A Simple Alteration

Hello stitchers! I've got an easy task today, one that I've been meaning to do for a long time. I wanted to alter my tunic's sleeves and give them buttons. Why? Because they had that annoying modern clothes trait of being so narrow at the wrist, I couldn't pull my sleeves up more than a few inches. That's annoying af when you are washing your hands, or the dishes, or anything messy. And I have narrow wrists, so these sleeves probably wouldn't even fit a lot of people, and my tunic was sold as "one size fits most." In the torso? Sure. In the wrists, strangely no.

So I snipped the sleeves until I could pull them up above my elbows:

And then I stitched around the edges to prevent any unraveling. Added buttons on one side, and cut button holes on the other. Stitched around those, et voila!

Got it done while watching YouTube videos. 😄

Hope y'all are having a lovely day, and thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Really nice work, @phoenixwren - I love small-but-very-significant adjustments like these, which completely transform how we experience a garment - and rolling sleeves up for work is essential: I love a puffy or dramatic sleeve too, but definitely prefer if something can be rolled up.

Yes! Thank you for understanding. 😁

Wow adding buttons completely changed the entire thing... If it was 100 dollars, just that little change can make it 500 dollars 😂😂😂😂💯💯

har har har

That’s cool…
Nice idea!

It’s a good idea, I think thy I can borrow this but am thinking of a press button instead where I can press one into another to either open or close it up

Snaps are great, especially when your hands are full!

That's a good idea!

Thanks! It turned out well, I am wearing it now! :)
!HUG

Dear @shanibeer, you just got hugged.
I sent 1.0 HUG on behalf of @phoenixwren.
(1/2)