A BEAUTIFUL GOWN MADE FOR A BEAUTIFUL CLIENT

in NeedleWorkMonday26 days ago

**Happy creative Monday! **

It's another great week ahead and I am so happy to be back again in this great Community. Last month, a longtime friend whom I haven't spoken with in a while reached out to me via DM. She asked if I could sew clothes because her usual designer wasn't available, and she needed an outfit for her birthday photoshoot.


At first, I was shocked because we hadn't spoken in ages and she was entrusting me with her fabric to do a perfect job. She brought her material a few days before I was set to travel, the material was a crepe fabric and very delicate. I was a bit skeptical because my sewing machine sometimes gives me a tough time when sewing stretch fabric, and it had been a while since I'd worked with one.


Despite being stressed from a previous sewing project, I couldn't turn down the opportunity; I love seeing people wear what I create. So I accepted it even though I knew it would be challenging. She decided on a pencil gown with fringes, so I went ahead with the cutting and sewing of the dress.

Here are the steps

I folded my material into 4 and drafted out the upper bodice using the bust circumference, adding zipper allowance to the back.
For the lower bodice of the gown, I folded my fabric into 4 using the hip measurements and then I cut it out

I also cut the sleeve. A straight sleeve with a flare at the bottom.


Moving on to the sewing process. I applied hairstay to the zipper allowance to prevent the zip from bulging and folded the neck for the front and back bodice. I hemmed the bottom of the lower bodice.



Next, I joined the upper and lower bodies of both the front and back, attaching a zipper to the back.


Then, I attached the sleeve to the dress. It was difficult folding the end of the flare, but after some struggle, I managed to do it neatly.


Finally, I joined the ends and attached the fringe, and the dress came out so beautifully. When she came to pick it up, I was anxious about how it would look on her, I wanted it to be perfect on her. She loved every bit of the dress.


All images are mine
Thank you for visiting my blog

Sort:  

Congratulations @pjwelry! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 4000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 4250 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP