Home Sweet Home | Quarantine Project

Hello needleworkers!! It's 9.24 pm, Greece, and I hope I will be on time to share my post for Needleworkmonday!!

I am super excited this week since we are on vacations at my sister's Apartment in Igoumenitsa!
Also, I am super excited this week because I have a great upvote power and I comment and upvote anything I like!!!

So, let's hurry because I will introduce you a project that started during quarantine, and it will go on with other details this winter.

I am in a greek community in FB with a few members and we are making things with fabric. Our admin gave us an idea 14 days before the end of Quarantine to make one home a day till it was over. There was no rule on how we will make them, and the majority used a quilt pattern. Some others made special homes, some other painted them and so on. Here I present you my homes and I will explain the process of each one, how I begun and how I ended.
Here you can see them all together, and I will explain each one at the following images.
FB_IMG_1597072502625.jpg

When I started, I had some strings from presents and I made a simple house with some grass. My two daughters were looking at me and they wanted to involve so..
FB_IMG_1597072323555.jpg

Lydia gave me her painting with her school and ordered me to make one house as her school (I didn't upload that image deliberately since I will upload it with Lydia's quilt transformations)

So, here it is the second home, Lydia 's kindergarden.

FB_IMG_1597072332966.jpg

After that, Ariadne told me that it was her turn, so next day, she painted a house on our blackboard and she also told me the colours she wanted to. She named it "the weird house"
FB_IMG_1597072347107.jpg

But when Lydia saw that, she wanted to draw too, so we make an agreement, the one day Lydia, the other Ariadne! And so, she painted this house with this taalll roof and she picked the colours by herself too!
FB_IMG_1597072364592.jpg

Next Day, Ariadne drew a house, but when it came to colours, she took a paper and drew a similar one to Show me how I was supposed to do this!
FB_IMG_1597072659398.jpg

Here, Ariadne took Lydia's turn, and later Lydia did it too. So, Ariadne painted one Red home and...
FB_IMG_1597072519098.jpg

... I did it like that!
FB_IMG_1597072393438.jpg

Then Ariadne painted her school and her teacher. She loves her so much, that she painted hearts inside her belly and she said that these hearts were her classmates! Maybe a bit creepy but I adored it but...
FB_IMG_1597072481282.jpg

When I started sewing the school she told me not to make her and her teacher since now the school is closed... And I felt really sad about that but I respected her wish..
FB_IMG_1597072384626.jpg

Here, Lydia took a paper and she made a rainbow house, as she named it... And..

FB_IMG_1597072594967.jpg

I tried to make it as similar as I could and she picked all the colours to make it happen!!
FB_IMG_1597072403768.jpg

All those days Ariadne used to watch me and she said, :"Today, mommy, I am gonna make a house for you", so she picked the fabric and here it is, her house! All I did, was to handstitch it.
FB_IMG_1597072413899.jpg

And then she made another one next day and she put an ice cream next to the house in order for her house not to feel lonely! Again, I only handstitched it.

FB_IMG_1597072535089.jpg

When Lydia saw this, she made a home too but she wanted to put something extra, so she took a blue fabric and she put it below the house. "Mommy, this is a snail", she said!
FB_IMG_1597072422841.jpg

Then Lydia made a home that bends and I say that it looks like Pisa Tower and when she found out about Pisa she told me that it was her Pisa Tower!!
FB_IMG_1597072431219.jpg

Later on, I made one house and Ariadne named it as "ghost house" since it looks like a ghost heheh
FB_IMG_1597072444542.jpg

And Ariadne made an other one. At the beginning she made legs and hands but then she put them out and when I asked her why she said that this house wanted to be human but it decided after all to remain house...
FB_IMG_1597072438518.jpg

That's all folks for now. We have named our village "Dreamland" and we intend to make more items for our Village, such as a lake etc..Needless to say that we were having so much fun during this project!!

So, how do you think about my Quarantine project with kids??
Send me your comments and show me your love!!!

7ohP4GDMGPrU6KTuuW27Tq6en5JYHcVeXL6fAJ1RujUw3NULjf8Ndi8mFi3t8dT3MMTAjT9AKNMVjaPVo915zKGQCLoaWaPXaEES.jpeg

Sort:  

Poly kalá!

(And that's nearly all that is left of the Greek I learnt years ago - I don't even know the letters anymore)

Dankeschön!!
Have you ever visited Greece?
Because I am learning German (I will take C1 exams next year) in order to relocate to Germany and teach Latin there :)

No - that's a corner of Europe I've never been. If you want to know more about living in Germany from a needlworker's point of view - akipponn moved to Germany some years ago :)

Awesome work as always @puellacreativa! Keep the awesome content coming! Maybe you could ask these people at the facebook group you mentioned to join this platform! Who wouldn't love to be in here, share his arr, meet some awesome people and on top of it earn some money? ;)

I will give it a try!! Thanks for your kind comment!!

My favorite is the house with the tallest roof. Very fun. I love doing art myself. Glad your daughters do art. These are great activities, fun for the whole family.

Thank you very much for your comment! At first I didnt know that it will be so much fun! As my kids grow up they want to involve to my projects, so I let them have fun! After all, if life itself is too difficult , we have to make it brighter and funnier! Thanks for passing by!!!

I feel you. I get it and that is amazing.