Making a mini-skirt as a gift (with tutorial)

in NeedleWorkMonday2 months ago


Hi, needleworkers, it's been a while. Today I'd love to share the story behind this beautiful mini skirt and also take you through the process of making it.

Ibk and I have shared a friendship for about four years now, and throughout my journey in building my brand, she has consistently been a huge support. Do you know those rare friends who not only pay your prices without haggling but also generously tip? Well, that's the kind of friend Ibk is to me—reliable, encouraging, and always there when I need her most.

Recently, she reached out and asked me to make some clothes for her, requesting five pieces. I typically deliver within two weeks of payment, but due to logistic challenges due to distance, I was unable to meet that deadline. To make up for the delay, I decided to surprise her with an additional cloth. I actually would have loved to make her a mini gown, but I decided to make a chic mini skirt due to its simplicity and elegance.

The fabric I used was a gift from my mum last year and has been sitting in my collection ever since then. The fabric is a beautiful blend of denim overlaid with black lace. Its quality and aesthetic made it the perfect choice for Ibk's gift because she truly deserves the best.

Now, let me walk you through a brief tutorial on how I make this stunning mini skirt. It took me approximately two hours to complete.


Step 1: Cutting


I began by measuring and cutting the front piece, ensuring the waist and hip measurements were precise. The skirt's length, at 16 inches, which is an ideal length for a mini skirt, I guess. Using the front piece as a guide, I carefully cut out the back pieces, leaving a one-inch allowance for the zipper.

The front piece cutting

The back pieces cutting

The front piece after cutting

The back pieces after cutting


Step 2: Sewing


Next, I sewed the front and back pieces together, creating a six-inch dart at the waist for a flattering fit. After inserting the zipper, I neatly finished the seam allowances with bias tape to prevent fraying, since I didn't have access to a serger. Though it was a bit tedious, the end result was well worth the effort. I also folded and secured the waistband with bias tape, as well as hemmed the skirt with a two-inch fold.

I sew the front piece and back piece together

I sew the zip to the back of the skirt

fold the hem of the skirt

for finishing I sew bias on the edge of the seam allowance to avoid fraying

I fold the waistline with bias also

And voila! Here's the finished product. I hope you love it as much as I enjoyed making it.




In addition to the mini skirt, here are the original outfits I made for her.



Thank you for stopping by my blog, and have a fabulous day ahead❤️



All images are mine, the thumbnail was created by Canvas

Sort:  

Wow

You made this yourself?

Your hands are really blessed
This is so pretty

Awww, thank you for appreciating my efforts. Thank you so much ❤️

You’re welcome

Greetings dear friend, I really like this skirt looks sexy and the fabric is beautiful, the cut of the skirt highlights the figure, you have a great talent for sewing I congratulate you. 👏👏👏👏

Thank you so much 😊

This look beautiful

Thank you😊

You are amazing fashion designer.. All the outfit looks fabulous..

Thank you so much, I'm glad you like it ❤️

Congratulations @rayoo! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 3500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Happy Birthday to the Hive Blockchain
 2 months ago  

Wow, what beautiful creations :) Neat and very stylish. I loved the skirt, the fabric with lace is always very sensual and elegant. Congratulations ❤️!

Thank you so much for your comment I'm glad you like it ☺️