
Thanks for this too 👍

Welcome to the Needleworkmonday Community @nkemakonam89

It's good to see you pick back your abandon skills of knitting, with time I know you'll get use to it and become faster and perfect once again.

Wow
Thanks for the warm welcome Vic🤗
I hope that time will permit me to be consistent with it and do better.

You're welcome dear, keep up the good work, can't wait to see you accomplish it, but then take your time.

Thank you so much vice🤗

🥴✌️🤗

 2 years ago  

I love your interpretation of the wip challenge, that you need to unbury your crochet skills (and not a forgotten project). I am glad you took the bag up and are trying to make progress and as crochet should in my new not only be practical but also fun: just crochet! Who care how fast you are, its not important. Better being slow and having started than doing nothing because of perfectionism.
And also you are using thin yarn and a small needle this is always slower than doing the same with bigger materials. Becoming faster is mainly practice, but as I said, I don’t think everything has to be faster <3

Better being slow and having started than doing nothing because of perfectionism.

This got me so much 🤩
Thank you so much 👍

I have also taken note of the size of needle in use for this project.

I appreciate your kind words, thanks a bunch

Awwn, at least you can design something, all you need is time and even with time, you will be better.

I don't really know much about crocheting but I hope someone gets to help you out 🤩🤩🤩😗😗😍😗😗😚🙃🙃😘.

Yeah, time is needed and I wish I can have more than 24 hours in a day🤩🤩
Thanks for your kind words my dear👍

Hahaha, seriously oo, I wish that sometimes 😅😅.

You are welcome Ma'am 😊🤩.

Lol... You are still at the early stages ooooo. Are you sure you will be done with this before the end of this year? 😂😂😂.

Biko, don't mind me. Haha.

I'm surprised you know so much about all these DIY stuff. Where do they teach all these? You are very creative and also very talented. You need to give yourself more credit for your creativity.

Nice one. And I'm joining the soldiers to table a request. Haha. Crochet a very thick blanket for me 😂. Harmattan is coming gradually so, this is my way of preparing for it.

Lol... You are still at the early stages ooooo. Are you sure you will be done with this before the end of this year? 😂😂😂.

🤣🤣🤣🤣
Hahaha.....leave me oo kene!

I got the idea during my days in school and every other needlework of mine has been via trial and error🤓

Haha, this your request eehh, it will be available in one year time🤣🤣

Lolz... Have fun with this and play around with it. You may soon become an expert in needleworks. Haha

When the blanket is ready, send it over to Ibadan and remember to pay the delivery fee 😂

🤣🤣 Them never give you allow, you dey ask for allowance. Weldone o

Lolzzzz... Haha. I'm going all in so she will know what she is up for 😂.

Happy Monday to you. Haha

Hahaha, that's a good one.

Happy Monday to you too😊

Hello @nkemakonam89, I think the only way to acquire a little speed is to knit, knit and knit. If you make a mistake, you undo everything and start over. That's how my grandmother told me that they taught where she learned to knit without patterns. Thanks for sharing 🙂.

Awwwwn
I see...I will knit and knit and knit🤣🤣🤣

Thank you so much ma
I will try so much 🥰🥰🤗

Thanks to you, I want to participate in this challenge because I have many tasks started and left unfinished. I'm thinking how to do it 🙂.

Yay you are here!! I am so happy you decided to join the challenge and unbury your needlework skills.

I agree with @neumannsalva, don’t even focus on how fast you are or how long it takes you to complete a step. The beauty is that you are back to crocheting again and with each project you’ll get comfortable with the stitches again. Before you know it you’ll be reading post while you crochet. 😆😄

You’re doing great. Keep going and thinking about that cute bag you’ll be holding at the market that everyone will be asking who made it. Then, you will proudly say “I did”! 😃

Oh and I also agree with @blezyn’s tip. When you are able to grab a thicker yarn and crochet hook for your next project. I’m sure it will go smoother for you and also work up quicker since that’s what you’re wanting.

Every week needleworkers from around the globe get together to share our work, patterns, tips, ideas and shortcuts as we support one another. Our goal is to inspire the Hive blockchain to give crafting a try.

On Monday’s we use the #needleworkmonday tag and on all other days we use the #needlework tag without the word Monday attached. We share and post our work directly from the Community page.

We encourage our members to share about their needlework life with us. We love hearing stories and what types of things inspired your projects. We challenge you to put some feeling and emotion into your publications and help us get to know the needler behind the fabric.

Feel free to share photos of your work but it’s optional if you choose to share the steps with us (we do require you share the step process in at least one of your posts for validation purposes). If you just want to needle and share about that time we’d love to hear about it. 😊

For more information about what we do and for our posting guidelines please visit our FAQs.

Thank you ~

Before you know it you’ll be reading posts while you crochet. 😆😄

Wow, I can't wait for this time, oohh...when will I climb to this level🤭? That will be great then🤩

Honestly, I am already picturing how I will carry the handbag to catwalk with all boldness to the market 🤣🤣

Yeah, your community members are so supportive with great ideas and I am so happy with their comments, it's very helpful to me👌

Thanks for the rules too and your kind words.
Much appreciated ma🤩👍

I'm glad that you finally joined the challenges and thanks to @crosheille whom you emulated from. Sometimes children are really troublesome, in that regard choosing a handbag to make first before their cap was actually a good move.

Awwn
Thanks so much for your kind words
They are much appreciated 👍🥰

Awwwn this brought back high school
Memories of when I used to knit had bands and knit customized names on it and sell for 50naira

Lol well work nkem

50 naira🤣🤣🤣
Those days were good eeh
Oh...you can knit, datz 👍 cool
Thanks for your warm visit my dear 🥰

😂😂 Neto and Chisom must be a handful, I love how you solved the issue by crocheting for yourself first.

This post made me smile 🤩, you really did unbury your skills and I'm inspired. It's been so long since I last used a crocheting pin and yarn, perhaps I should get back on it soon.

You're doing really well with the bag, it's a gradual process and I don't think you should rush it. Also, You can either use a zipper or a button to go with the flip cover. The color you chose is pretty, I'm curious to know if you'll mix colours? Can't wait to see how it turns out. 🤩
Good luck ma!

Wowww🤗🥰🤗🤗
This babe...thanks so much and I am waiting for you to join the moving train as well 🤩
For the flip cover, I may use a button but till then🤫

I wanted a mixed color at first but the combo was no where to be found in the market.

I am waiting for you to join the moving train as well 🤩

I'll definitely hop in soon 😁...

Okay! till then 🤭

Ohh, that's alright, a single color is lovely too.

Yeah...a single color can make sense too but if you get a nice color combo, that will be great...expecting your entry soon🤗

It's good to have you here and to participate in the ongoing WIP challenge, for now, I will suggest you go easy on your project since its been a long time you've done this and in order to get a good result. With time and consistency, you will become fast and even an expert in crocheting just like other creative minds here.

Wowww
Thank you so much for the warm welcome with your kind words of advice. They are much valued sis🥰🤗

Congratulations @nkemakonam89! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 4500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 5000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Great job...kudos ma!

You will soon be crocheting both shorts and shirts for the young boys. They will be glad to rock crochets made by mummy 😊

Smiles..
Thanks for visiting 👍💖

Wow wow this is bringing back school memory where we'll knit and walk back home..
It was really fun.
Now I'm discovering that there are more that can be done with wool,like singlet and lots of them.. This made me want to go back to those time ...
Thank you for sharing.

Yeah...you can actually use wool to make so many things. Just get back to work and be happy 😊

Big motivation. thank you ma'am

Your progress looks very good, keep going.